We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of ILUNION Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Menorca
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Spent a week at the Confortel half board. It was a last minute booking through Booking.com. Some conusion at check in as the booking had not registered our children but that was dealt with swiftly.
The room was spotless and adequate for our family of 4, had a nice little kitchen area, microwave, fridge etc. The majority of the apartments had a sea view if distant. I do have to agree the beds were really hard
The Hotel was probably 80% spanish people, but that was fine with us there was always beds at the pool, no early towels out...just great. The pool had a lifeguard all day and inflatables and toys for the children, again very clean and tidy.
The restaurant was good, quite modern in decor, the only downside it did get very loud when it became busy as the sound bounced off the walls. Food was great, breakfast was pretty standard, cereal, pastries, bacon eggs etc. Evening meal there was always two choices of meat and a fish dish with rice vegetables and a variety of desserts. The staff worked exceptionally hard and were very friendly, Paco, Antonio, Melany and Rosa in particular ( Paco never has a day off !!).
The location of the hotel was at the top of the hill but as most reviews say you get used to the climb and its good exercise !. Cala Galdana beach was beautiful, you could walk right out into the sea. The resort is definatley for families was busy but not rowdy loved it.
One other thing to mention we had an excellent transfer with Sun Transfers.com brand new mercedes people carrier arranged the morning we flew out the service was exceptional and price was the cheapest available remarkable really.
We would return to the confortel it was a really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlhm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 527 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having just today returned from an eleven night stay (with my wife and two teenage sons) at the Confortel I thought I’d add my two bobs worth:
Cala Galdana in my opinion is a beautiful place with a lovely beach positioned in a stunning cove, the water is crystal clear and suitable for youngsters, there are plenty of sun beds available at a cost of 6 Euros each and for an extra 5 Euros you can have a brolly as well!, however, it is definitely not a lively resort and is best suited to families with younger children.
The accommodation consisted of a large bedroom, bathroom, living area and balcony: the bedroom had two single beds pushed together, sadly the mattresses were rock hard and became a bit irksome over the course of the holiday, apartment furnishings were also looking a bit tired. Air conditioning was extremely effective (and does not carry an extra charge) unfortunately the air con unit is idiotically positioned on the balcony floor and blows hot air directly onto anyone sitting outside.
The general condition of the Hotel was clean and the Staff were pleasant and helpful. I see from previous reviewers reports that there was an entertainment program around the pool at night, however, although there is a stage, for the duration of our stay it was not used for any shows whatsoever, in fact the hotel was quite subdued in the evenings.
The pool area is a very relaxing place to be, no one I saw ever failed to find a sun bed even if arriving at the pool late in the day, strangely, the sun beds became an irritation …they are flat and cannot be adjusted which we found to be quite uncomfortable after a while. There is also a Lifeguard stationed poolside for the whole day.
Oh and I think “that” hill deserves a mention: the Confortel is probably situated at the highest point of Cala Galdana it is easily surmountable by the reasonably fit but I can see it being a problem for the unfit, elderly, infirm or fat !!!
So…..would we holiday Cala Galdana again?............yes, but not with teenagers!!!
And if we did venture back would the Confortel be our destination? Probably yes…

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Cala Galdana is a fantastic resort, particularly for families, and this was a very good choice of hotel for our first week which we had B&B in a one bedroom apartments for 2 adults / 2 children.
It is at the top a hill but it is not particularly long ot steep and still only 5-10minutes to the beach.
Three restaurants and two supermarkets within 2/3 minutes walk.
Our room was great - sofa bed with pull-out bed under for the kids in the living area and a separate large bedroom for us (with 2 large single beds which were quite hard - would have preferred a double but you can see why they do this, not all guests are going to be married couples!) Both had a very efficient remote controlled air-con unit.
The living area had a small TV with about 4 English channels including BBC1.
The kitchen area was well equipped including a microwave, kettle and toaster. A good size balcony had a table and 4 chairs. True, the air-conditioning unit did blow warm air on the balcony but there was a simple solution - when sitting outside turn the air-con off!!
Breakfast was a great - a large choice of fruit, cereals, cold meats/cheeses with nice bread, hot bacon/sausages etc. + a good choice of pastries and cakes. The only niggle was the fruit juice that came out of a strange machine and didn't taste too good.
Can't comment on any other food as we ate out every evening - they mentioned a "pool BBQ" one day but on going to try it one evening found it actually took place at lunchtime!
The pool was really nice and large and whatever time of day you went there was never any problem with getting a sunbed somewhere beside it. There were several pool/games tables on the terrace above and a table-tennis table (borrow bats/ball from reception).
There was a bar beside the pool serving drinks/ice-creams and lunches and a mini-disco for 4-12 year olds at about 9.00pm but no other entertainment we could see.
All staff were very friendly and helpful - we had mentioned it was our anniversiary and arrived to a fresh fruit platter in our room (and sweets for the kids!)
The car park is not huge and if returning back quite late be prepared to have to park somewhere up the road.
So overall we had a lovely relaxing stay. True, the rooms are quite basic (and some of the furniture is showing signs of wear) but for the price felt it was very good value. Would certainly recommend and return again!

Room Tip: Those at the front overlook the pool and have the best views but are also the noisiest. Further bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Quiet location spacious rooms spotlessly clean a little way out of main centre but well located for supermarkets and lovely restaurants especially La Luna . Small pool better for smaller children than teenager but real oasis . Staff v willing to help and we upgraded to a room with glorious view across Cala Gardana bay. Not a cheap holiday but very safe and beautiful. Walk to Mitijana Bay for an alternative from main bay which is zoned well for swimming kayaks pedals etc. Snorkeling easy but can't expect many fish so close to crowded coast really .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyjumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our first time in menorca,and it really was a lovely holiday, the hotel staff are very friendly. The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views, so it's best to have the upgrade, food was plentiful, and very good. Cala Galdana is a very pretty place, but if you are looking for a bit of nightlife this is not the place for it, all the entertainment was in the hotel, and you do get a bit fed up with tribute bands. The whole resort seems to shut at eleven, so you do get a good nights sleep, great place if you have small children or are not bothered about late nights. Overall a nice restful holiday in a clean pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a nice view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival I was slightly disappointed as we had requested a room over looking to pool as you can watch the entertainment from your balcony which we thought would be really important as we have a small child but on reflection it was a blessing as it would have been too noisy. The rooms are basic but very clean and they have wonderful cleaning staff that my son adored. The only down side was the two single beds that were pushed together and not very comfortable. The pool area was great but again uncomfortable sunbeds that we you are unable to adjust. We took the breakfast offer of €12 per day for two and it was well worth it with a huge selection and very helpful staff. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk and yes it is up a hill but I'm not sure why this is an issue for people. Cala Galdana is perfect for families with young children and there are lots of bars with play areas and kids facilities. We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyBeachLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel has a very relax atmosphere, large reception area where you can use the internet for 4 euros an hr (very good price) lovely clean rooms with spectacular views of the bay if you are at the front of the hotel. Food is very good with an excellent selection for breakfast and evening meal. Entertainment in the evening not that great. would highly recommend this hotel for couples family's and the older generation.

Room Tip: the hotel has a spa with gym ( which i did not use) a friend has a massage which was very good, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Parc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,354 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,997 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Menorca

Address: Urb. Serpentona solar 18A, 07760 , Cala Galdana, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range: $50 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ILUNION Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ILUNION Menorca apartment hotel is situated in the privileged spot of Cala Galdana, with the best beaches of Menorca surrounding it such as Cala Galdana, Mitjana or Macarella. Cala Galdana is characterised for its accessibility and for its shallow, clean and crystal clear waters, which makes it the perfect place for families with children. It has 123 one or two bedroom large and comfortable apartments with terrace balconies. They have large balconies, a bathroom equipped with a bath and living room with an integrated kitchen, which is equipped with microwave, fridge, toaster, kitchen utensils, etc. If you are travelling with children (over 4 years old) you will be able to enjoy all of the activities of the Mini-club and the children's animation programs The hotel has a snack-bar, restaurant with buffet service, an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi in the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ILUNION Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Menorca Hotel Cala Galdana
Confortel Anabel Cala Galdana
Confortel Anabel Hotel Cala Galdana
ILUNION Menorca Cala Galdana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing