We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Flaws Fabulous Four Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de la Fleunie
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food Flaws Fabulous Four Nights”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Fantastic building and location. Sadly this wonderful place is let down by a limited menu offering abysmal food and the way that the building has been divided up to maximise the number of bedrooms. We too were victims of the very narrow and very steep staircase (done, I think, to increase the number of bedrooms) - even my dogs had difficulty negotiating it!
Our lovely, large bedroom had a tiny, and I mean tiny, bathroom (the width of the sink with a recessed bath) which had nowhere to put a toilet bag and an even smaller, separate toilet where you could just about sit on the toilet and then bang your head on the sloping roof if taller than 5' 2" when you stood up!
The menu is great if all you want to eat is, or contains, foie gras. We stayed for 4 nights, but only ate dinner on 3 nights as the food was awful - badly cooked and presented - and the choice limited.
However, the staff were absolutely superb as was the very friendly service they provided -nothing was too much trouble. My overwhelming feeling is sadness as I think the chef is letting them all down very badly indeed. Steak frites in Sarlat was a better meal!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OkeyCokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    73
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
113
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewanee TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Located near the cultural site of Grotto Lascaux, Chateau de la Fleunie provided a peaceful and elegant place from which to explore. (We arranged tickets to the site at the desk.) The castle itself is backed against the mountains, and surrounded by the fields of the Vezere Valley. In the morning mist was rising from the hills across the valley and my children could watch the goats and speckled reindeer being fed. The pool is large and inviting, a great place to sun, although cool after a recent rain. Breakfast was ordinary, but the evening meal in the dining hall was quite flawless and plays to regional favorites. (Kids menus available.) There is a bar tucked away just past reception where we ordered a glass of port, then snuck into the far room to watch the World Cup! The staff were excellent and the rooms comfortable (we chose the more modestly priced ones in the refurbished stable.) Montignac is close by and offers the town experience. For us it was a magical sanctuary in the Perigord...

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 411bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We got married at La Fleunie in 2006. We hired the whole chateau for a weekend and shared the most amazing weekend of our lives with family and friends in the wonderful surroundings and ambience provided at this idyllic chateau.

The rooms are amazing, clean and comfortable, the staff are welcoming, accommodating, and amiable. The food was outstanding and many of our guests stayed for extra days to make the most of the luxury the hotel provided.

I cannot fault one thing with this hotel, and can't wait to go back again this summer with our son.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Took a detour to visit the Lascaux caves on my way from Limoges to Bordeaux, and decided to spend a night at this establishment. It was rather a challenge to get to the hotel if coming from the Lascaux caves (driving through a forest and narrow unpaved roads), but if you come directly off the freeway to the hotel, then it was pretty much a straight shot.

The hotel was in an open field, very airy, with a petting zoo of sort. My room is in the back of the hotel (drag your own suitcases up narrow wooden spiral staircase). The front staff is very nice and helpful, and the restaurant has locals eating there as well. The food is local, and decent. Definitely a good option for a one night stay while traveling in this part of the country.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Condat-sur-Vezere
18.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
229 reviews
13.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
531 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Fleunie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Fleunie

Property: Chateau de la Fleunie
Address: Rue d'Aubas | Chateau La Fleunie, 24570 Condat-sur-Vezere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Condat-sur-Vezere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Condat-sur-Vezere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Fleunie 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Fleunie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Fleunie Hotel Condat-Sur-Vezere
Chateau De La Fleunie France/Condat-Sur-Vezere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing