We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesopotamian immersion ”

Cercis Murat Konagi
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Mardin
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Armenian, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mesopotamian immersion ”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This is one of those places where you get closer to heaven when you least expect it. The setting is authentic, a true mansion owned by an old Mardin family. The proprietor, Ebru, has reluctantly got into the business when she failed to find a good place to eat in Mardin while acting as a tour guide to Germans. A Mardin native living in Istanbul, she sought the help of relatives (mostly women) to prepare original dishes of the region. Initially served at the relatives' houses, the food became famous enough to encourage Ebru to settle in Mardin and open Cercis Murat as a restaurant.

Firstly, you don't ask for the menu at Cercis. The set menu is an ample and delicious pick. It offers genuine mezes at small portions to sample. The stuffed rib, made from lamb and rice, is heavenly. All dishes are fresh, hard to find anywhere else and hard to prepare. Yet they are not too unconventional or unusual to be of worry to a Wasterner.

The taste of the food is complemented by a frendly staff, a kind and warm hostess (Ebru) and local music that can be a bit loud to the outsider (that's how music is made in the region).

I recommend this place to anyone that is ready to experience something special. To fill your stomach, you can find cheap and touristy stuff on the same (and only) avenue.

Helpful?
Thank tekirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    68
    44
    21
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over rated”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lonley planet (1st edition) highly recommended this place and also said this is the first mardin restaurant that hires female cooks.....well i dont know if it is true or not but all the waiters were male when i was there.

The menu has no english and the waiters speak very very limited english, we asked "potato. For and potato dishes and the waiter said understand and ordered french fries..... The worst fries i ever had.

We also ordered lamb racks it wasn't better than another creepy restaurant Mardin Eye.(becareful of the waiter there if you are a female traveller)

The female owner looks charming though, she was dressing like a star and eating with her family (her son even wore a bowtie ).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XinyiHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst food experience!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We walked over there yesterday, a waiter was at the door, he ignored us completely - so I asked "excuse me, is this a restaurant?" he looked disinterested but managed to say "yes, come in" My husband was not impressed with how it started & suggested we not go in - but because of the good reviews, I did not want to miss out on good food even if they were rude.
We should have walked away because the food was much worse than their service. We have been in Turkey 2 weeks now & this place has been our absolute worst meal experience ever! - we were given a menu which the pages have been torn & just thrown back in but not in any order - what ever we asked for, they angrily said they do not have - then made the ridiculous excuse that they had a very busy breakfast & thats why they do not have any left now (breakfast???) - anyway we took what they had & everything was horrible! The rice in the stuffed vine leaves was raw, our ayran never made it to the table, & the meat dish with bulgur was disgusting.
I never complain at restaurants, but I really wanted them to ask if we enjoyed our meal so that I let them know - but they did not ask & we just wanted to lease as quickly as possible. I have had cheap take aways which are much much better than that - my sincere recommendation is DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelExp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that there are only a few restaurants I would use the word "mesmerizing" to describe it for. The view is spectacular, Mezopotamya at its best. We ordered little samples from a big menu and each and every single one of them was wonderful. I can't find the right words to express what I felt after such a divine evening. Absolutely go and experience. I would love to go back to Mardin and Cercis Murat Konagi would be a major motivation for that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced food and bad service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the restaurant during our stay in Mardin. We chose to go there as the restaurant was rated very high on tripadvisor and recommended by two guide books we use during our travel in Turkey. We usually prefer to eat in cheaper local eateries, but after a long day full of unexpected events we wanted to treat ourselves with something special. We entered the restaurant following a Turkish family of four, and we were sat at the terrace with a beautiful view at the Mesopotamian plains. Soft music and beautiful setting were pretty much the only positive experience this evening. Service was dire. By the time we got our menus, the family who came in with us was already receiving their drinks and ordering their starters. By the time we were served with water, they started eating. For some reason it was a veritable struggle to get their attention and when they finally came to take our orders, they seemed very dissatisfied with the quantity if food we wanted. The 30 lira meze platter recommended by our guide book was simply the worst dish i had in turkey and the worst meze i ever had. Of the ten or so tiny portions, three tasted like they were straight from a packet (even uk supermarket renditions tasted better) and another one was definitely off, which left us with around five bland spoonfuls for our 30 lira. They even served it with two white bread rolls and a piece of an inedible old flatbread. Oh and one of the meze was buttered breadcrumbs. All this in the country with great produce and such a beautiful cuisine! Perhaps the other dishes on offer were delicious but we felt so ripped off we were in no mood to risk it. In the end the waiter tried to entertain us by making me drink rose water and then tricking me into kissing his hand.By far the worst meal of our trip and a complete rip off. Absolutely awful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia_Gor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cercis Murat Konagi also viewed

Mardin, Mardin Province
Mardin, Mardin Province
 
Mardin, Mardin Province
Mardin, Mardin Province
 

Been to Cercis Murat Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing