We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Montemar Apartments
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have spent a pleasant week at this complex. We were self catering and had a two bed apartment. As we were self catering we did not really sample the food we did however eat breakfast a couple of times as it was only 6 euros per person. The breakfast was like any other buffet breakfast you would get abroad with a selection of European breakfast with a selection of cold meats, cheese and breads, also there was a hot selection too but the bacon is not English bacon but personally I don't go on holiday and expect all English produce. The pool was lovely and big and our apartment was perfectly adequate for our needs, I know people moan about the décor but you are on holiday and not living in the room or apartment! In my opinion if you don't pay the earth for a holiday don't expect the earth when you get there, the only complaint about the apartments is they don't have air con, but we just slept with the windows open. I think we were lucky about the steps up to our apartment as they were not that many. This hotel is built into the mountain so that is why there are steps. The walk into Cala Llonga is only 5 minutes down the road and the resort is a lovely little bay. There are buses Santa Elauria and a ferry to Es Cana. As we were self catering we out all the time we were only in the complex during the day as we went out every evening. The staff in the resort seemed friendly and all in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hi! Montemar

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJam1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 576 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with an open mind due to all the good and bad reviews. As 2 families holidaying together we phoned twice to request rooms next to each other and was told yes we would be. However, upon arrival we was told 1, that was no longer possible, and 2, only one room was ready so 1 family had to wait 3 hours until theirs was. We were both given rooms right at the top (m block and l block), 110 steps!!! We are both quite fit families but did find this a real struggle everyday, especially with a buggy.
The rooms are very basic. Balconies are nice and big. Water ran out twice so be quick when showering!! Towels only got changed once and apartments only got cleaned once. In need of a serious update but it's only for a week or so, so you make do.
Pool is fantastic, kids lived in it!! Although it is very deep and even in the shallower end it still came up to my armpits! Baby pool is ok for younger children. Kept clean and tidy although last couple of days we did find plastic cups in the pool that someone obviously couldnt be bothered to put in the bin. The entertainers were ok, but really did work hard at trying to get people and kids involved, so hats of to the 2 girls. Our kids liked them!
The hotel itself is situated at the top of a hill, about a 10 minute walk away from the beach. So going is fine as its downhill but coming back!!! But to be honest we didn't mind it in the evening after stuffing ourselves with dinner!!
Cala llonga is absolutely beautiful. The beach is fantastic and perfect for children, with a play area too. A gentle slope in to the sea, so quite safe for little ones. Be aware of jellyfish though, they all came in to the shore on a cloudy day and my little one got stung 3 times. The lifeguard was brilliant though, cleaning the sting, and as soon as she realized, the jellyfish flag went up. A few restaurants to choose from (flippers was lovely!) and enough shops to have a browse in the evening. While we were there they had a week of fiestas, including fireworks, beach activities, dancing, and a party on the beach one night, which the kids loved with all the music and lights on the beach in the dark!!
Overall it was a lovely holiday, the weather was gorgeous, loved cala llonga but wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ok, I am not a moaner , I'm aware this is a 3 star complex , and I'm happy to stay in basic accommodation but overall this place should be at best 2 star but deserves 1 star !

We were lucky enough to be in block A so not too many steps but my son his girlfriend and 10 month old baby's apartment was right next to sewage that smelt disgusting morning noon and night!

The cleaners are dam right lazy , we had to ask for a change of towels by day 4 because they hadn't been changed , the apartment was cleaned once during our weeks stay and by cleaned I mean they empty the bin and mop the floor with a stinking mop! No bed linen change!

The staff are ok but are not helpful , we asked about go karting and they didn't know where it was!!! Good job they have a small wi fi area!

We went self catering but paid for breakfast and tea once ! Average edible food but not great ! Be aware that if you are SC you don't get an oven just a 2 ring hob and microwave! The local supermarkets are ok for basics but we paid 12 euro each way to go to a bigger one in Santa eluliA which was cheaper !

The pool area is lovely and tbf clean but the entertainment is dire almost non existent except for a couple of girls that entertain the little ones day and night

As I write this , I am sat in the wifi area and cannot wait to get on that plane at 3.05 am tomorrow morning! We arrived early hours Saturday morning yet we had to be out of the room at 11am today , we asked for late check out due to having a ten month old baby with us which they told us on Monday would be fine, but went down to pay 35 euro to keep room only to be told no rooms available !

Cala longa itself is ok, the beach is nice but the town is very small and not a great deal of shops !! Oh and the walk back up is a killer but we were aware of this prior to holiday

Overall not the best, please believe the negative reviews because they are true, this is a honest review , I am not fussy, I knew we would not get 5 star for 3 star prices but I Would NOT recommend this place to anyone and certainly wouldn't come back! Tbf it was made worse by poor weather on some days but even in glorious sunshine we wanted to be elsewhere !

Hey ho here's to booking next years holiday in the Greek isles with a minimum 4 star rating !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyboop39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this as we were taking a 12 year old. We got an apartment right at the very top of the complex.....80 steps! We were ok with this but do be aware of this if you are not happy climbing steps!! The complex is in a Pleasant location and looks ok. The staff seemed friendly enough but the information they provided stating the bed linen is changed once and towels 3 times a week was wrong!! They didn't change the bedding at all! The apartment could have been cleaner too! we were aware it wasn't a 4/5star and you get what you pay for.. But did expect it to be properly cleaned!..The pool area was clean as was the pool but DON'T go if you are a couple....too noisy !! Food was .....average....

The complex is walking distance to a lovely beach and cala llonga is lovely..so all in all we had a good holiday but we wouldn't go back to the Montmar again....even with children....sorry!!

Room Tip: If you don't like steps ask for a block lower down but beware of noise from pool area where ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well if you have young children youll be fine here... lifeguard 10-6, entertainer in the evenings and crap pop music blaring out the speakers all day and all night.
However if you are a young couple I wouldnt recommened it because of the above comments. Drove us nuts! We have kids but didnt have them with us so its not like we hate them but it was like a constant Nickelodian channel.

Breakfast was a good english buffet style but very greasy so stuck to the croissants and boiled eggs.
They made a pack lunch for guests that had paid all inc and were out for the day.
I asked for a towel and the receptionists said no!
Rooms are dated and tireed.
TV channels are all spanish or german rubbish - no music or radio at all.
There was actual blood on the base of the bed - not on the sheets or anything.
Room cleaned every other day.
Generally friendly staff.
Generally a clean hotel - I saw no ants or cockroaches etc. But then we wernt there all that often!
It is up a hill, but after eating and drinking all that rubbish I was gratefull for the effort that was needed to get back!
Security guard at night.
Dont beliee what the receptionists tell you about the buses - she lies!
Area info:
You need a bus to get to Ibiza (Evissa) Town or San Antonio. About 3euros each and about 45 mins BUT coming home at 2am is a bit more tricky - taxi is approx 15-20 euros each way and San Antonio about 30 euros.
The beach is lovely here. Get a boat over to furmentura island - seriously worth it - and rent a bike to get about there.
Restaurants - defo get to EL DESSO - mexicn fusion restaurant at the end of the street round the corner from the bus stop. Great chilled music and atmosphere - no plastic chairs!
Defo go to RESTAURANT SOS - great for Pella
Defo go to FRANKIES for breakfast

Room Tip: They have good double glazing - we were by the pool and still managed a siesta in peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robagsgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff here were all really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a lovely area with a beautiful beach close by. There are also buses to other parts of the island, i would advise going to Eivissa and some other beaches.

Some people have complained about it being up a hill which it is but it really isn't a problem and not far to the beach, i had no issue with this and i wouldn't say that i am by any means fit!

the downsides to this hotel are the noise.. after breakfast there is blaring awful music all day until about midnight..,. it is just too loud and too cheesy so i really couldn't sit by the pool for long. Another thing is, during the week we went by the time we got up at about 9am, most of the sunbeds had towels on them which is common, however no one seemed to go on the beds, they just left their towels there all day so that was really annoying and arrogant.. the hotel should have dealt with this issue as it is unfair on people who want to actually stay by the pool and can't due to people hoarding the beds all day without even being present.
ivities for kids but
the food is awful and basic, they NEVER clean the rooms.

It is in a lovely location, i liked the hotel itself and didn't have a problem with it being basic. a taxi to Eivissa costs about 20 euro.

It would probably be good for families as their are lots of kids there and activities for kids but not ideal for anyone else due to noise.

Room Tip: We were by the pool.. easier to reach but noiser! As long as you are not at the very top i don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollyRose600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lets start by saying we booked this hotel on advice from Coop travel agents as we have a disabled child who can walk short distances but struggles with steps etc.
We had requested a room closer to the pool which is the flatter area we knew there was a hill to the beach area of cala llonga.
When we arrived we had a ground floor room but in block I which meant that we could no use the wheelchair at all due to the steps and no ramps to get to apartments. (In fact the few ramps in the resort are very steep and difficult to use with a wheelchair).
The most annoying thing in fact was that no one helped at all with our luggage ! Those stps and no help was really frustrating.
Once in the room It is certainly basic, 2 star at best. There were 6 of us , 4 kids aged 13 down to 7.
The room was not set for 6 only 4 we had to request a camp bed and extra linen which arrived but in reality my son just put his mattress on the floor and never used the camp bed as it kept collapsing! The rooms are clean but very dated....I stayed in Yugoslavia twenty five years ago and that was the look this place had! The fans are a must the rooms are not airy at all and the kids in the front area didn't even have these.

We went half board the food was ok for the kids enough to choose from for them with salad every night available and plenty of fresh fruit. Breakfast was only warm (if you're going to serve baked beans they must be hot) but the kids seemed happy and we ate out a few times as well the food in town was great as we're the cocktails.

The pool was clean and warm , we managed to get loungers but lets be honest the hotel rooms said no reserving but towels were always already laid out by 8am and the staff did nothing about this so to get loungers for a group of 6 we had to copy others and get down early. The Kids loved the pool and the animation girls running activities who did a good job of getting the children involved.

Cala llonga itself is a really family based resort nestled in the hills and cove...we went down to town each evening so can't coment on the evening entertainment. The hill walks did get easier but it's was far too difficult with the wheelchair if you are disabled in any way do not stay here.

I advise taking the boat to Ibiza town and Santa euliala we had a couple of fun trips here which we're a good break from the pool. We had a good holiday but the accommodation was just a little too basic and the hill a challenge for the wheelchair...perhaps the advice we were given was not the sharpest.

Room Tip: As close to swimming pool area as possible lthough these seemed noisier later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Llonga
1.7 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pinar Aparthotel
El Pinar Aparthotel
#3 of 5 in Cala Llonga
692 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala Llonga Playa
0.5 mi away
Palladium Hotel Cala Llonga
9.2 mi away
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar ...
#3 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Montemar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Montemar Apartments

Address: Calle Monte Kilimanjaro 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Llonga
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cala Llonga
Price Range: $84 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Globales Montemar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic island, white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, romantic sunrises, these are the memories we will take home from this magnificent place. Located on a hill, surrounded by hundred-year old pine trees and a beautiful view of the mountains give the complex an especially relaxing atmosphere. This beautiful holiday complex is located in Cala Llonga, Ibiza, and is 500 metres from a beautiful sandy beach. 29 studio-apartments, 22 one-bedroom apartment and 63 two-bedroom apartments. All with balcony or terrace, equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool y another independent pool for children, tennis with extra charge, entertainment program for adults and children with evening shows.I ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Globales Montemar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Hotel Cala Llonga
Montemar Ibiza
Apartments Montemar
Globales Montemar Apartments Cala Llonga, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing