We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“superb wee hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Cala
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superb wee hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we had a problem with our accommodation after arriving in Benidorm after 12 at night. we headed straight for hotel la cala as we saw the wee light going on and off. we were desperate for some-where to sleep as we had 3 kids with us. we were delighted when the concierge said they had room for us but it would be 2 separate rooms. we were just happy for some-where to sleep. the rooms were lovely. the place was spotless and the staff were happy to help. check out time was 12 but since we had further problems with our tour operator and had to stay an extra night, the rooms that we were in were unavailable but we were given another 2 rooms. they let us move right in rather than go away with all our luggage and come back at the check in time of 4 pm. we got fresh coffee tea n toast croissants etc in the morning and although there wasn't much choice the stuff on offer was good quality. we will definitely be staying here again when we go back to Benidorm

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee-ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear lee-ann g,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you had a good impresion of your stay although you found us accidentally. We hope to see you again, now that you know where we are.

Best regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    59
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
135
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in late August. I have to say that it was difficult for me to write this review as it is the first 2 star hotel I have stayed in for ages. I keep comparing it to other hotels I have stayed in, but thats not fair, as they mostly were 4 or 5 star hotels.
Anyway, here it goes.
The location of the hotel is second to none, as it is practically on the shoreline. There is a small roadside entrance to the hotel, but once inside, the building has a brand new elevator, so no hassel...
The room we stayed in were basic, but clean, and had a big balcony - terrace towards the sea and street below, and great views. (304)
Aircondition is free, and worked flawlessly. The hotell also offers free wifi, and the connection was good, though a little slow.
If Your hungry in late hours, they also offer a small selection of sandwiches, hamburgers brought to the room - nice!
The personell in the hotell were all serviceminded and helpfull - thats always a plus..

We were also offered a private parking space on the hotel premises for 5€ a night, its a steep entrance up from the ground level, at the end of the building, but it was no problem. Tip: if You need parking, make arrangements when You book, as it only holds a few cars. (The parking possibilities outside the hotel, or in the area in general is horrific - there are none, as they are all occupied - keep this in mind having a rental)
The premises also has a bar and a taverna like establishment in the ground floor, who serves You what You need of booth beverages and food, to fair prices and with a smile.
The hotel also have a roof terrace with a magnificent view over the bay, with a 60 inch flatscreen tv, cabled internet, and seating arrangments.

Are there room for improvements? well, though it is a 2 star, I might be carefull writing this, but still....
In my opinion they could fill the minibar, there were only 2 small bottles of water - they will make more money from it..and I will have the choice in selections..
A water boiler with some small selections in coffe and tea would be nice to have in the room...

They offer laundry service, that is seldom seen on a 2 star hotel, but....Seriously, this "service" need to be revised. Charging 5€ for washing a towel, or 7€ for a shirt, and then it takes all in between 48 to 72 hours to get it back depending on if its weekdays or weekend - sorry to say, but this is daylight robbery, You can buy a new shirt or towel for the same price - and don´t stay 3 days to get it!!

The breakfast was not much to brag about in my opinion, as I didn't se any ham, eggs, "jamon serrano" or any form of vegetables- only the basic bread, toast, jam....There are certainly room for improvement here...I would call it limited breakfast, not breakfast.

The hotel has a pet allowance policy, and in my mind I cant understand why. We had a dog next door, it barked and woke us up early in the morning. In my mind; hotels are for people, kennels are for dogs. (We do have 2 dogs at home, so its not that I bear a grudge towards pets, I just don´t think they should be accommodated in a hotel) As a dog owner, I am also familiar with the fact that some people are terrified for them, no matter the size......

Despite the above comments, our impression was that this hotel have to be the best 2 star hotel we ever stayed in, and in our mind surpass several 3 star hotels we stayed at, so we can surely recommend it!! If we go to Benidorm again, I would certainly stay in Finestrat instead of Benidorm, and definitely at La Cala!

Room Tip: Get a high floor balcony room (3rd floor) towards the sea or street - they both give You a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norway68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Norway68,

Thank you very much for recommending Hotel La Cala and for your review. We appreciate that you feel we are better than a 2 stars hotel and we take note of all your comments to make improvements in the future, your point of view really helps us.

Hoping to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and found it very clean and tidy! Travelling with my wife and 12 year old boys our room was spacious enough and had comfortable beds! Great view of the lovely beach! Went to the Bar at night and found the staff really friendly with a great view as well! Breakfast was adequate with the usual fresh croissant toast etc! We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future and highly recommend this lovely little hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gazzaflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Gazzaflem,

We appreciate your comment and your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers. Even you just stayed one day with us I can see for your wide number of comments that you are a very experienced traveller, so your words have a lot of meaning to us.
Hopefuly we can welcome you and your family any other time.

Kind regards.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at la cala hotel. Myself and my 2 children could not fault this little hotel. Super clean and super friendly, with a amazing sea view from our balcony.
It has the best location, right on the beach. Lots of pretty bars surround this lovely sandy bay, the sea was warm, great for family's, all Spanish.
We will be back thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijane101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Alijane101,

First of all, thank you for your words for the staff, and specially for the cleaning staff. Most of the people like you, who share their experience with us on Tripadvisor make this point of the hotel remarkable, and our girls really apreciate that.

Hope we can welcome you and your family again soon.

Kind regards.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just arrived back from this great hotel staff were helpful both before the holiday by answering promptly numerous emails and during our stay. The welcome was warm and the check in very efficient , the rooms 207 and 206 as promised had beautiful beach views. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever used abroad with fluffy pillows and spotless linen. The free wifi was an absolute treat especially with 4young women who cannot live without FB or snapchat.
Breakfast was fresh juice with fresh baked croissants or a choice of cereal or toast which was more than adequate. There was no nuisance noise at the hotel, and several great places to eat within 5 min walk. To get to benidorm was quite a haul on foot and hilly in parts but a great and regular bus service was available on the doorstep , buses ran back to the hotel right up until 3am and we used them regularly. €9 for 6 persons each way, so not expensive. The beach was directly on the door step so absolutely no need for a swimming pool. Sun loungers on the beach are pricey but well worth it as the sun shone from 9am until after 7pm when folks ere still enjoying the sea. I will most defiantly return to this hotel and highly recommend it. No entertainment at hotel but this was not required as my family are all 13 years and above . This was a plus for us as it meant not to many small children at the hotel, a more grown up feel to the holiday in general. Because we booked flights and accommodation separately it worked out about average price wise , certainly not the cheapest hotel, but offered all of what we required as a family to have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 207 and 206 both great sea views and no nuisance noise at night , black out curtains worked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Gerry M,

Thank you so much for your words. I really think your tips will help other people to know what they can expect from their visit and sure your tips about runing buses and prices are very helpful.

It was nice to have you here with your big family. We are happy to see that you already made your next reservation with us.

Hope everything it is well back at home!

Regards.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at this hotel which was a last minute break and I went by its trip advisor reviews and I have to say we had a wonderful time, I don't think I have ever stayed in such a friendly and clean hotel, it is only small but I think this affords it the personal touch. Our room was cleaned everyday to a very high stand, we had a sea view which was literally over hanging the beach and the sound of the waves at night was so relaxing. The staff were so helpful, yes the breakfast is basic but it's really all you need to start the day. The beach is busy but we always managed to have a choice of sunbeds. Everything is in walking distance, bars, supermarket (fridge in room) restaurants and a local market every evening. Tapas bars away from the front are a bit cheaper but overall I thoroughly recommend the place. We went into Benidorm old town and went to Bar Amigos which has a great review, we booked a table just in case, this was lovely location in a side street excellent food and the best Rioja ever - thoroughly recommend, we got the no 3 bus from the square there and back €1.50 each way. To sum it up - Wonderful week.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor with all the travellers. We are glad you had a good time at our Hotel and that you pleased the views, the area and the staff.. Thanks!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned from La Cala after another great stay. We are always made to feel so welcome and it's always nice to see the same faces each year when we return as they always provide a great welcome. Weather was slightly cooler than last year upper 20's rather than the 40 degrees we had on couple of days last year. We did walk to Benidorm one day and took the bus along one evening but to be honest we much prefer the slower pace of La Cala much more relaxing. Once again we enjoyed taking our breakfast tray onto the balcony and ate watching the 'beach regulars' claiming their spaces for the day. As many have said if you are looking for a small and friendly hotel which is beautifully kept and very clean and welcoming you cannot go wrong by staying here, we have noticed that more and more reviews are from Brits, when we first started staying there it was mainly Spanish guests. We once again had a great meal at Cafe Bar Nivi located near the Hotel Bali who does really nice tapas including a mean portion of Patatas Bravas and very nice home made tortilla. Cannot wait until we are once again e mailing to ask for our favourite room for next year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrpc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear jrpc35,

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor. We are happy to welcome you every year, and it is because of reviews like yours we are having more English visitors that prefer the quietness of La Cala.

Hope to see you again next summer!

Kind regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finestrat
6.0 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
6.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Sense Villajoyosa
Hotel Blue Sense Villajoyosa
#4 of 5 in Villajoyosa
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#31 of 194 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cala

Property: Hotel La Cala
Address: Avenida Marina Baixa 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Finestrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cala Hotel is located on the shore of Cala de Finestrat, next to Benidorm. It has 40 rooms very well equipped and really nice staff ready to make you having a nice holidays in a good atmosphere. Hotel allows pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Cala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cala Finestrat, Spain - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing