We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it so much we keep going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Globales Montemar Apartments
Reviewed March 25, 2009

this is our 4th time of going to ibiza and i have to admit at first i was worried thinking night clubs drunken teenagers but it was nothing like that the appartment was spotless we had entertainment every other night the staff allthough had changed were friendly and nothing was too much the beach is beautiful and clean and you can get boats to almost anywhear on the island a must to visit is the hippy market the local shops are great they had everything we needed and we loved going to the up and in for our meals great prices and plenty of food there is a chinese resturant and will change the menu to suit you i wanted a maliboo and they had none but a member of staff went out to get a bottle just so i could have the drink i wanted yes there are ants but not in the rooms they are spotless if you like your food well done as i do you need to explaine as the spanish love there meat raw but once you explaine they will do your food exactly how you like it all i can add is if you want the peace and quiet and beautiful cenery you will get it and if you want the night life its only a ride away best of both worlds i have been other places but the montimar and callionga are the best ive been to and will keep going back you will enjoy it

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Globales Montemar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2008

Having lost a holiday to Tenerife with XL 8 days before we were due to go on holiday, we rushed to book a last minute holiday and thought we had got a bargain deal. Should have stayed at home to be honest. Apartments were ok but up hundreds of steps. The rain fell for 4 days and the lounge area flooded as the water came through the window. The toilet would only flush ocasionally. The food was fairly repetitive although edible and when it rained the pool bar did not open so nowhere to get a drink or snack between meal times. I guess Ibiza is lovely in the sunshine but I shan't be rushing back. All in all, with a 9 hour overnight delay stuck in the airport due to a technical fault with the aircraft, I wish we had stayed at home and saved the money. Still, you can't win them all!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennygCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Montemar Apartments Calla Longa Ibiza
9/09/2008

Arrived at the apartments at dusk . very disinterested check in staff. given a small map to find our room and as it was dark and not very well signed , it took over 20 mins to find room. Apartments are accesses by the patio doors so people,as I , were looking originally for a front door. We were sent to "i" block which meant climbing 76 steps with 2 cases to reach. Kept awake by family above partying until 3am. Moved to "c" block next day. Much nicer having recently been refurbished .Charge for room safe 24 euros a week,extortionate! Interesting nightly entertainment although repeated. Food o.k. but same most nights. Hotel staff very racist in my opinion, could not do enough if east european but not interested in other nationalities.
Ten minute walk into town but fifteen back up steep hill. Spar market 5 minutes down hill. Very quiet area and would suit families. Would not recommend these apartments to anyone who is used to the comforts of home. Bed sheets changed once a week and towels only changed twice.
Will not be returning there again. But Cala Longa has a variety of good restaurants and pubs and the beach is nice but windy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank giggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Like most people, we read all the reviews and were thinking "what the hell have we done booking here"

However, we had a great time, so for people going to this place, read on,

Ants
Yes there are ants, hundreds of them but none in the room and none by the pool or resturants, only were you would expect to see them, in the woods or within the gardens.

The Room
Our room did smell, and fearing the mozzies we didnt want to open the windows, if you have a faint nose then book some where else, you do get used to the smell in the end and you dont notice it. The room was very clean but basic, we got what we paid for.

Hills
Loads, if your not fit, dont book here or you will be stuck in your room for the duration, this is not a fault with the hotel, it is simply the landscape, very very hilly, first holiday that I have lost 6lb and not put it on. My grandad thinks he is fit, he is not wheel chair dependant but if he were to book here he would not manager, bear that in mind guys

Staff
Very friendly indeed, will do anything to help you, reception staff 100%, bar staff 100% entertainers we ok too

Entertainment
We were not that impressed, the hotel buy in its shows for the majority of the week, we had a famous lady boy called miss karla, she / he was rubbish, we were not impressed, we had a magician, he was crap, there were some dancers called african footprint, they were really good and there was some singers called the tempations, awesome! The entertainment staff are very hard working but can get on your nerves come the end of the week.

Things to do:
The Hippy Market - Es Cana
Over rates, busy and over priced, dont waist your time!

Evissa (ibiza) The town
The old town - Great views, very steep but a great day out

The new city - Little shops selling over priced goods, avoid

The Water Park @ Playda De Bosa
Dirty, over priced and nasty, avoid

hints and tips
When the bus pulls in to cala longa, it always changes it number so when you see a 15, dont just think that its your bus and queue as you will miss your bus and have to wait an hour for the next.

Overall, hotel is ace, area as ace

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank simon_howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Have just come back from a weeks stay at montemar and would say it is pretty average. Had some trouble checking in as we arrived at 10.45 am to find that our rooms were still occupied and that they would not be ready for us to use until They offered us a room to store our luggage which was just a basic store room with no other facilities and smelt of damp. Reception staff were very unhelpful at this time. We eventually checked into the room at 2pm, and had no further problems throughout the rest of our stay. The rooms and balcony area were quite small as we were on the poolside but were adequate for what we needed and were very clean.
The hill down to cala llonga is very steep but manageable if you are reasonably fit and healthy. I really enjoyed my holiday and would return to cala llonga and the montemar appartments in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 123han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We had a great time at the Montemar Apartments despite me reading some pretty bad reviews beforehand. My wife had booked these up and having read some of the reviews here I did my fair share of moaning only to be proved completely wrong on arrival.

Apartment was big and clean, balcony enormous. It was up some steps but we went with our 1 and 2 year olds and didn't find this a problem. As for the walk up from town, yes its a bit of a hill but as I was doing it with a double buggy its nowhere near as bad as some people make out and I'd seriously question these people's fitness levels if they really found it so unbearable!

The pool area was great, a lovley pool actually and toddlers pool brilliant for the little ones. Evening entertainment pretty good if a little loud in you're chilling out in the apartment. Wouldn't really recommend the food, did the all you can eat lunch but wasn't great if not a good deal. Cala LLonga itself fairly expensive and was surprised that things so pricey even in a family resort in Ibiza but this more to do with rubbish exchange rates really.

Last but not least, no ants!!! Well, saw a couple here and there though it soon became a running joke when we did see one after reading what some people have wrote here.

Moral of the story is don't believe everything on here or you'll run the risk of spoiling your holiday before you even get there as I almost did.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krislLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Returned from Montemar Apartments yesterday evening 24.08.08 .... First holiday we have ever been on and not wanted to return home.

Having read some of the reviews on other websites was more than a little concerned about this place, The Montemar Apartments have had a lot of bad reviews. We were a group of 4, 2 adults & 2 teenager girls. Our apartment was in block D, admittedly it was a very small one bed apartment, and on reflection not a good idea with 2 teenage girls, but lets face you dont go away to sit in a room all day and night its really only somewhere to sleep, wash and change in!!! We arrived in the early hours of the morning, the staff at reception were very helpful and as it was dark showed us to our room. We had gone self catering, but this was working out so expensive we opted to go all inclusive, as had number of other people. We were only at the Montemar for a week and wish we had booked longer it has a lovely pool, plenty of sunbeds, which whilst we were there, was no problem getting a sunbed at anytime of day (a first for us, every year we have been away we have ended up buying airbeds to lay on around the pool).

Montemar is at the top of a Hill called Everest, and then up another hill called kilimanjaro, but dont let that put you off, im not a walking person but it wasnt that bad, but not for anyone not mobile ... The views of the pine trees all around you are wonderful. Yes there are Ants ... lots of ants we didnt hav any in our room til our last day, and we went prepared with a bottle of ant spray, they are so small, a quick zapp of spray and they were gone, and you have to expect insects your up in pine trees.

The Beach is about a 10min walk down the hill, I didnt read anything before going but whilst we were on the beach 2 children were stung by jelly fish, in the space of seconds. We were told after they have flags on the beach to warn you, a Red Flag you cant go in the water, a Yellow Flag is enter at your own risk and a Green Flag is all clear, having said this we didnt see any flags the day we were there and the girls said there were loads of jelly fish in the water when they went in, they didnt go back in,once they knew people had been stung.

Entertainment team ... Vikson and Burray (aka Borat! its a very nice) Brilliant, these pair work so hard, and are always so full of energy, something for everyone, games during the day, music around the pool, evening entertainment booms for the kids, bingo, followed by a variety of shows each night to suit everyones needs. Bar staff brothers Semi & didnt find out his real name the girls called him Blanco. Semi is not a smiley bloke, more mean and moody, but was fun trying to make him crack a smile ....his brother is the happier one.

We will definately return to the Montemar next year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wobbles5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Llonga
7.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
#16 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
923 reviews
11.9 mi away
azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II
azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & ...
#32 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
923 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,806 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pinar Aparthotel
El Pinar Aparthotel
#3 of 5 in Cala Llonga
671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#11 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Montemar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Montemar Apartments

Address: Calle Monte Kilimanjaro 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Llonga
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cala Llonga
Price Range: $105 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Globales Montemar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic island, white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, romantic sunrises, these are the memories we will take home from this magnificent place. Located on a hill, surrounded by hundred-year old pine trees and a beautiful view of the mountains give the complex an especially relaxing atmosphere. This beautiful holiday complex is located in Cala Llonga, Ibiza, and is 500 metres from a beautiful sandy beach. 29 studio-apartments, 22 one-bedroom apartment and 63 two-bedroom apartments. All with balcony or terrace, equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool y another independent pool for children, tennis with extra charge, entertainment program for adults and children with evening shows.I ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Globales Montemar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Hotel Cala Llonga
Montemar Ibiza
Apartments Montemar
Globales Montemar Apartments Cala Llonga, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing