We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxed atmosphere. If that's what you're into...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. George's Caye Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Barrhead, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxed atmosphere. If that's what you're into...”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Spent 4 days here and 4 days in Placencia, The staff is absolutely incredible. This is and should remain a honeymoon resort. Not a tourist looking to get out and experience Belize. The food was generally great in the evenings. Had to order extra for breakfest if you actually wanted to get your fill. Danny the "Chef" cooks amazing fish so long as you catch him some.

Diving is 100 times better in placencia in the parks. (Cost an extra 12$ US per day to get into the park.) The fishing guide for St Gerges takes you where he takes every other schmuck where you fish in a very "fished out" section of reef. (I know because I dive remember) still caught some baby cudas and a two-three pound grouper Did have quite a bit of fun catching Tarpon off the end of the dock on the beach side of the island. Please take note if your an avid fisherman DO NOT GRAB UNDER THEIR GILLS, they are like razor blades. Some British army guys caught a Nurse shark right beside me, lots of little snappers and cudas too.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    57
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
180
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Continental held us up in Nashville so we missed first flight to Belize City. Got there but luggage for friend did not. Resort staff met us on time and took us to get emergency clothes for two days. Great boat ride in a nice 28 foot Kat to resort. Staff met us at dock with drinks and showed us the resort. It is a neat place. Cabanas are very functional and clean and staff and service was excellent.

Dined family style. Food was great (thank you Hector) and meeting new folks each day made the trip fun. Richard was a great fishing guide and put me on permit and bones and he threw in some great cudda action along with yellowtail snapper.

My friend dove and she really enjoyed Freddie and the entire dive staff. I went on the boat for the night dive and it was neat. With lack of ambient light the stars were magnificent.

Barry and Leianie were so gracious and timely with advice and booking side trips, etc. We never lacked for anything. Be prepared to spend some money for side trips. That is just the way it is and you know that going in. Arron can make a great mudslide and the rum punch is there all day long.

Wind can come up this time of year so just expect it. The sea grass is right off the beach, so if you want to swim take a kayak (get an anchor) paddle thirty yards and be in the clear beautiful water with white sand bottom. Otherwise, hit the pool. We were at the pool each evening for sunset and never another guest showed. We also took kayaks around the mangroves. Hobie cats are there for the sailing.

Staff was great. Thanks to all. Will make it back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetofish048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a great stay at St George' Caye resort last month. It was everything we were looking for , albeit at a high tariff as we were not on a package. The resort has the perfect blend of activities, service, and laid back island flavor. The lack of any other (with the exception of the excellent aquarium) tourist infrastructure on St George's Caye can not be improved upon. As such it draws a select group of guests which was one of the great things about it. (We had the pleasure of meeting Nicole, another reviewer and her husband among others ).The owners Terri and Andrew make you feel as if you are a guest in their home and we were fortunate enough during our stay to meet the visionary Fred Good who founded the resort. The only downside was that we sustained a lot of insect bites.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Service was good. Although we paid a high price to be nickel-and-dimmed to death. Meals are included. However, if you want anything more than granola and bread there is a charge ($5 US for eggs!). There is no good ocean swimming or snorkeling on the island. They once again charge you for any excursion like these. We expected more for the $500/per night that we paid. The management could make this a more equitable arrangement.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparky085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

St. George's Caye is a perfect spot for water sport enthusiasts and those looking for a quiet, personal and welcoming private resort. The hosts Terri and Andrew and every one of the fabulous staff treat you as their personal guests, like friends of the family, from the first moment you step on to the dock. The team goes out of their way to ensure that you have an excellent and memorable stay.

Phenomenal spot for diving, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, sailing, etc... Optional excursions are very personal - dives and snorkeling are with resort staff with years of experience in the area, and fishing is with Richard, a local man from a family of commercial fishermen. There are miles of mangrove islands to explore by kayak, and a very interesting - and large - sand bar within an easy sail. Manatees, dolphins and porpoises frequent the area.

Food is excellent, featuring local fish and seafood, but accomodating for special diets as well. I personally don't eat sea creatures, and the chef took great care of me. Meals are shared family style in the main lodge or a beach barbeque. Again, it is like you are a guest in their home, and we really enjoyed getting to know the other guests.

The cabanas are simple, comfortable and have great front porches, ours was directly on the beach. Juice and coffee delivered to your porch every morning!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1andD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2011

For a cozy , peaceful , romantic getaway this is the place. This was my husband & I second trip in six months. The staff is awesome! They do everything but wipe your mouth.
Danny the chief surely deserves the title "Master Chief ". Leona can/will relax your body with those heavenly hands. A spa treatment with her is a definite must have. We also met some wonderful people that I'd surely like to run across again. Thank you again, St. George's Cayes Resort for yet another fabulous vacation. Yes, we're planning a third trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

When planning my vacation I looked for 2 things, simple relaxation in a luxurious environment and adventure. Upon arrival to the island I was greeted with friendly staff and refreshments, escorted on a short tour of the grounds and shown the thatched hut cabana that would be where I would get the best sleep I can remember having. The door of the cabin opened onto the east side of the island which meant I was able to wake up early enough to open the front door, crawl back into bed and watch the sun rise over the water.

My adventures included diving the blue hole, 2 other reef dives, cave tubing, snorkeling and zip lining. If I wasnt busy with these excursions I was on the beach reading my novel sipping on pina colodas and awaiting my massage from Leonie.

If you go you must get a massage from Leonie. After wards you'll simply walk around feeling like you've been transported to another world. She has great hands and is truely gifted.

Best vacation ever, this was my second trip to Belize, and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's Caye
8.3 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
23.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
24.5 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
560 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Caye Resort

Property: St. George's Caye Resort
Address: Beachfront, St. George's Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > St. George's Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. George's Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. George’s Caye Resort is a secluded paradise located on a private residence island just seven miles from Belize City. Accessible only by boat, St. George’s Caye feels miles away from everyday life thanks to its cozy cabanas, breathtaking views of the Caribbean, and the highest level of service in Belize. Divers, anglers and those looking to just get away from it all will find everything they desire at St. George’s Caye Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George`s Caye Hotel St. George`s Caye
St Georges Caye Hotel
St. George's Caye Resort Belize/Belize Cayes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing