We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute wonderful”
Review of Chateau Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Colbert
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maulevrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The Hotel was just wonderful. We stayed in the main building in one of the suites. I have never seen such huge rooms and high ceilings. The wardrobe was gigantic. But more importantly was the really welcoming atmosphere and the comfort of everything. The building is old and we think the odd squeaking floorboard and flaking paint here and there adds greatly to it's charm.
The bedding, the bathroom and towels are all first class quality. The food and service in the restaurant were outstanding. I do not understand why the hotel has not got 1 or 2 Michelin Stars, it certainly deserves one!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MumofHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Hotel is very beautiful and it was nice way to experience Loire castle comparing to queuing hours for the turist castles. We booked the most cheapest room, and it was on the second floor, wich was build in the hotel propably somewhere around eighties. The room was not any castle like. I also highly recommend for booking the better category.
Restaurant was also very charming and food was delicious. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna-Lyydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We were there for one night on the way to La Baule. As it looked really nice in the pictures, I was expecting a really nice place. Well, it wasn't bad...but the room we had was so small and everything was so shabby. The prestige room I happen to look in on the way down to the reception was really pretty, though. So if you are booking a room here, get the prestige room. Ah, the restaurant was ok. I don't find it so gastronomique, but they had a very reasonable priced wine list. A kind thng to do for the guest.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louloulechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have chosen this chateau hotel based on price and reviews on Tripadvisor. It is a little far from any important places, but that aspect did not bother us. We stayed there for 2 nights. The Prestige Room we had was very large and stylish. I wish I had a four poster bed room, but when I asked about it at the reception, I was told that they only have one and it is taken (room no. 104). Well, that did not bother me either, we had a wonderful room.

We liked everything about this hotel, except for the food in their elegant restaurant. We are not big fans of sophisticated French cuisine, but we were willing to try anyway. We ordered both the same thing, which was fillet minion with macaroni gratin topped with spinach. Well, we got a little (but tasty) fillet (less than 3 inches in diameter) and 3 (three!) macaroni topped with a steamed spinach leaf. I thought it was ridiculous. These two portions plus 2 cocktails and 2 glasses of wine equaled 75 Euro (about $110). The good thing is that they gave us enough bread and we did not have to leave the restaurant still being hungry.

Overall, we had a beautiful experience. For those who want to stay at a chateau, it is a catch and a good value for the money (155 Euro/night). I am not sure that it could actually be called a chateau, because it is just a large sized mansion from the 17th century.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audrey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stopped in at this Hotel/Chateau and stayed one night in October. The Chateau is remarkably beautiful. We figured after getting the rate that the room would be small but it wasn’t. We had a large room with a desk and large double windows that looked out to the gardens. There was a loft accessible by a stair ladder and there were two twin beds. The bathroom was very large and had everything you needed. The beds were comfortable and the room furnished very nicely. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant but unfortunately were booked for the evening. The town is small so we had to drive to the next town about 20km to have dinner. This wasn’t a huge problem just a little inconvenient. We did have breakfast the next morning and it was very good. The breakfast room is beautiful and added to the whole experience. The only negative was the noise from the hallway and other guest was really obvious. It didn’t last long but did wake us and we had to get back to sleep. I believe it was kids and they were just being pretty loud. Other than that we never heard another sound.

This place is beautiful and very inexpensive for the room and experience. We continued on the next day so we didn’t really get to experience everything the place and location had to offer. They have some Formal gardens, as well as Oriental gardens. I think this would be a great place to settle into for a few days and explore the area!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paris_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 2006 and were very impressed. The bedrooms are just beautiful, the ensuite bathrooms modern and very clean and the staff attentive and helpful - and happy to speak English when our French failed us. We ate in the restaurant at the last moment, not having booked to do so, and enjoyed a fantastic and truly French dining experience. It was a six course meal, superbly cooked and accompanied by super wine. We would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

What a find! Chateau Colbert is a stunning Chateau situated in Maulevrier. It is incredibly reasonably priced and if booking, do as we did and go for a Deluxe room. Stunning furniture, elegant paintings, four poster beds and a bathroom to wallow in! Chateau Colbert has it all. The food was exquisite. Menus vary from 27 euros right up to 65 euros. We opted for something in the middle and were not disappointed. Wines are reasonably priced. The building itself is a joy, it is a pity that the town didn't have more charm but with what has been rated the best Japanese Garden in Europe (next to the Chateau), a picturesque experience isn't in doubt.
Next time we go to this area of France there will be one place we are heading - Chateau Colbert, but for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maulevrier
14.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
#2 of 5 in Les Herbiers
176 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbin...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
198 reviews
13 mi away
Chateau de la Flocelliere
Chateau de la Flocelliere
#1 of 1 in La Flocelliere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Chateau de La Tremblaye
Chateau de La Tremblaye
#10 of 21 in Cholet
73 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chateau du Boisniard
Chateau du Boisniard
#1 of 3 in Chambretaud
182 reviews
7.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#5 of 21 in Cholet
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Colbert

Address: 1 Place du Chateau Colbert, 49360 Maulevrier, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Maulevrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maulevrier
Price Range: $114 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Colbert 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Colbert Maulevrier
Chateau Colbert France/Maulevrier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing