We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a lovely resort”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been back a week from this lovely hotel, we stayed for 11 nights.
We thoroughly enjoyed every part to our holiday! The room was small but very modern with amazing views (we paid for a sea view and were situated on the top floor) room facilities were great, free Safe, pool/beach towels, Free tea and coffee supplies, English TV channels BBC 1,2,4 and ITV 1 (handy for watching Wimbledon). Free Wi-fi is available around the hotel although it doesn't seem to work around the pool and works every now and again in your room, i think it depends on how many people are using it, however if you sit in reception the signal is excellent, we thought this was a nice touch as we have paid for this at other hotels. The pool was lovely and clean and we never had a problem getting a sun bed (unlike other hotels we have stayed in) but we did get down to the pool each day no later than 9 am. The restaurants were lovely we chose to eat in the Olivia on the 5th floor this restaurant was very modern and had a nice atmosphere, also a wider selection of foods. We were greeted most nights by Janis he was very friendly and helpful, we always had a jolly conversation. The food was lovely always hot (if not the chef offered to heat up). We used the spa on two occasions as we found it so nice and relaxing (22 Euros per person each visit) We also had a treatment each which was lovely. The entertainment was a little quiet at times for us so we opted to go down the road to watch some tribute acts (which was no problem). We were disappointed that we missed blankets on the beach we thought it was later. Next visit we will make sure we are there!
All reception staff very helpful nothing was to much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile! same applies to all staff around the hotel including cleaners and bar waiters/waitresses. We hired a Renault Twizy from outside the hotel this was great fun! 14 Euro's for one hour or 38 Euros for the whole day, we opted for the hour and drove around the lovely resort a few times. One day we hired a speed boat for 50 Euros with a 50 euro deposit we also hired a peddle boat for an hour 17 Euros, 2 sun loungers and parasol on the beach was 17 euros for the whole day. The beach is gorgeous lovely and clean, the sea was clear blue and sand soft and golden. Overall this hotel and holiday was amazing and we would return in a heartbeat! We are already thinking about booking for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelR194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mel,

It is wonderful to hear that another customer of ours had a great stay from all aspects including the bedroom facilities and customer service.

Thank you and hope to see you return.

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    532
    114
    27
    9
See reviews for
127
1,446
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Hotel Audax. We usually book 5 star hotels but as we are off on a big family holiday next month we decided to reduce costs for our break as a couple. I have to say I was a bit concerned as I do like nice things.
I had no need to worry! The reception area is nice and modern. It's not the sort of reception you would find in a 5 star but still nice.
The bar on the ground floor is lovely. It divides into a modern lounge area which is fab for relaxing, the bar and entertainment area which is also great and then the outdoor space with tables but also comfy seating. It all works really well.
Our room was lovely. Modern and very clean. It had a small balcony which we enjoyed. We paid extra for a sea view and I'm glad we did. The view was beautiful.
The pool area is very nice. The pool is great. The furnishings around the pool and at the pool bar are not luxurious but they are adequate. I would suggest that this should be the next area they upgrade as better furnishings here would really complete this hotel.
The Galdana restaurant on the 4th floor was not to our taste but the Olivia restaurant on the 5th floor was lovely. Light, airy, modern and a very good range and standard of food on the buffets.
The Spa is fabulous. Feels luxurious and very clean. The pool area is split into different sections. There's a 32 degrees area with various jacuzzi areas both indoors and outdoors. There's a 12 degrees plunge pool which is freezing. And then you are meant to go straight into the 38 degrees pool. It's quite an experience! There's a whole range of different shower experiences and a footbath. There's also a thermal area with about 4 different treatment rooms - saunas, steam rooms, etc.
So we were very happy with the hotel but what made it really special was the location and Jess! Jess is the entertainment coordinator and she does an amazing job. We are not the sort of people who normally join in with stuff organised by the holiday company we prefer to do our own thing but Jess organises activities that are low key and lovely.
We went on the photography walk which is about an hour and a half long. She led a group of about a dozen of us across the beach, along costal paths down to a deserted beach, etc. It was beautiful and we would never have found it on our own.
We also went to the cocktail masterclass at the pool bar where everyone is shown how to make cocktails and gets a chance to make one.
We went to the romantic spa evening. The spa is transformed with candles and rose petals. Everyone is served Cava and fruit whilst being serenaded by James - the resident guitar player/singer. it was just the loveliest experience. Towards the end of the evening everyone gathered in the outdoor pool/jacuzzi sipping Cava and listening to James. It was really special.
We also went to blankets on the beach. On Sunday evening blankets are laid out for us on the beach and again James plays and sings for us. It starts off small but people keep joining us as its so beautiful.
There's so much more I could say as there always seems to be something special going on organised by Jess.
The location is stunning. Cala Galdana is a small resort with a handful of shops and plenty of bars and restaurants. The river runs parallel to the main street and there are lots of boats moored on it. it's a lovely sight. Then there's the beach. It's beautiful. There are plenty of sun beds. It's busy but not too busy. It's nice and clean. The sea is crystal clear. It's one of the prettiest places I've been to.
We also went on a boat trip on the Beach Explorer. Again I highly recommend this.

There are some comments on here about the age of the guests at the Audax. It's an adult only hotel so it sort of follows that the people holidaying there probably have children who are now grown up so you wouldn't expect a young vibe. Whilst we were there I would say the age range was from 40s to 60s with a few either side but it didn't feel old and boring. It has a lovely feel and that's what we loved.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank primada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review; I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for you comments regarding the activities you can do in Cala Galdana, it is true we have a perfect location and people can do plenty of activities or just relaxing on the beach or by the pool!

We hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we spent a week here late may. the resort was very good, in fact perfect. The car hire from the resort (dont use Thomson twice the price) was very good value for money 40 Euro for 3 days.
The hotel was a decent hotel but did not live up to the hype. The rooms were comfortable but extremely small. If you are on the first floor, forget being asleep before 11pm as you are directly above the bar speakers. Not wanting to sound like a moaner, the hotel is not bad, just for what it is it is very expensive. The biggest plus point was Sky tv. It was let down by inconsistent lacklustre food quality and the fact that as an Adults only hotel, to be polite, it does attract an older clientèle.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs the rooms on the first floor the bar is loud and you are directly above the speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mrs Mooks,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an on line review. I was sad to read that you did not sleep well while your stay and would like to apologise for that, please, next time ask reception if you want to be higher up and far away from the bar and they will be happy to move you.

I really hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We can agree with other reviews and found this couples only hotel excellent . Although we have six grand children 8 yrs and under .... We wanted to experience a relaxing break and we were not disappointed. Thomson travel was excellent and we were lucky enough to travel on the new Dreamliner airplane both ways which added to excellent holiday. Cala galdana is v relaxing and we experienced a couple of nice coastal walks both east and west of the hotel but beware they are longer than scheduled and would recommend trainers or shoes with cushion soles !! Our room was on 7th floor overlooking bay and pool and wonderfully cleaned every day by Marta our maid who was lovely . We also agree the Olivia restaurant was best in so much it was more relaxing and had a good ambience . We did try the 4th floor restaurant a couple of times but thought it lacked atmosphere and was rather more formal. All in all this was a wonderful holiday and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Hazel,

What great comments, thank you so much. I was delighted to read you would recommend the Audax.

I really hope to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are regular travellers, usually to 5 star hotels in Tenerife. I was looking for something different for my husbands birthday. Although this hotel was 4 star it had a spa and was adults only, it also had fab reviews so I booked it. I have to say the hotel was far superior to all the 5 star hotels we have been in. On our arrival the hotel appeared bright airy and modern, our room was immaculate, staff were kind and friendly. The Oliva restaurant was our favourite in the hotel, food was well presented and really nice. We got a 3 day pass into the spa and it was well worth it, the spa was well equipped and really relaxing. Entertainment was great and bar staff, especially Mario very good and attentive. Cala Gardana itself is a beautiful bay. All in all we had an amazing time and will certainly be visiting the Audax again, I would strongly recommend it to anyone couple young or old who want to be treated very well and want a wonderful relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: We booked a premium and it was very modern and lovely but I saw the basic rooms and they looked real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseCowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your detailed and honest review. I cannot thank you enough for your kind words and recommendations.

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best wishes,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were contemplating a just average score but the quality and choice of food and the friendliness of the staff edged a very good score. As others have said the cost of the offerings from the spa are off putting and for this reason we can't comment on the service.

The rooms are comfortably furnished and the premium rooms offer that little bit extra and are cleaned each day to a good standard, pool towels are provided in the room which you can change twice more during a weeks stay. We were on the 5th floor and suffered some noise from the room above, but nothing outside or in the corridors, we had a restricted view of the pool but no sun on our balcony at anytime.

We would concur with others about the average age of guests, we are in out 50s and were at the younger end of the age range and the entertainment reflects this, there is only so much acoustic guitar you can take, whilst he is obviously talented after a while it becomes monotonous, piped out of the PA system round the pool all day and then in the evenings in the lounge, we needed something with variety so went to the Galdana Hotel where the acts varied each evening some good and some not so, but at least they were different.

The hotel has a no reserving sunbed policy for more than 30 minutes, I don't know why they bother if it is not enforced, if you leave it until later than 8.15am, good luck with the choice that is left, and I am embarrassed to say it is mainly the British, the Englishman who 'evicted' the old German couple after he came back after a couple of hours to find they had moved his towels should be ashamed.

We stayed half board, breakfast choice is good with plenty to suit most appetites, evening meals again to a good standard and the chef is on top of his game to ensure that the wait for service is minimal. The cost of items in the lounge is somewhat on the expensive side 7E for a bottle of Heineken !!!

Overall a satisfactory stay but nothing that gives a 'Wow' factor, will we go back probably not until we are a lot older !

Room Tip: Above the 5th Floor are the best for view and some sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am pleased that you encountered good service, however, I apologize if you found the entertainment not to your liking, as you can imagine we try very hard to satisfy everybody, but sometimes is a very difficult job. Anyway, I would be happy to hear your proposals, we are here to help you!

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife selected this primarily from reviews on trip advisor. I was a little sceptical as I am not a huge fan of beach holidays and especially with a tour company but really shouldn't have worried.
We were met when checking in with a glass of Cava which was a nice touch.
The room was fine, with two single beds which meant at least I get good sleep! and wasn't noisy at all. We didn't need the aircon as we were able to sleep with balcony doors open which kept it nice and cool.
The food is great, the choice of two good restaurants doing a buffet service, my wife is veggie but didn't struggle at all. Really attentive staff.
We used the spa which was good but to be honest if I went back I wouldn't do again, mainly because there is plenty to do in the hotel and Cala Galdana anyway.
It was also my wife's birthday whilst we were away and really surprised and appreciative of getting a bottle of cava, cakes and fruit kebabs - a lovely touch.
We went to quite a few of the organised activities. Jess who is the activities organiser is great, really nice girl who cares about making sure you are happy. James the resident musician is a talented musician and the music on the beach was great. That said there were some slightly questionable music acts but we had a great night with a band in the pool bar who were really good.
We will almost certainly go back and from the people we talked to all seemed to say the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teabags-suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to read you had a great holidays with us.

My team and I look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,026 reviews
18.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
4.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
6.3 mi away
PortBlue La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artiem Audax Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artiem Audax Adults Only

Property: Artiem Audax Adults Only
Address: Urb. Serpentona s/n, 07750, Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artiem Audax Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artiem Audax in Cala Galdana is located in front of the sea. The adults-only Hotel in Menorca has become a meeting place where you are allowed to relax. It is exclusive for adults, couples, friends or lovers. From there you can enjoy one of the most spectacular beaches of the south coast of the island of Menorca, Cala Galdana, and nearby pristine beaches of Macarella, Macarelleta or Mitjana. Surrounded by an Area of ​​Special Interest (ANEI) and full of "fresh" people, the Audax Hotel Menorca is willing to make a stay an experience to remember. A terraced area, solarium, relaxation area and the best panoramic views of Cala Galdana. The pool at the adults-only Hotel Audax is located on the 6th floor and is a luxury to rest in one of the comfortable hammocks. In high season we organize parties around the pool spectacular ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Artiem Audax Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audax Spa And Wellness Hotel
Audax Hotel Cala Galdana
Hotel Audax
Audax Minorca
Artiem Audax Adults Only Cala Galdana, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing