We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the can !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything more or less what it said in the brochure , etc . Typical Minorcan hotel with friendly staff and reasonable food , all the usual stuff !
Not exactly on the beach , but a pleasant outlook .
Two points which we didn't think were very good - A) The glasses in the bar , for beer or lager , were of the straight-sided British pub variety , and B) The pool was absolutely freezing , and must surely have been refrigerated . This was , however , the source of some amusement in watching people's reaction as they ventured in , as there was always a pause when the water was about knee-high , often followed by a swift retreat !

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool don't really get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Keith,

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I appreciate your honesty, and your comments regarding areas for improvement, because it really helps us to get better every day.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We took a late holiday (20th October) which is something that we don't usually do. Our room was on the 4th floor to the front and left of the Hotel, with good views of the bay. It was clean and kept well supplied with tea, coffee and milk. We had no problem with the food, which was far superior to the 5 star Hotel further up the coast where we stayed last year. Of the 2 restaurants, the one on the 4th floor was much better than the one on the 5th floor which we found very dark. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only gripe was when we asked to see the indoor Wellness facilities and were shown them on a TV screen instead of a tour. Overall it was a quiet and restful week which we both enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne_Mike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Lynne and Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay!
I hope to host you as our guest again soon!

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here with Thomsons from the 5th to the 19th October which is about as late in the year that you should choose to visit Menorca for two very good reasons a) the weather is still warm enough to sunbath and swim but is becoming unpredictable towards the very end of the month, and b) the hotels are beginning to get ready to close down for the winter in the first week of November - which explains the complaints in other reviews from people who were on late holidays but does not excuse a hotel that is four star running out of wine or providing inferior facilities or services at the end of the season - management or Thomson care to comment?
The hotels setting at one end of the horseshoe bay of Cala Galdana was beautiful in fact the whole bay is beautiful with a broad sandy beach which slopes slowly and gently in to the sea making it really safe for swimming. Beach tip - if you are going to spend a lot of time on the beach instead of paying 16 Euros every day for a couple of loungers and an umbrella to the local council, extortionate in my opinion, buy a couple of plastic inflatable beach Lilo beds from the local shops, 9 Euros each and a beach umbrella for 5 Euros and just leave them there when you depart after the holiday. Still cheaper than paying 16 Euros a day!
Rooms in the hotel?, small but comfortable with all the usual facilities, mini bar, free safe and flat screen telly (please Mr or Ms Manager can you change one of the allocated English channels from Childrens BBC to BBC World News or something - adult hotel remember?). Most of the rooms allocated to Thomson overlook the pool area and the higher the better, seventh floor was good. Never any noise at night which was a blessing. The rooms on the other side of the corridor have a nice beach view and are obviously the more expensive option but probably worth the extra. The maid service was OK, the room and bathroom was kept immaculate and the only slight criticism was that sometimes it was mid afternoon before the room was serviced - maybe unavoidable when the hotel was full as it was when we stayed.
Food in the two restaurants was good, not exceptional, but good. Dinner choice was wide from fresh pasta to steaks cooked while you waited to prepared salads, soup. melon etc. etc. just spend some time looking around the buffets before you leap. Slight criticism is that complementary items tend to be at opposite ends of the dining room, e.g. the rolls for your soup are at the other end of the room so you have to take a good look around. Breakfast had a good choice of items, the usual cereals, different breads and rolls and eggs cooked any way you like from hard boiled to omelettes. Dining room staff were cheerful and helpful except for one older chef who carried a permanent frown when serving guests, but it had been a long season and most of the staff were still happy to serve you. Special mention should be made of the bar staff who were always cheery and provided a superb service no matter how busy they were, their good humour was evident night after night.
We're 70+ but our experience was that there was a good mix of young and old guests ranging from young Spanish couples on honeymoon to Brits and German couples in the hotel when we stayed. The atmosphere in the bar and terrace was busy, plenty of banter if you wanted it - I spent part of one evening explaining to a young couple next to us in the bar who Buddy Holly was as - that's how young they were!!. Some of the entertainment was good local talent, generally a small group or an accompanied vocalist. But some was too niche, they played what they wanted to play and if the audience didn't like it too bad. Still you didn't have to listen, there were other entertainments in other hotels and bars and as a last resort CBBC was waiting upstairs.
Cala Galdana is easy to get around it's all on the flat and the hotel lifts take you anywhere you would want to go in the hotel including the swimming pool levels so it's no problem if like me you have slight mobility issues. I could walk round the promenade to the other end of the bay, about 1 Km but could never consider attempting the reputed 200 steps or so up the cliff at the other end! Plenty of little café's to stop at on the way for a coffee or something stronger.
Acid test now, would we return? Yes probably, really restful place for a quiet holiday but not for ravers! Don't go too late in the season i.e. the last week in October or the hotel is apparently going to drop one of its stars just before it closes.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a high floor - 5 or above for the views. Ask if there are any beach view rooms, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1401Fixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I appreciate your honesty, and your comments regarding areas for improvement will help us to continually better the guest experience.
I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing consistent and friendly service. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, we do hope that you will be our guest again

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were at Audax Hotel on the end of October.
As we travelled with Thomson I was expecting real 4* hotel.
There were 2 restaurant but last 4 days one of them was closed. Food was served from previous day which was really disappointing . The room was comfortable but maid just made the bed and wiped taps and mirrors without hoover or moping floors for one week.
Also it was adults only hotel but I would call it retied only hotel as average age was 75+. Entertainment was a joke. It was bored every day. Thankfully we rented a car so we did not need spend every night there. I wouldn't recommend it to friends. Maybe we had made mistake to go there on the end of season but I think 4* means good service all the time not only during summer when is full.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beatris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Beatris,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had whilst you were staying with us. You are right, we want to offer good service all the time not only during summer when is full.


I hope to see you again at the Audax and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here the last week of the season. The hotel is very nice, comfortable, good food and some nice facilities, spa was great. The issues we encountered basically stem from it being the last week of the season. The hotel advertises two restaurants however only one was open. The open restaurant we had to queue to get into on two nights. The wine list was poor as much of it had sold out and some of the advertised offerings weren't available. When complaining to the hotel they did apologise with a bottle of cava. Having said that I would stay here again but earlier in the season.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have shaded balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

My apologies for the inconveniences we caused you closing down one of the restaurants, as I have said before, it is true that we want to offer good services during the all season, apologize for the shortfalls.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Perfect! Immaculately presented and kept.The rooms very comfortable indeed,we were on the 7th.floor overlooking the bay,going to sleep to the sound of the sea. Restaurants superb-we preferred level 4 and many thanks to the manager and his team for ensuring we had all we could possibly want.The resort is small with everything you need in easy walking distance.
The bay is beautiful-what more can we say-oh yes the pool was freezing, but we will forgive you that!
Thanks to the hotel and thanks to the Thomson team.
Richard and Ruth

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Richard and Ruth,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am pleased that you encountered good service and that you had time to enjoy the facilities.

I hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Have just returned from a very lovely week in Cala Galdana. I would agree with many of the positive comments previously posted about the Hotel Audax. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable; well equipped with kettle, fridge, air con (not used), safe, tv and wifi. Pool area was fine although seldom used with the beach and sea so close. For the first time in many years, went half board and the quality of food far exceeded my expectations (only dined in the 5th floor restaurant ). There was a wide variety on offer for dinner, with grilled meat or fish cooked to order. There were also salads, other cooked dishes, etc. Breakfast had enough choice to suit most palates.
The beach is on the doorstep as is the Cami de Cavalls - the round-island walk. We went on three lovely walks from the front door; wear good walking shoes rather than flip-flops. (D&R Brawn "Walk! Menorca" is a good buy).
Although towards the end of the season, some of the local bars were open. We went to the Alaska Bar for lunchtime tapas (and welcome beer after our walks). Really enjoyed the food.
As an observation rather than criticism, the hotel clientele were mostly straight, older couples; although friendly we felt that we were decidedly the only gays in the Audax village....

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view- it's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank redcurrantSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel, so, thank you very much for having chosen the Audax for your holidays and thank you also for your great review.

Kind Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,379 reviews
18.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos - Adults Only
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
412 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artiem Audax Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artiem Audax Adults Only

Address: Urb. Serpentona s/n, 07750, Cala Galdana, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range: $101 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artiem Audax Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artiem Audax in Cala Galdana is located in front of the sea. The adults-only Hotel in Menorca has become a meeting place where you are allowed to relax. It is exclusive for adults, couples, friends or lovers. From there you can enjoy one of the most spectacular beaches of the south coast of the island of Menorca, Cala Galdana, and nearby pristine beaches of Macarella, Macarelleta or Mitjana. Surrounded by an Area of ​​Special Interest (ANEI) and full of "fresh" people, the Audax Hotel Menorca is willing to make a stay an experience to remember. A terraced area, solarium, relaxation area and the best panoramic views of Cala Galdana. The pool at the adults-only Hotel Audax is located on the 6th floor and is a luxury to rest in one of the comfortable hammocks. In high season we organize parties around the pool spectacular ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Artiem Audax Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audax Spa And Wellness Hotel
Audax Hotel Cala Galdana
Hotel Audax
Audax Minorca
Artiem Audax Adults Only Cala Galdana, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing