We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Pinar Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Llonga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

1st time at el pinar, (end of july),stayed for 1 week 2 adult 2 kids all inclusive.
Firstly location is amazing,cala longa is lovely,not too busy,lovely beach safe for kids with lifegaurds very clean.Hotel is a few steps up from beach.
We arrived and was given a seaview room which i hadnt paid extra for with nice balcony overlooking beach and bay.Room was clean,with kitchen but we did not use this as we were all inclusive.Air con could have been a little cooler as it was very hot during the day, room had fan aswell but our bedroom it was too noisy so it was turned off.Main problem with the room was a smell of urine coming from bathroom.I first noticed it when we checked in and thought someone had peed in cupboard in our bedroom and it hadnt been cleaned,but the cupboard backed onto bath and on inspection it was coming from plughole so some sort of sewage problem.Told reception when we left to go out for the day and when we got back it the smell was gone,but the next morning the smell was back but not as bad.
Food was good,loads of choice and plentiful,same breakfast,but luch and dinner changed every day.My favourite was the salmon steaks.
Drink was served in proper glasses and didnt seem to be any limit on how many we ordered but i never got more than 3 at a time.Drinks by pool have to be plastic glasses though.
Now for service,
Reception was great,investigated the bathroom problem(even though it was totally sorted).
We asked to borrow a plug euro-uk plug adaptor as we forgot ours,and one was left for us in our room.
Resturant staff and bar is were this place could improve.Staff never said hello or morning unless you said first ,one or two of them rarely smiled.Cant really give the excuse that they are really busy because it wasnt.We stayed in hotels before as all inclusive and the bar guys are serving all day long with a queue of people and still manage to smile.
Customers seemed to be 50% AI and 50% self catering.
It's differnt to where we stayed before as its an apartment complex that has resturant and bar that offers AI,and not a Hotel,so cant really expect the same facilities like a kids club and only it only has entertainment 3 times a week.So it was a bit quiet for us and the kids.But the place does have many returning guests so it must be doing something right.
In general if we didnt have younger kids i would return,but little things like maybe music round the pool and in the bar/terrace area at night would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgvneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.

We regret that you did not like the all inclusive meals, we try to improve them every year and sastify all of ours guests but not always we get it.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your custom again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 683 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited here in august with my two children 6 & 12 and my friend and her two children. The location is wonderful and the town is lovely perfect for a holiday with children. The hotel was clean and rooms were basic but fine, we had a ubbish view but were rarely in the room so wasnt a problem. Our disappointment came with the all inclusive. We chose this option so that the kids could eat when they wanted without us having to worry. On the first night they were told off for not eating all their food and were scared for the rest of the holiday to try new things incase they didnt like it ! The all inclusive food is a very small selection but was edible and if all else failed we could order a pizza and eat a lot of ice cream as we did. The drinks are quite restricted on all inclusive but again we managed with this. It was very clear from the staff at the hotel that the management really restricted them on being able to go the extra mile or provide anything beyond the basic on all inclusive. I had a look at the paying customers menu and it was much more extensive and the food better presented. There are no towels provided for poolside which meant we had to go and buy some, not used to this as every all inclusive we had been to before provide towels. They would also not make a call from reception for us to confirm our transfer for the following day i also found this a little odd. Sometimes its just those little things that make a hotel worth going back to and we didnt get any of that here. there were no hairdryers in the room or iron we took our own from reading previous reviews. There is a safe which you pay a daily rental and deposit on but expected this. The paying guests were definitely treated better than us ! Staff were as nice as they were allowed to be. The pool was small but the kids loved it. The beach and town were very close and both great. I would go back here only for location if it was without the all inclusive, that said there appeared to be at least 2 other hotel that shared the same beach area which may be a better option?

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank fosterfamily37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.

We regret that you do not like the all inclusive meals, we try improve them every year and satisfy all of our guests, but sometimes is not possible.

We take into account your recomendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the 3rd return for my family to the El Pinar. If you are looking for a holiday in a quiet, famiily resort in hot Ibiza this is the place for you. The apartments are basic but clean. Air conditioning is included free of charge which is a must in August. I wouldn't describe the kitchen area as anything other than a fridge and hob for a cuppa or to fry an egg. Towels are changed everyday, bed linen twice a week. My only critisism would be the bathroom, which is old and badly needs an update. Staff were very helpful and polite and any issues we had were resolved immediately and without any problems. The pool is a fair size and the location to a wonderful beach which literally you step down to from the apartments. The bar, restaurant and terrace overlooks the bay. We stayed on a self catering basis so are unable to comment on the all inclusive facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.

We take your recomendations into account and we hope see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at El Pinar from 14 August for one week, late booking. Pleasantly surprised with room after reading some reviews, large studio with excellent air conditioning. Kitchen a little sparse if any cooking required but as self catering means breakfast only for us and eating out at all other times, it was fine. I have to disagree with other reviews that self catering guests are given priority at the bar, we queued and had to wait with everyone else, wristband or not, queues were never that bad though at any time of the day. Ordered lunch a couple of times and it was always nice. Maids visited everyday and bedding changed every second day. Location is second to none and ideal if you have a mixed group that prefer beach and pool. Only downside as mentioned is that sunloungers by the pool are very uncomfortable! Would definitely recommend El Pinar and are considering returning back next year, which is something we very rarely do.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Than you for your opinion.

We take your recomendations into account and we hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A bit like the 'curate's egg'! Some parts fantastic - others poor. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just yards away from the beach and a few steps down into shallow water. However, within the confines of the hotel things deteriorated. The management seemed very selective in the rules they enforced eg no inflatables in the pool - usually up to about 20 could be seen at any one time; no smoking in the room - a terrible smell of nicotine greeted us upon opening the door and an ashtray in the room. Yet no shirts in the dining room was strictly enforced.
We had asked for a room with a balcony - yes we got one it was 18inches wide with no hope of a chair or table on it!
The previous comments about the food and the bar service arn't exaggerated. The food was almost always the same and lukwarm and the head barman seemed to delight in ignoring the all-inclusive guests, preferring to serve paying guests, I presume in the hope of accumulating tips!

We had hoped that this resort would be the answer to our ongoing discussions as to whether to go 4-5* all inclusive or a more relaxed self catering - I thought this was neither one or the other.

We shall probably return to Cala Llonga but in all likliehood will opt for a more relaxed self catering accommodation without feeling like 2nd class citizens.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony are in the block nearer the pool. The four story block is across the road and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.

We regret that you were not happy with us.

It is true that the inflatables are not allowed in the swimming pool or it is not allowed smoke into the room and, if our staff relaized, they tell these persons off, but not always they see the offenders.

I regret that you did not like all inclusive meals, we try to improve them every year and satisfy all of our guests but not always is possible.

We take your recomendations into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The El Pinar is situated on one side of the bay overlooking the sea and the hills opposite. When we got to the hotel our room wasn't ready so we had a drink at the Bar's terrace looking out to the beautiful views.The location is perfect, a few steps down to the lovely beach!! When we eventually got to our room, we were pleasantly surprised, we had booked a one bedroomed apartment, as i went with teenage grandson and daughter. The room was huge, with good sized balcony. The room had A/C and a ceiling fan, so had no trouble keeping cool. The rooms were spotless, maids came daily. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. A couple of the bar staff were very friendly and welcoming We went self-catering so cannot comment on the food. Its the perfect place for families. I would definitely return, we had a great holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trickytrees010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your opinion

We hope see you agian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great value for money. We were in studio block. Room good size on first floor facing the rear which overlooked trees and shrubbery had a decent sized balcony which we were able to sit out on. Went all inclusive and although choice was limited the food was good quality and drinks for all in served from 11am to
11pm. Fantastic location and all staff very friendly and approachable. Only criticism is sunbeds around pool which were uncomfortable and many were cracked, also not enough parasols. Overall excellent holiday and would definitely go back to el pinar.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasnddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAUPARCHOTELS, Propietario at El Pinar Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your custom again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Llonga
2.1 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#10 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,859 reviews
4.8 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ses Veles Apartments
Ses Veles Apartments
#4 of 5 in Cala Llonga
49 reviews
4.8 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
11.0 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pinar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pinar Aparthotel

Address: C/ Monte Aconcagua s/n, 07840 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Llonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Llonga
Price Range: $49 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pinar Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Pinar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pinar Aparthotel Hotel Cala Llonga
El Pinar Aparthotel Cala Llonga, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing