We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolancourt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent a night here en route to Burgundy. Bedroom was fine, smallish and a little bland, but bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless with good toiletries, nice balcony. TGV line is quite close so some noise from trains. Restaurant very attractive, but somewhat understaffed even though it was only half occupied. Food was good when it eventually arrived but portion sizes for starters were far too big. Breakfast buffet good, but disappointing that coffee comes from a machine.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank thetwojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend earlier in the year. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly, and the room was clean and bright, with a little balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.
We ate in the hotel both evenings, and enjoyed dinner both times. While it wasn't cheap, (gastronomic cooking never is!!) we felt it was good value, and the service and presentation couldn't be faulted. The dining room overlooked the old waterwheel and millstream, and eating outside would be very pleasant in the summer. Very good selection of wines, both from Champagne and further afield in France.
The hotel is well-placed for an overnight stop, roughly half-way between the Alps and Calais. It would make a good last night on the way back from skiing, for instance. Having said that, the area certainly merits a longer stay. There are vineyards on the edge of the village, a theme park where we had a very good day, and there are forests and lakes within a short drive.
All in all, we had a great stay here, and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonySG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

As the title suggests we only calles in for Sunday Lunch. However we found the location was exceptional, the staff more than helpfull and the food, aalthough a littly pricey was 100%

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank xantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Disappointing in size of room, pillows and mattresses that have seen better days, little insects on the bed and a resident spider on the wall.
Don't get me wrong, sheets were clean but somehow the smell of used pillows ensured that sleep evaded us. Mattresses were sunken in the middle. The room we had looked nothing like the photos. Perhaps only some rooms have been upgraded. The bathroom though had been upgraded.

Service was friendly and helpful though but really the place needs to be refreshed and renewed.

Room Tip: Please check if the rooms are as represented in the photos on their site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pegasusflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our last night in France en route home, and we chose this hotel for its 'gourmet' restaurant as a treat. Our (out of date) Routard guide said it was 'ultra classy' plus it was in the Relais & Chateaux guide, so we thought we were onto a winner.
When we arrived, the lady on reception did not even offer any assistance in indicating where our room was and just gave us the key and said 'room 1'. We had to ask to be shown where it was and she took us to the door, rather grudgingly. The room was nice - clean with everything working ok; although the mini bar seemed to have been removed. The room was in a rather motel-like extension, but that was no problem really.
We did go into the bar/terrace area late afternoon with the intention of having a beer, but there was nobody around to serve us - it was a bit like the Marie Celeste!
We were slightly concerned about the proximity of Nigloland and the railway, but neither intruded. You could hear Nigloland quite clearly when we walked around the village, but not from the hotel.
My main complaint however is with the food. It promotes itself as a gourmet restaurant and we decided to have the 'Gourmet' menu at €50 each, as it was our last night in France. I would say it was worth less than half that amount. Everything came with chopped red onion as a garnish. My fillet steak was tiny and the mushrooms were straight out of a jar and very salty. My husband's fish was not cooked well. If I had been paying €20-25 I wouldn't feel aggrieved but it was terribly overpriced for the standard, choice and portion size.
The service from the young man was excellent and the restaurant was lovely - overlooking the waterwheel. However, the music in the restaurant was awful - very loud, inappropriate and on a loop so we heard everything at least 3 times during our meal! The lady from reception also served in the restaurant and she was rather blase and unhelpful. She shouted as she walked through the kitchen so the whole restaurant could hear. We even heard her commenting on how much wine we ordered!
Breakfast was good although all self service - but the young man from the restaurant was there to solve any problems with the coffee machine and juicer.
The man on reception at check-out was also very pleasant and efficient.
In summary, fine for an overnight stop but be prepared to be disappointed with food and some aspects of the service. With just a few little changes, this place could be fantastic!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank caromac19blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The reception ,Restaurant, ambience and swimming Pool and Grounds are very good.

The hotel is based around an old Water Mill and there are large windows in the Restaurant that overlook the small river and the Waterwheel.

The staff are friendly and helpfull and one feels comfortable with the surroundings and the whole experience.

Our only negative comment would be that the Double bed was lacking in width. I think it was a 140cm bed whereas the normal width would be a 160cm or many Hotels have 2 singles zipped together to form a King size Bed.

The quality of the food in the Restaurant was very good and the prices were in line with expectations.

Certainly a place we would return to and even the racket from the TGV on the adjacent railway would not deter us !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Lovely hotel, the room was very clean, the bathroom was also very clean and modern, good shower. The room we were in (Number 4) was more than acceptable, ok the decor was not to our taste but otherwise lovely. The staff could not be more helpful. Food was "ok". Yes there is a high speed rail link nearby but this really was not an intusion and not something we noticed. I noticed someone commented on the amount of steps to the reception, yes there are steps, but not many. So would I stay there again - Definately.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent_chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolancourt
10.6 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
486 reviews
14.9 mi away
Domaine de la Foret d'Orient
Domaine de la Foret d'Orient
#1 of 1 in Rouilly Sacey
621 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Pirates
Hotel des Pirates
#1 of 2 in Dolancourt
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan
12.9 mi away
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restau...
#1 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion

Address: 5 rue Saint Leger, 10200 Dolancourt, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Dolancourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolancourt
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around 40 kilometres from Troyes, this former eighteenth-century water mill, which has been entirely renovated, welcomes you to its authentic and relaxing setting. Use the “Aqualis” space at your leisure and your pace; enjoy the hydro massage bath, the Finnish spruce sauna and the multi-experience shower in order to awaken your senses. The dining room overlooks the river where the water wheel, which still works, is a real attraction. The rooms are all comfortably equipped and have private balconies that open up onto the wooded park of Landion. In winter, gather with your friends or family in the convivial atmosphere around the fireplace in the lounge bar; in summer, the riverside terrace or the garden and its heated swimming-pool provide places to relax in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel*** Restaurant Le Moulin Du Landion Hotel Dolancourt
Moulin Du Landion Dolancourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing