We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katavi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chada Katavi, Nomad Tanzania
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Small remote camp, only six tents, friendliest staff ever! Super guides! We loved Mohamed! Great wildlife, lion, leopard, lots of croc and hippo, elephant, buffalo (we saw a herd of at least 2000) without "tons of people" being radioed at every sighting. Fly camp in Paradise is an option we wish we had taken advantage of, other guests did and loved the (even "wilder") experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeiteWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We visited Katavi NP and stayed at Chada Camp in August 2013. Chada and Katavi are the real safari experience. Katavi is wonderfully remote and you see almost no other vehicles (or people) while there. There were 5 other guests at Chada during our stay (not including the elephants who strolled through the camp daily) and we saw only one other vehicle during our stay. . All of us had been on multiple African safaris and were attracted to Katavi because so few people visit.
Chada is a well run tented camp with comfortable beds, flush toilets and bucket showers open to the stars with ample hot water. Mohammed managed the camp during our stay and he and the staff could not have been more attentive.
Our guides, Mussa and Samuel, were the best I have ever had in Africa. They could spot game we could not see with binoculars. Because of our guides, game viewing was excellent-- many lions, including 2 four week old cubs, and another set of 3 two month old cubs; a marvelous male leopard that the 7 of us had to ourselves one evening for more than one hour; a night game drive where we spotted a cerval cat and multiple genets; lots and lots of elephants, including one that woke us at 1:30 am by rubbing against our tent; lots of hippo and crocs and giraffe; and wonderful bird life.
Food was very good at the camp and the staff attended to our every need.
You rough it a bit at Katavi (tsetse flies are prevalent and have a nasty bite) but what a treat this remote part of Tanzania is. I would go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a flight of almost four hours, including some stops along the way, the small 12-seater aircraft landed on Katavis Airstrip, from where you were taken to the camp, which consisted of six luxury tents with private toilet and shower. The bath was bush shower, and you had to order a bucket of hot water per person. It is brought to the tent about 1/2 hour later. All the staff are incredibly nice and do their best to ensure that everyone gets a delightful experience. The food is great and all drinks are included in the price. No electricity, internet and mobile, but you Can charge batteries for the camera. I had three nights, and there are two game drives per day. There was also a nightsafari. There are very few tourists in the area, and there are good opportunities to see a lot of animals. Even around the camp, the animals came up close and helped to make it a fantastic experience. Except from rhinos, there were all the most common African animals plus something extra. Try it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bihlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Traveling with Nomad Tanzania to Chada Katavi far surpassed the bar that I set so high in my mind. From the very beginning of our three night 4 day stay our guide Mohamed Kassim made everything we did extra special. He not only educated us he kept us safe while having fun. That we did! What an adventure. We saw everything! He is so right when he said "a game drive can change by the minute" He had us watching Ellie's bathing one minute and the next a Leopard trying to kill a Nile Monitor Lizard. The staff runs a fine tuned camp thanks to Mohamed as well. From the accommodations to meals all is top notch. You won't be disappointed. Asante Sana to all the staff at Chada Katavi. You all made our dream Trip to Africa come True! Pamela and Steve Rodd- Vermont USA

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roma253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my wife and my friends stayed here for 4 nights
Katavi Nat Park :- Its Haven on earth , unbelievably picture perfect , The movment our plane landed on well maintained air strip , we knew we were in one of the most beautiful parks in Africa , our 4 days in this lodge and 8 days in the park we saw all type of sightings other then wild dogs , it was so amazing to be in katavi for 8 days !!! It has lots of Tsetse Fly.
Location:- There are 3 Lodges in Katavi , all 3 are about 30 mins drive , Fox camp and Katuma Bush Lodge are very close to each other and their location is best , the Chada camp location is not bed but this two are better , Katuma is very Luxurius camp , best in Katavi for comfort , food , service , poor in Guiding. We had elephants actually came in camp, Chada camp is basic, Rustic type bush camp , a real African economy class safari, Food is ok , Service and people are very good , Tent is ok , did not like design of bathroom , you have to open and close 3 tent zip to reach Bucket shower , and Loo is also portable type and so do wash basin

Guiding and Driver: - The Guiding is superior , very good , Our Driver was very nice , Very flexible and he was very practical also , During our stay here we were offered Night safari , we did one days and it was a jackpot. We saw Lion feeding zibra , interaction between feeding Lions two Male and two female and two young male and Hyena came , and we also saw many nocturnal animals like (African Civet , Serval , Lions , Lions roaring , Hyenas , Jackals , Genets playing , we started at 8pm came back at 1130pm
Other day morning we saw lions on tree , this is one I had never seen in my life , wanted to see it so bedly , since last 20 years on safari and first time I have seen lions on tree ,
We also saw lions with cubs , really small , I would guess about a week or two old , we also saw Roan Antelope they are quite shy but had a good look at it , our Guide Moosa very good , very good knowledge and very good English also.

Service and Staff : The service level by the manager and staff were excellent. They were also super flexible on the safari activities. Service was very good , staff very friendly and people very nice


Katuma Bush Lodge in Katavi Nat park is Basic, Bush type camp, Phone signals are there but not strong , from dinning and library you can talk or see emails , Game Viewing from tents and deck is not great as its in bush, camp and tent has not a clear view of open land which is not good, all General Game Monkeys , Impalas , Elephants , would pass by the tent , Elephants want to drink water from our shower bucket and on one day one of them came dangerously close to tent and also brought down part of the tent

I would definatly go back to Katavi nat Park again

Room Tip: Tent 4 and 5 best , (its about 250 mts from Dinning room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ram_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The tent facilities are as luxurious as they can be w/out running water, the food and the staff are incredible, but moreover Chada Katavi National park is a gem. We had the place to ourselves with a wonderful guide from Nomad Tanzania tours named Samwell. Kudos to Africa Rose travel for arranging this trip... It was the highlight of our safari adventure in Tanzania! Don't miss this place if you have the means. It is extraordinary!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSNewt0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be the only guests in this very secluded camp when we visited in August 2013.
The camp is beautifully located within the trees on the edge of Chada plain. The tents are very comfortable. There is no running water here for environmental reasons so you have to cope with a chemical toilet, which was no bother to us.
The camp manager Mohammed went out of his way to ensure that our stay was no less than perfect. He is extremely professional, helpful and highly knowledgeable of the local area.
All of the camp staff were extremely friendly and would often come to chat with us when we were resting during the day.
The food was outstanding. Some of the best we had while in Tanzania.
Our guide, Sam was excellent. His ability to spot things was astonishing and his knowledge of the area and English skills were also very strong.
Vehicles were great. Adapted Land Rover Defenders which great open visibility and very comfortable
Katavi is a special place. Possibly more suited to experienced safari goers than Ngorogoro or the Serengeti as it lacks the draw-dropping landscapes but if you want to watch animals with no other vehicles in sight, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chada Katavi, Nomad Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chada Katavi, Nomad Tanzania

Address: Katavi National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Rukwa Region > Katavi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Katavi National Park
Price Range: $583 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 years ago, when Roland Purcell first landed his plane in Katavi there wasn't a camp in site. It was no accident that he chose to pitch his camp overlooking the game-rich floodplain of Chada.Today, Chada Katavi retains the pioneering spirit on which it was founded. Perfectly placed to explore Katavi's fragile seasonal rivers, open plains and woodland, the focus here is on wildlife and the action is rarely far from camp.And yet few who visit us fail to remark on the charm and intimacy of this little camp. With only six beautifully furnished tents, it's understated...but effortlessly sophisticated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing