We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect romantic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hospitality is impeccable; the food is sublime in a perfect setting. The dining room has one of the most spectacular ceilings with exquisite views onto the chateau gardens. Despite being a French restaurant, the Risotto is to die for. The choice of fresh flowers is especially selected to enhance the colors and aroma of each bedroom. The chimney in the lounge provides a perfect place to read or enjoy a get together with friends. Walks in the grounds of the Chateau are wonderful too.
In the evenings, I recommend you reserve a table next to the window and make sure you tell the Maitre D you would like to be seated far away from American tourists. The hotel seems to be very popular with them and for some reason unknown to me, they always seem to talk loudly and insist on sharing their gastronomical insights with the guests they find nearby.

Room Tip: The main suite is the “Suite de la Tour” but I strongly recommend the suite “Louise XIII”, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_delacajablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment.

You enjoyed your stay, and you talked a lot of details that are also very important to us too. I'm sorry if other clients have spoken too loudly. But I assure you sometimes other nationality can also be noisier. The majority of our clientele is French, then we have a lot of English, Australian and American people.

You like Louis XIII, this is one of my favorite rooms, it has the most beautiful river view and you are right in 2013 we will have a new apartment "La Favorite" that is in the same spirit as the Louis XIII. Hope to come back one time to see this new room. Thank you very much again.
Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 531 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have never stayed in a castle before but for a first time this location was great. The first floor is impressive with a nice bar, huge and inviting fire place, and classy patio overlooking the river. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, and the views spectacular. The staff is friendly helpful and seems happy. Happy staff says a lot about the establishment, long term staff, such as the case here, says alot about the management and other staff members. Breakfast was awesome and I highly recommend staying here as Rocamadour, Sarlat, and other Dordogne must sees arent to far. Aslo if you have a chance walk around the grounds and venture into the woods for some fresh air and great views. Definitely recommend it. I have seen other reviews complain about the price and it may be high but what value do you place on a nice memory and a comfortable enjoyable experience staying in a castle? Here the experience is worth the price if this experience is something you've had in mind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

What a wonderful comment ! We are humbled and delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay in our house.

We have a large part of our staff working with us for over 10 years . I think they are doing a very good job and I'm glad that you share my opinion. We have a large part of our staff working with us for over 10 years.

We have 30 employees for 16 rooms and the gastronomic restaurant. !

Hoping to welcome you again in our house. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our bike tour for a bit of a splurge -- it was really, really lovely, and I hope to return someday. The chateau is gorgeous and gorgeously maintained, right above the river, grounds are beautiful, pool looks lovely. Dinner was completely amazing, as expected. The room was quite pretty, maybe a bit on the small side, with only one window that was mostly obscured by a curtain so that you have to get right up to the window, sort of inside the curtain, to see the garden view. If we were staying longer, I would have tried to get a different room. The bathroom was also very pretty but as others have noted, there is only a tub, no shower. There is a sprayer attachment but using this, even while sitting in the tub, causes water to flow along the side of the tub and onto the floor -- there was evidence of a lot of water damage along that side, so I know it wasn't just us! It is a shame they don't remodel the bathroom to solve this problem, as it was the one flaw that really stood out when everything else was just about perfect.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank elisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you very much for comment . La Treyne is a small boutique hotel with 16 rooms, in 11 rooms we have bathrooms with river or garden view and bathtub and seperate shower. The smaller rooms are without shower and only with bathtub. I understand that you prefer a shower, but some of our bathrooms are too small to put both togehter. In France people prefer bathtub. But I will do my very best next winter, when we are close to put a shower into the bathtub, because some of our clients prefer to take a shower even in the bathtub. Otherwise I noticed that you enjoy your stay in our house, and that you want to come back. Thank you very much and hope to see you another time. Best regards. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have known of and admired this place for over 20 years having stayed at a nearby establishment, we thought we should try it and were a little disapointed.
We drove up to the very imposing, beautifully maintained Chateau at around 4pm to find it seemingly deserted ! We entered the reception area..not a soul to be found and no obvious bell to ring, walked around the ground floor floor , bar and the outside dining area..still no sign of life.
Eventually a Lady appeared and apologised that she had been showing 2 other guests to their room , we were told our room was not yet available as it was being photographed for the next brochure so we were seated on the terrace with a complimentary glass of Champagne while we waited..that certainly was welcome and made amends for the wait !
The room was well furnished and well lit with excellent views over the river and a lovely complimentary fruit basket, cakes and wine were provided. Good "state of the art" bathroom .
We walked through the grounds to find the swimming pool which was superb, recently updated and well kept.
This Chateau has a beautifull historic dining room but as the weather was superb Dinner was served on the Terrace overlooking the River. The Restaurant has a Michelin Star and regrettably did not live up to it on this occasion. The wine we chose (9 years old) was not decanted and the final glasses of wine were served complete with sediment ! My Duck was a little over cooked and tough and my partner's fish was uncooked in the centre. A disapointment .
Breakfast was served outside on the front Terrace of the Chateau and was excellent.
Overall this place did not live up to our expectations, it is impeccably maintained with beautifull grounds and views and has very helpfull and friendly Staff, but the room prices are extremely high (in our case as much as we pay in far superior up market places) and the Restaurant did not justify its Starred rating . (There is one far superior just up the road !)

Room Tip: Try and get a River view as this is the only thing that can justify the price !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_worrall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. We regret that you have not been able to fully enjoy your stay.
You say that your main course and the main course of your husband was not up to your expectations. I asked our head waiter if you told him that you were disapointed. Unfortunately this was not the case. Otherwise we could have done something for you to change. The wine was not decanted it was a mistake I apologize.

Louis XVI room has been completely redone this year, you like it, I am delighted. This room has a beautiful bathroom with bath, shower and double sinks. Taps china from Limoges! The room is not very large for a deluxe room, but you have a wonderful river view, as well as the room the bathroom, and antiques furnitures from the 18century. This justifies from our point of view the price for the room. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Cannot say enough about this beautiful Chateau. Located a bit off the beaten path, this is a perfectly remodeled old castle. Our room was large, beautifully appointed with an amazing view of the river. The bathroom was very luxurious with special touches such as wood paneling. The breakfast was an amazing meal that we enjoyed in The Green Room. The staff goes out of their way leaving no question or request unanswered. We enjoyed their dinner and were pampered by the staff. Highly recommend, especially for a romantic vacation. It was like living in a fairy tale for 2 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Listu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Chateau de la Treyne and hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for one night in August. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with breathtaking views over the Dordogne River. We visited on a very hot day our room was amazing it was like going back in time the walls were all tapestry and the bathroom had views over the garden even the loo had a view! The food was superb especially the languistine risotto and by the time we had got to the after dessert we could not move it was the most wonderful experience. But it was not just the fantastic Chef it was the whole team they could not do enough for you with a smile too! If you thought about it, it happened, you never sat with any empty glass or plate!! The breakfast again on the terrace was soo good the cheese tartlets and cheese with walnuts and honey and banana smoothie yummy. The pool is set in the grounds and so peaceful and the waiter turning up with his silver tray and drinks was a very nice touch. This is a very special place with a finely tuned team cant fault my stay here, cant wait to go back! However, the doors need to be a lot wider on your departure than your arrival ;-) Thank you everyone at Chateau de la Treyne for making it such a memorable and romantic stay. This place is a defo no go for those on a diet lol !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChildFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house and hope to see you for another stay. Best regrards. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel has one of the most beautiful locations I have seen, above the Dordogne river, and the Chateau itself, delightfully asymmetric is surrounded by beautiful and beautifully tended gardens. Other than the property itself, the main establishment's main asset is the excellent restaurant with dinner, weather permitting, served on an elegfant terrace overlooking the lovely valley below. The restaurant's simpatico team is expertly led by a friendly, knowledgeable maitre d'hotel and dinner (by no means cheap, but well worth it) was excellent several nights in a row. Breakfast is more slapdash, with service collapsing altogether one of our mornings there. But this simply provided an opportunity to spend more time enjoying the view. The chateau's public rooms are welcoming, with lots of literature on the region. The owner/manager is available to help with any special requests. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Many thanks for your great feedback. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne. We do hope that you will visit us again. Best regards. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
246 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
425 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
200 reviews
15.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range: $236 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing