We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveler rating
479
549
288
84
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
479
549
288
84
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar every night pool area evening entertainment fish abba tribute the main hotel half board rock face sea view lovely hotel plenty of choice reception staff sun loungers small balcony most nights lovely beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Six year old twin boys a five year old boy,my wife and I stayed in a two bed two bath apartment on second floor,we were very pleased with this apartment good size spotlessly clean(cleaned every day)very comfy beds good air con,2 tv's and kitchenette was a bonus including a good size fridge.
We were half board ,breakfast was great and the evening meals were fantastic(even tho kids eat pizza and chips every night they thought the pizza was as good as they have ever had).the diniing rooms were very clean and the waiting staff were top notch.
Great variation of food every night,we never once considered having a meal out of the hotel.
The kids enjoyed the mini disco and the main entertainment which started at 9.30 was of good quality and different every night,
The drinks waiters were very on the ball during the day by the pool and also in the evening during the entertainment.
Will defiantly be going back again this year for a week and will be going for two weeks next year

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterR5150AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We have taken our main holidays in Cala Galdana for about 8 or 9 years and always stayed at the Sol Gavilanas Hotel (later Melia). Following a major refurb the price to stay there for 2 weeks leapt up from last year by 60% !!
We always loved the hotel and it's location but we thought this unreasonable so we booked the Cala Galdana Hotel instead. We were apprehensive but we needn't have been. As soon as we arrived we relaxed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful (as were all staff ). The room was bigger than at the Melia. In our opinion the food was better. The swimming pool infinitely better with decent free beds. We saved a lot of money not having to pay €19 a day for dirty beds on the beach. Good entertainment at night as is no longer the case at the Melia. Near to free public car park. Any negatives ? Well the sea view not as good and the balconies are small. But are they worth a difference of £1200 ? I don't think so.
In summary I would recommend to anyone who is fed up with rip off prices at the Melia Hotel.....try the Cala Galdana. I doubt you will be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank johnjP2282ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Just got back from a lovely week in the apartments owned by hotel ! Food was lovely good choice ,puddings not so good samey each nice not much choice , could have done more on the derssert side if things. !!!! Now on to the pool if you want a sun bed then forget it they have this policy that the pool is open 9am until 7pm and dont you know it ,, guests waiting from 8am to reserve sun beds We went down at 9 am and every bed had a towel on it i counted 57 beds reserved and 3 guests in pool this happened every morning where it clearly states towels will be removed if beds are reserved ,, we could not got a bed until at least 4pm with only 3 hrs then left to sunbath as the pool attendant started to pack sunbeds away from 530pm banging them and stacking them up taking sun umbrellas up and generally making you feel very uncomfortable whilst trying to relax ,, then coming to you at 650 saying 10 mins left then its shut !!!!! This was so unrelaxing as all you want is to enjoy the evening sun , they move the beds to make room for the table and chairs for evening entertainment,, this however never started until 945pm each evening!! They could leave the one side of pool with beds until 8pm as tables were never full at 8pm ,, a number of guest complained each day and nothing seemed to be done!! So take this into account When booking this hotel ,, we were lucky we had the lovely beach just a stone throw away

Room tip: Apartments are best if you hace young children a lot quieter
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindydennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

lost the first attempt of this review bit of a dinosaur on the pc it just disappeared so trying again . cant give enough praise to this hotel really great all the staff lovely food excellent and restaurant staff fantastic spotless dress . spotless food presentation areas during service and just as important to me (was a chef for 20 years) after service hygene standards cannot be faulted.. no tea making facilities in rooms but were offered a kettle by lady on reception not needed as we travel with our travel kettle .house keeping staff great your choice as to how often towels are changed , beds very comfortable, water always hot shower in bath a little in accessible in a corner but 17 weeks on from a total knee replacement managed ok with care. evening entertainment at hotel good it is a very quiet resort so not much music outside the hotel. bus stop opposite the hotel get a time table tho , have a ride to the old capital cuitadella and make for the cathedral area good views of the old harbour plus very unusual shops in a long vaulted row of arches this must be I think the artisan quarter. walk to beach very comfortable 10 min stroll sea perfect but beach beds expensive at 19 euro a day 12 e after 3 pm 5 mins from hotel really good well stocked supermarket very good selection of whatever your favourite tipple may be. all things considered this hotel made a brilliant base for a great holiday. thomsons reps helpful well done to all the staff

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank hazel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

Location -Good. There are only 3 hotels in Cala Galdana itself. All have good access to the beach and shops.

Room - perfectly acceptable, and what we paid for "twin room with limited garden view and balcony" (I only read that when I got home!)
We were on the front of the hotel, with a larger than average balcony, but too far along to see the nightly show at the pool.

Food – good quality and choice. Only limited by your appetite. The restaurant was adequate in size and tables were well spaced. There was no “bun fight” that you sometimes get with over-crowded hotels. There was often a small queue waiting at 8.00 for dinner, just as we were leaving.

Service – perfect in all respects. Wifi is free on the ground floor, reception area.

The only negatives were:
1 Limited availability of sunbeds with sunshades around the pool.
But there’s a better experience at the beach anyway. Budget for EUR19 a day for loungers there.
2 Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 9.45 in the morning! Had we thought of it, we would have separated out what we needed for three and a half hours round the pool. Not really a hotel problem but the tour operator could have mentioned it.

There’s one big surprise bonus. The hotel welcomes you taking the pool towels they supply onto the beach. Save yourselves some packing!

Finally, unlike many other quality hotels, there was no insistence on men wearing long trousers for dinner. Some will welcome this…

Room tip: At the front. overlooking the pool.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews