We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stop over”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here on our way north through France. We had last stayed there about 8 years ago. We were given a very warm welcome and told we had the same room as last time! The hotel is between the motorway and a main road, so only needs a small diversion on a journey through France. It is set in large wooded grounds, complete with stream/river, a large pool, children's play area etc and a comfortable bar. There is lots of secure free parking. We were not disturbed by the road or railway, but did have a garden view room. The room has had a new bed since our last visit, but otherwise much as we remembered it, complete with eccentric bathroom. All was clean and worked well, although a shower curtain and means of fixing the shower head at standing height would have helped. We had a very pleasant dinner and breakfast with proper French breakfast coffee. It was only a shame there were very few customers. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redgraverose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
33
103
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had to change our travelling plans at the last minute as our ferry crossing was cancelled. So we used the tunnel and stayed at this charming hotel as a half way stop for our journey south.
Overall it was a pleasant experience. The staff were charming and our room was very comfortable. We were upgraded as they were not too busy. Dinner was excellent although the mark up on drinks is rather high.
The breakfast room and dining room were very attractive.
We would stay here again if we used this route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Chateau Les Muids en route to a holiday in Provence. We were looked after very well on arrival, supper was excellent and breakfast very good. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and the bed firm. It had a beautiful large bath which I loved. The décor was quirky but I found Chateau Les Muids rather charming. It was a perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Why try and run a hotel at this Chateau. Its a nice enough building, but in an incredibly noisy location. The staff seemed friendly and helpful enough, but really its just a complete non starter. Avoid at ALL costs

Room Tip: If you must stay here, go for a top floor room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The outside looks lovely, but very strange décor inside, lots of plastic mixed with copies mixed with a few original pieces of furniture.

Pool surrounded by plastic (dirty) with broken blue plastic children's pool one had to walk through to access the pool which was full of dirty water.

As our original room put on second floor, which had too many stairs, we opted for outbuilding, which felt just like modern basic motel from the 1980's.

Small bottle of coke 5 euros, which we had to go and collect and take to garden ourselves.

Hard plastic chairs around pool with only one umbrella and pool not well maintained.

Very average place, many more beautiful chateaux at the same price or less in the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: Chateau on first floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 21 September 2012 as we were impressed by the brochure. We got off to a bad start as reception had no knowledge of our booking in spite of our having received confirmation by a well known web-based booking site, a site we have used countless times all without a problem. Fortunately there were rooms available, but not at our booking rate. However we were upgraded for no extra charge. The room was large and clean but needed a good lick of paint. The toilet was a joke, I am quite short but managed to bang my head when alighting from the privy. The dining room was a little shabby and again in need of some paint. The carpet was a little thread bare along one edge. It was all a shame as the outside of the building did look as if it had some extensive restoration work done and if the same care had been applied to the interior of the building it would have made the stay much more enjoyable. Over the years we have stayed in some excellent Chateaux and this was not one of the best.

The food was quite good and the breakfast adequate. We only stayed here on route and next time we will find a different Chateau.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were given a room on the front of hotel on the first floor which looked newly refurbished. Unfortunately it wasn't till we tried to go to sleep after a long journey did we realise just how noisy this room was. The main road is very close and at this time of year very busy so we had constant traffic noise nearly all night. If you close the windows it does help but then you boil as no fans or AC - it was the worse night sleep we have had. I mentioned this to a member of the staff in the morning who was sympathetic but only advised that we should ring ahead next time to arrange another room!!! Not sure how we were to know about this problem in advance.
Food ok nothing outstanding and some of the staff friendly some not.
Will definetely not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
4.5 mi away
l'Oree des Chenes
l'Oree des Chenes
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Yvoy le Marron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.9 mi away
Campanile Orleans Sud - La Source
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
#3 of 5 in Salbris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.8 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
17.7 mi away
Domaine de Valaudran
Domaine de Valaudran
#1 of 5 in Salbris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids

Property: Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
Address: route Nationale 20, 45240 La Ferte-Saint-Aubin, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing