We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“general”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“general”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Sans question, as a poseur might say, this is a truly heavenly place . The setting, the ambience, the food . the accomodation , the service are "formidable".I defy anyone except a " Victor Meldrew" to have criticisms , and best of all my bet noire, supplementary charges, are nowhere to be seen !

Room Tip: Push the boat out and ask for the best in the house which overlooks the Dordogne from various points
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericelliott251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiance at Chateau de la Treyne. We look forward to welcomming you back for another stay in our house. Best regards. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    48
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
63
350
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This exceptional property is in a sublime setting overlooking the Dordogne river. The rooms are spacious with huge soaring ceilings and wonderful newly renovated baths. The history and charm of the property gives it a unique flavor that is unmatched. The dinner was a great experience on the rear terrace overlooking the surrounding valley. Although quite expensive , still perfectly delicious. Use caution when ordering ala carte, the price will take your breath away. The breakfast was normal almost lacking but the chateau and period decorations make the experience well worth being there. The staff and owner Stephanie were quite friendly and attentive to everything that is needed.

Room Tip: Request the larger rooms overlooking the gardens or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It was a pleaseure to welcome you and your family in our house. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed. I do hope that you will visit us again soon. Yours sincerely. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A first rate hotel with personal attention of the owner to detail, friendly staff, excellent food. We stayed two nights in the family suites, each of which was lovely, but the one with the terrace was just the closest experience I can imagine to reaching Heaven.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoddyHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay. We are delighted to see you enjoyed it. In summertime the "Dordogne junior suite" is perfect. Hope to welcome you another time. Thanks again. Best regards. Stephani Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Chateau is gorgeous and is situated in a spectacular spot above the Dordogne River. Service was perfect and dinners were among the best we have had anywhere. Don't miss breakfast -- a luxurious way to start the day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Sir ! Perfection does not existe, you always can do better. But if you think that your stay in Chateau de la Treyne was perfect we are of course very happy, and beleave me we do our very best for all our clients. Thank you very much and I am sure that you will come back one time, because more than most of our clients come back to us, and we are very proud of it Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Chateau itself is stunningly beautiful as it perches right on the banks of the Dordogne River. We also had some of the best food we had during our 6 week stay in France. The people there were lovely and were very helpful and did the best of their ability to help with whatever we asked. The rooms were also charming and were very neat and clean. The grounds were also gorgeous and the pool was great. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very charming and you will be very well taken care of
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awesome_advisor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comment. It is always a pleasure to see when clients are happy to stay in our house. Hope to see you again in Chateau de la Treyne. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau for the last two nights of our 8 day trip. The owners and staff were magnificent. The restaurant food was the best we ate all week. My only advise would be to install shower doors in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crewrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear client. Thank you very much for your nice comment. In only 4 rooms we have no seperate shower, we regret, but I think we will put in these rooms a shower door next year ! Hope to see you again and let me know when you are coming I will check for a room with bathtub and seperate shower. Thank you again. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau for two nights and had a lovely room with painted ceiling and great window over the spa bath tub. It is a very elegant experience although the staff acted a little snooty and the cost is at least three times what another adequate hotel in the area would go for. It is very remote so opportunities for walking in to a village are not present. Food was silly expensive. The green salad at dinner, for example, was about a cup and a half of brusied greens and it was €22. The duck was delicious but expensive and very rich--this whole area can wear you out if you are not used to rich food. Breakfast is €33 at this writing. So it is lovely but we question the cost-benefit--maybe good for honeymooners on someone else's credit card.

Room Tip: The Soleil Levant room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. I read it with great interest. Indeed we have a room with a painted ceiling and a bathroom with jacuzzi tub, but in what concerns the rest of your comment I wonder if you do not confuse our hotel. I never heard before that our staff is a little snooty and we have no green salad on our card and our breakfast is at 24 Euros and not 33 Euros. You sent a lot of comments about other hotels and perhaps there is a confusion. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
217 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
391 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
448 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#7 of 17 in Rocamadour
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Property: Chateau de la Treyne
Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing