We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT BAD IF YOU WANT A 'QUIET' HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Floramar
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
knaresborough
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NOT BAD IF YOU WANT A 'QUIET' HOLIDAY”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and quite enjoyed it. The food was fine something different each time always nice and hot - had worse in much dearer hotels. Apartment was ok we had one under the restaurant and wasn't as noisy as we expected from previous comments but we do get up fairly early anyway. The apartment was cleaned daily linen changed regularly and it was nice to have a sitting room/bedroom and kitchen if we had needed it. We did find it nice and quiet in the evening as sometimes the entertainment wasn't what we wanted. The childrens 'disco' was alright but some of the other things weren't to our taste and the nights off were too quiet as there wasn't even a bit of music on those nights. We loved the tortoises and enjoyed the daily ( sometimes 2 or 3 visits) we got from them. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill and that was a bit of a trek in the heat but we usually went walking or to the beach in the morning and stayed on our little balcony in the aftenoons. The pool was fine always busy if you wanted to go there and plenty of seats and sunbeds. Would we return - perhaps if we had family with us.The surrounding area was lovely and the staff at the hotel were very nice - overall an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms under the hotel restaurant might not suit everybody but we liked it because it was quite p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamhknaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    143
    63
    27
    23
See reviews for
152
113
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

So bad it has prompted me to write my first ever review - this is the worst apartment I have ever stayed in in my life.

We stayed as a couple in a self catering apartment for one week in August 2012

The stench of dampness was so strong that it got into our clothes and made us feel lowsy. There were wood boring insects in the bathroom and milipedes etc. Thank goodness we only stayed for a week and not a fortnight. We could not spend any time in the room relaxing because of the dampness - this has to be below any tolerable standards.

The room was cleaned and bleached daily but this did not make us feel any better. The air con was a large ugly and noisy appliance which caused more condensation in the room. We used it to try to dispel some dampness from the air but it created condensation and we had to mop up the floor every time we used it.

My review is on room only to warn other travellers not to accept the rooms under the restaurant which are contained in a shaded courtyard area (no sun) where there is no privacy i.e the patio area is just big enough for 2 chairs and a little table with folk walking past. Also there is continuous screeching of chairs which acts as an early morning alarm clock as the diners start to eat above in the restaurant.

On a positive note, the surrounding area is beautiful!

Room Tip: dont accept any rooms allocated under the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
13 Thank trek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Galdana hotels

Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a 7 night self catering holiday at the Floramar hotel
Well fitted out apartments separate bedroom and a kitchen/dining/lounge area
yes the rooms decor may be a little dated but they are cleaned daily
and staff are very helpful and friendly.

We love this resort as there are some lovely long walks along
nature trails to several secluded bays with some spectacular view points along the way

resort wise there are several bars/restaurants and a lovely one just opposite
the Floramar excellent food the 2 times we went.

being self catering there are also several mini supermarkets within walking distance
to keep you stocked up on the essentials

all in all we will definitely be back next year

kind regards
A

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlecRaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have just returned from 11 day all inclusive stay at the Floramar. As others have mentioned, we were apprehensive about our stay due to negative reviews. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised - room was more than adequate, although not up to 4* standard we have experienced in other hotels. We thought that the food was of a good standard with more than adequate choices at all times. Plenty of room in the dining room, and around the pool with no rush for sun beds. This made for a very relaxing stay in a beautiful part of Menorca!
Made use of entertainment in neighbouring hotels if we felt like it, and the steep hill is really not that bad - exercise needed following all that food!
We have stayed in all inclusive hotels all over Europe, and feel that the Floramar is very good value for money. You cannot compare it to the likes of the Audax at the bottom of the hill, but then, you are paying a fraction of the price!!!!

Room Tip: Best rooms are 'sea/pool' view, although view of the sea is nearly obstructed by trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank angibabe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to floramar and was really disappointed. The bedroom furniture is dated and badly fitted and the beds are so uncomfortable I didn't get one nights sleep. Thought it would have been refurbished since our last visit. The entertainment coordinator was a real hitler. Every afternoon she took over the pool for water polo and put on loud music so there went your nice relaxing se esta. And every evening kareoke boring. But the best was when she argued with me when I asked her if a child could sing and she wouldn't let her how dare she. Never again goodbye floramar going to the other side of the bay next year !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andreaj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremeirchion, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

No sure where to start really. Having booked our holiday last year we were really excited to be going to Menorca as we had not been abroad before. I really wish I had read the reviews on Floramar before we booked. We thought (as we have 2 children) that going AI would save us money in the long term. HOW WRONG WERE WE?! After eating in the restaurant for 3 days we couldn't stomach the food any more. The smell of the same food daily was too much. We ended up eating out in some of the lovely local restaurants for the remainder of our 2 week holiday. So essentially we paid for all inclusive AND self-catering. Even the drinks at the hotel were disappointing. The coke was like coloured water. I did read some of the reviews here before we went and I thought that some people had been really fussy and were complaining unnecessarily. It turns out they were totally right in what they were saying and I am not a fussy eater! I cannot fault the apartment. It was roomy, clean and air-conditioned and had lots of equipment to use (which was lucky as we ended up making our own breakfast in there). The large balcony was good. The pool was disappointing as it was freezing cold. We had a lovely holiday in the end but it was not as a result of eating at the Floramar. Needless to say, we shall not be returning there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have just returned from 10day All Inclusive stay at Floramar with my husband and 13yr old son. Reviews were mixed so we were a little apprehensive... however - we were pleasantly surprised! Stayed in 1bed apartment which was very roomy and very clean with towels changed daily. Food was very good compared with other AI hotels we have stayed in previously - lots of selection, never a day where we could say there was nothing we liked. Staff very helpful and friendly speaking very good English too. The building itself needs a fresh lick of paint outside to cheer it up a little and perhaps the rooms could be updated too - like I said previously, it was very clean.Stephanie, the Animacion Coordinator was really bubbly and friendly and included everyone in the activities. The only couple of niggles we had with this hotel was 1) the 'grassed' area beside the pool really needs to be re-turfed/grassed and 2) the poolside/terrace furniture suffered somewhat from bird droppings from the nesting birds up under the poolside arches. All in all we had a fab time and would definitely returned to The Floramar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,451 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Floramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Floramar

Property: Aparthotel Floramar
Address: Costa des Mirador s/n - Urbanizacion Serpentona, 07750, Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Floramar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Floramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Floramar Cala Galdana, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing