We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SPECIAL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SPECIAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our 4 day stay was superb! Romantic, intimate,, almost like being in a time warp with historic beauty of this ancient structure with today's amenities! Only issue is how they make money? There were as many staff as guest! Request a room on the river .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We have 17 rooms for 30 employees, but we also have a gourmet restaurant with a Michelin star, so if you want to do a professional job you need so much staff. Fortunately we have many regular guests, we figure in many touristic guide , through Relais & Châteaux we also welcome an international clientele. Our location is unique, la Treyne is a dream castle and all my team and myself love our work very much, this is the reason why guests feel well too. Hope to see you again, nice holiday in France. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    47
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
315
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a beautiful chateau in a beautiful area of France. The service was spectacular - as was the room, the food, the views, and on and on. We stayed for several nights and was such a gift! If you have an opportunity to stay here - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for you kind comment. Hope to see you again at Chateau de la Treyne.
Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I traveled to France for 10 days to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and we spent 3 of those nights, including the actual day of our anniversary, at Chateau de la Treyne. My choice of this location was based primarily on the reviews found here, and while the reviews on Trip Adviser are overwhelmingly positive, nothing can really convey the experience like actually staying there. In fact I am afraid to say that Chateau de la Treyne is responsible for some of the other very nice places we stayed in France not receiving the 5 stars they might have otherwise earned if I did not have Chateau de la Treyne to compare them to.

Due to some navigational errors on my part in driving to this location from Aix-en-Provence we arrived after midnight on our first night. I was able to email them to let them know of my late arrival, and the receptionist was very gracious in waiting for us to arrive, offering to provide us with food and carrying our bags to our room on the third floor. We were given the Fenelon room, which was charmingly decorated and very large with views of both the river and the gardens. They had arranged rose petals throughout the room which was quite a touching gesture.

The staff spoke excellent English though I tried my best to speak French, an effort they patiently indulged. We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights in a row and the food was excellent. The owner makes a point of speaking with her guests at dinner, and in the course of visiting 3 tables she fluently spoke 3 different languages. The service was an experience in itself. The Maitre d was a lot of fun and helped us Americans muddle through our fine French dining experience with grace and wit. His suggestions from the wine to the cheese were spot on, and what a selection they have of both. Then of course a digestif in the salon was a perfect end to the day. All in all I could not think of a more perfect setting to celebrate an important event. The grounds, the Chateau, and the Dordogne region of France will all live up to the hype. So save a few extra pennies and splurge on a stay here, you won't regret it. Thank you to Madame Gombert and the staff for a great memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this great feedback. I'm really touched by so many compliments. I remember you as you arrive very late. Fenelon is a very nice room and as you stayed three days you could discover a true experience at Chateau de la Treyne. Thank you again and perphaps you will be back for another stay. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I felt like a queen staying in this castle! Everything is top-notch: the service, the views, the grounds, the food, the room -- even the shower (which was the best I've ever been in). It's pricey, but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwilsononbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for you kind comment. Of course I remember you because we spoke about the shower. Thank you for coming to Chateau de la Treyne. Hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you want to indulge one day in a special castle situated on a high cliff overlooking the Dordogne, this is the place for you.
the rooms are decorated and special
The hotel has a gourmet restaurant with a chef prepares delicious food
The castle is surrounded by gardens with fountains, Toads croaking, flowers and we enjoyed walking around
The hotel also has a private forest where you can go and reach another castle belonging to them a half hour walking
Stunning floral arrangements are picked from the garden and at the
Breakfast is very good
Nice team
The castle is located in a Agricultural area near GROTTE DE LACAVE and half hour from Rocamandor
In short: a real experience, not cheap at all but Affordable

Glad if I helped someone to decide

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with other people. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so fortunate to be able to book a room on short notice, and it has been the unexpected highlight of our visit to France. Nothing we say here can adequately convey how wonderful every aspect of this special place is, from the beautiful grounds, impeccable service, staff that are helpful and welcoming, and food that is simply amazing. The owner took the time at dinner to visit with guests, making us feel right at home. At dinner (which is not to be missed if you stay here), the staff used a mix of humor and helpfulness to allow us to fully enjoy the wonderful cuisine and wine. For anyone from the US that dreams of a chance to enjoy the beauty, food, and history of France, a stay at Chateau de la Treyne is a must. We look forward to someday returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelefrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and kind review. Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne. I will not forget to share your kind comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just spent one night here while travelling around the Dordogne region and this hotel is definitely worth checking out if you are looking to stay in a storybook French Chateau. As soon as you pull into the magnificent driveway, lined either side with huge yellow tulips, you know you are in for something special.
The greeting and service from the front of house staff was first class. After being shown to our spacious room, complete with 4 poster bed, chaise lounge and complimentary water and snacks, we were invited on to the terrace overlooking the river for an aperitif.
The views over the river and the valley are stunning and after a drink we were brought into the ancient dining room for a dinner that we will not soon forget.
After dinner we were led into the drawing room where we enjoyed coffee and petit fours in front of the large open fire which perfectly finished off a truly memorable evening.
I am loathe to complain about anything in this hotel as I enjoyed it so much but if I really was being fussy then the lack of a proper shower in the bathroom was a minor issue. They just had a hand shower with nowhere to attach it to the wall so you have to hold it over your head.
Apart from that this place is really special and if you are looking to treat yourself or a loved one to a fairytale french experience then you can't go far wrong here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have showers. Some just have a bath and handheld shower attachment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful comment. We have 16 rooms, in 5 rooms we only have bathtub and in 11 rooms we have bathtub and seperate shower. We always sent confirmation to our guests and we confirm if it is bathroom with bathtub or bathroom with bathtub and shower. If there is any problem for you, please let us know for your next stay, and we try to change the room for you. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Property: Chateau de la Treyne
Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing