We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,161)
Filter reviews
2,161 results
Traveler rating
1,271
586
191
64
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,271
586
191
64
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape nao infinity pool casa nostra level service level experience level guests level restaurant beach level level reception main restaurant mosaic restaurant guest experience manager buffet restaurant family room beautiful hotel kids club half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,161 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a few problems during our stay and even though front desk apologized, they informed us that experience/quality department would address our issues directly, but they never contacted us. This is not something we expect from a "premium experience" at a five star hotel.

Basically, the main prblem was customer service. Although they say that "the level" includes a concierge service, they ignored our request to change our booking, insisted in keeping a reservation that in the end got canceled and failed to inform us about the cancelation.

Facilities are ok for the ones that pay for "the level" premium, but still, they don't have an indoor swimming poll, sauna etc. The swimming pool available for all guests doesn't have a view to the beach and is located right by the parking lot ( so you can expect a lot of noise).

Location is great, right by the beach in Cala Galdana.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank thaistha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a week in Menorca (my first time) and a stay at the Melia Cala Galdana. Firstly the resort is beautiful and one of the best beaches I have ever visited. Crystal clear sea and very safe bathing. Resort itself is quite small and not a lot to do but this is just what we needed.
Booked "the level" experience and worth every penny. As others have mentioned you have your own reception area with very friendly and helpful staff, your own lounge to get drinks, snacks, canopes etc. Access to the infinity pool with amazing views of the sea, towels, sun cream, free water and even fruit later in the afternoon. Also your own restaurant for breakfast with great choice of buffet items plus waiter service for for the hot and freshly cooked food.
We booked the standard level room with had the most amazing view of the sea and great facilities with safe, mini bar, coffee machine, kettle and Rituals amenities.. The only thing I would say about the standard level room is that they are quite small but fine when you are only using the room to sleep and when we were in the room spent most time sitting on the balcony admiring the view. We booked bed and breakfast and so ate out every night apart from one when we ate in the hotels Italian restaurant which was nice.
The staff really made our stay great from the level reception team to the waiting staff and a special mention to Naomi (the pool girl) who was so attentive and really looked after us.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Alec F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times I guess that speaks for itself. Cala Galdana is a lovely quiet resort, with as much or little to do as you fancy. Bus Stop allows travel to other parts of the island with taxi returns for convenience. Ferry & boat trips available from resort, or alternatively just relax on the beautiful sandy beach. My only negative is the quality of the restaurants, not a lot of choice for decent dining.

Room tip: Sea view rooms worth the extra
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went here for a short break with my daughter. The positives are that the location of the hotel is on a beautiful beach and it is a short walk into the little down which has half a dozen or so restaurants and tapas places to eat and a couple of supermarkets. From here you can also get buses to the larger towns.

On arrival they tried to encourage us to pay 60 euros a night for an upgrade to a sea view room which since we'd booked a partial sea view room we declined as we were only there for 5 nights. He then attempted to pursued us to pay for an extra package deal which allowed you to eat in the restaurant rather than the buffet. However once we declined the receptionist's manner was down dialled to something more frosty than friendly.

We had asked for a twin room and the bed was made up as a double. he confirmed on reception that it should be made up as a twin but to ring down if it wasn't. We range down several times to no avail and even asked some of the chamber maids on our floor who simply said you need to go to reception. On returning to our room in the evening we had no hot water. We again had to ring down twice and were kept waking for a maintenance man who eventually declared the shower 'kaput'. Reception said they needed to change the tap and suggested we could use the courtesy room to shower !! Naturally this was not acceptable - I'd paid for a 5 star hotel !! After expressing my annoyance (we'd just unpacked - difficult to believe that the previous occupants hadn't reported this) they did upgrade us to a sea view room at no extra cost.

The view from the balcony was stunning but in all other respects the room was exactly the same so you need to decide if the extra 60 euro a night is worth the view.

The food in the buffet is excellent. BUT and this is a big but - the hotel is very short staffed. You were not seated at the buffet. Water is not provided free. You have to wait an age for someone to take your drinks order - they want you to sign immediately and then by the time your drinks arrive you've pretty much nearly finished your meal. Staff were visibly struggling both in the buffet and in the bar downstairs - meanwhile there were several managers in suits stood around chatting and appearing to be suing on their mobile phones while bar staff doubled up as waiters. Everyone was trying to catch someone to order a drink - given it son all inclusive they would sell far more drinks if they had people to serve the customers. I'd say its a lively location, clean hotel, ( not really for those with children) live singing entertainment in the evening - low key but pleasant. The beach at the from is private and you have to spend 20.5 euros a day for 2 sunbeams and an umbrella otherwise the pool and the sunbeams belonging to the hotel are around the back and you cant see the beach which is SUCH a design error given the location!! So overall 5 star location but only 3 star service.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wilsonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this hotel since 2000 as the Sol Gavilanes, and since 2013 as the Melia "upgrade." About 5 times as a Sol and 2 times as a Melia. The Sol was tired and needed refurbishing, but it was very family orientated and had loads of friendly, efficient staff. The new Melia is not geared towards families, unless you have a baby or toddler. There is nothing for older children. There are much less staff who are mainly cheerful despite being run ragged. The atmosphere is very "cool", you could be anywhere, there is very little Spanish or Menorcan about it. The buffet in the Mosaic restaurant was excellent and much better than the old Sol ( the only positive about being not so family orientated) However it did not stop you being offered, a la carte in the "rustic Italian" Cosa Nostra restaurant for the sum of E350 for 2 for a week extra!, for pizza, pasta etc!!!! Don''t fall for this. Pizza and pasta and much better were available in the buffet, you just had to get it yourself. We had a room on floor 10 overlooking the junior and grand suites, with an overall superb view. This was much to the surprise and probably annoyance of people who had paid an astronomical sum for these rooms, just to be "exclusive" and have someone turn your bed down for you? The normal rooms are fine, very comfortable with an nice balcony, what do you need separate showers, bath, dining suite, bathrobes etc for? You are on holiday. These rooms and the LEVEL are just appealing to people's vanity, at a very hefty price. You don't need to unless you like throwing money away.
The hotel is not cheap in any case.
However, the hotel overall and the holiday was lovely, as is Cala Galdana. From what we have seen it is still the nicest beach resort on the island.

Room tip: Floors 5,6,7, and 10, with full sea view are the best, room number 14 onwards
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews