We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
264
72
22
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
72
22
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family style hobie cats coffee and juice other guests belize city every morning dive master lagoon side scuba diving ocean front minute boat ride fish rum punch mayan ruins oceanfront cabana large table blue hole
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 378 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2015

This small resort is the only one on the island. The other occupants are those that own homes or are coming on a day visit (this happened only once during our stay - it was a family who pulled up on a sailboat). You can choose to stay in a bungalow, over-water bungalow or lodge room. I booked last minute and had to book 2 lodge rooms (2 adults and 2 teens). The lodge rooms were fine. I would recommend that if you are able, you should book the bungalow room. The staff here was super! They were so friendly. You will get to know them by name before you leave. The food was absolutely FABULOUS! My teens went scuba diving almost every day with the guides here. It was very easy, stress free and convenient. They went spearfishing for lionfish. We had ceviche made from this lionfish and it was the best ceviche I have ever had! The property is so small that the meals are served family style. You will get to know the other guests pretty well too. There is not a whole lot to do here - so be prepared to just relax after scuba diving, snorkeling, sailing on the hobie cat, kayaking, swimming and walking around the island. You may just end up spending more time in the hammock then you expected! *take bug spray*

Room tip: WiFi is available and free in the lodge. Choose the Bungalow room over the Over-water Bungalows
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JDPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

I love the "not much to do" comment with the long list of fun water sports. You nailed it - "total relaxation" along with "supreme adventure." Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

They picked us up at Princess Marina in Belize City and 20 minutes later we arrived at St George's Island resort by boat. Our luggage was taken to the room and we were taken to the bar for welcome rum punch. We absolutely loved our over the water cabanas. We immediately turned off the HVAC, opened the windows and curtains and thoroughly enjoyed the Caribbean breeze as we sat on our thatched room from porch enjoying the sunset across the water.

The room had one or two minor glitches that were promptly corrected, but one must remember that you're 7 miles offshore and right next to the 2nd world's largest reef. This is not the Swiss Hotel, but better, in an adventuresome and romantic way! Just bring a spirit for adventure and they'll handle the rest.

Although there was no in-room Wi-Fi, it was available at the dining facility and bar. At times it was slow and occasionally went down, but it was only a reminder that we were supposed to be on vacation, not glued to our Smartphone all day.

We took a 20 minute walk to the marine museum down the beach and glad that we did. Oh my gosh! Some huge and not so huge live fish! We swam in the huge pool and swung in the hammocks present all over the property. We took two of the hobie cat sailboats out on two separate days and Elvan was our guide and capable crew! Okay, we've raced sailboats for years, so we had a bit more experience than a tour guide might but we all had a ball and he kept us in safe waters.

The meals were more than we could eat and an interesting variety of specialty dishes that we all loved. The sitting area just off the bar was a great gathering place prior to each meal where we met every single guests at the lodge daily. This place is so cozy, we got to know everyone well and felt like family by the end of our trip. If you like being alone, this is the place to do it. If you like meeting other strangers, this is also the place that offers that option too.

The daily snorkeling trips were expertly conducted by informative guides that found all the sea life that could easily be missed. We saw spotted eagle rays, turtles, octopus and so many other fish I can't remember them all. We never felt endangered or unsafe at anytime and there were several first time snorkelers in our group. Everyone was able to participate at their level of comfort.

Barry hired the right staff and keeps everything running. Lou, the bartender is an excellent artist who drew incredible artwork that we wished we could have taken home with us. Lou, get a agent; you have a rare gift! Lou was the man that made all our dreams come true. He arranged the trips, did magic tricks for us and fixed some incredible island drinks for everyone. A lot of guests reported excellent massage treatments but we were too busy to schedule one.

You must understand that this is an island resort. It's not the Swiss Hotel but considering it's remote location, it has so many nice amenities going for it. Showers were small, but got the job done with plenty of instant hot water. Rooms were not large but the beds were and lots of comfort. I thought it was cool that we had outside tubs to wash the sand off our feet. That was well thought out! Outside views were incredible and the staff polite, responsive and knowledgeable. You can keep the HVAC running if you like, but we felt it was not needed and the fans were sufficient so that we could sleep to the sounds of the island.

Whether you're seeking seclusion with someone special, inclusion with the whole gang or somewhere in between, we found all options and interests were available.

Our favorite pastime was lounging by the pool, swinging in the hammock on our private front porch over the water and sitting at the bar talking to folks from all over America and Canada. Some hammocks were more comfortable than others so you may want to shop around.

We did the, Twice the Adventure Package that split our stay between St George and Cave Branch Jungle Lodge on the mainland. For the best variety of experiences and adventure options I highly recommend that package. St George coordinated all the transfers and made it all happen so that our greatest worry each day was what we were going to choose for breakfast and what adventure we would choose today.

Room tip: The overwater cabanas were unique. Rooms 1 or 6 on the ends get better breezes.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

Dave, thank you for the detailed review. This is so helpful to other travelers looking for the right place to vacation. It means even more coming from a veteran like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015

If you are looking to relax this is the place. We had five amazing days on the island a few of which we were just two of about six people total. this is the place if you are looking to sit on the beach or relax in a hammock without a dozen vendors coming up to try to sell you some thing. We are not divers, so each day the dive boat left we had tons of time to enjoy the see Kayaks and Hobie cat. We did take two days for snorkeling on the reef and it was great. Don't forget your fishing gear. there are hundreds of tarpon every night just off the pier but you will want to bring your own lures. they wont bite on the fish they give you at the bar. Jenny was a great host and front of the house. We stayed in the garden huts and it was very cozy. the huts over the water look nice but from what we hear the were a bit warm for sleeping. The staff was great but don't anticipate they understand your needs. Although if you need something just ask. The general Manager really made our trip special throwing together our private dinner one night. I forget his name although he was very helpful. This is the place to relax without a doubt.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

Thank you. Great comments. Come on back down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2015

St. George's Caye, 7 miles off the coast of Belize City. Airport collection and transfer by boat to the Caye was all arranged by the resort.
What to expect from St. Georges; a sincerely warm personal greeting on arrival and rum punch! A Beautiful rustic setting. Absolutely wonderful staff, great food and great service.
If you want to get away from 'it all' or dive / learn to dive in beautiful locations, this is the place for you. The resort isn't large, but if you want a sprawling, crowded resort there are plenty of generic places to go.
On St. George's you will have the luxury of not being bombarded with crowds of people and of being able to find a secluded little area to relax where no-one else will bother you.
If you are in the mood to do something more energetic, you can organise a trip to the jungle (for zip lining and cave tubing), go snorkelling, diving, kayaking or sailing and you can visit San Pedro, Belize city or… the spa.
We got married there and it was the most idyllic scenario you could imagine. We were put on a pedestal and treated like VIP’s. Nothing was too much trouble and we got exactly what we wanted...no compromises.
I also want to commend the chef. You may have some reservations about the communal dining set up here. It works so well. All the guests gather for a set time, mingle and sit down and eat together.
You can have a chat with the person next to you if you want, or not. You will get to catch up with other guests on what they did that day, if anything, and you will get to meet people from different places and hear their stories if you are interested or tell them yours if you want!
There is a set menu but if you have any special requests or don't eat what is on that day the chef will provide you with an alternative. The food was exceptional every single meal and if you are lucky enough that someone has caught some fish that day, that will be prepared and put on as an extra course for the evening meal.
Just so that expectations are met, this is a rustic resort. The Cabana's are comfortable and clean but not modern and you won't have people spraying the ants with repellent, like other places that I have been.
This is by no means intended to be read negatively, but I want to be subjective. The cabana experience was for me great and one of the things that attracted me to St. George's. You have your own veranda where coffee and juice are left every morning at 6am and sitting in your hammock sipping juice looking out at the restful peaceful world surrounding you is a pretty great way to start your day.
But if you want the generic, crowded, modern, marble floors and glass basin type of resort that has been done time and time again don't go to St. George's. If you want relaxation, diving, exceptional service and great food then do go to St. Georges.
Hope this review helps you in your holiday planning!

Room tip: Some people say that the over-water cabana's are too warm, we were in number 1 and were comfortable. Perhaps, if you really can't handle heat the garden cabana's are a better choice.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ceara_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

Thank you for sharing your detailed description so that others can fully appreciate the experience our staff provides. And of course we love that a seasoned traveler and reviewer wants to return to our little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2015

The resort was clean, quiet and the staff was fabulous! We enjoyed nature, spa treatments, family style dining (fresh and delicious - including 2 vegetarians!) and excursions. The river tour to the Mayan ruins was simply beautiful - like something out of a movie. Even with a rainy start to the day, we all had a great time. There was even hot chocolate waiting for us upon our return. They handled inclement weather perfectly - giving us options and making us comfortable.

Bug spray is a must - they do have some in the lodge, but best to bring plenty of your own. I didn't find the beach to be inviting for swimming because of the sea grass, but only a short distance out is excellent snorkeling. And, it was clean - when walking the kayak into the water. There is a clean pool on the property that is more inviting - but we opted for adventure! There is no TV and wireless is available only in the lodge - forcing us to relax. There are board games and books available as well. This is a very quiet, calm, relaxing getaway....there were honeymooners as well as small groups of friends - a good environment for all.

Room tip: Over-water bungalows were lovely - nice breeze - but everything looked fine.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLDL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

Thank you for your detailed comments. So glad you enjoyed St. George's and that you recommend it to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews