We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Talayot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talayot
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala'n Forcat
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my family are just back from a week at the Talayot. The hotel is very family friendly, the pools and childrens facilaties were great. The resturant at the hotel was quite good selling nice food at a reasonable price. Our eldest daughter went to kids club a couple of times and enjoyed it, she also enjoyed the childrens disco in the evening. The apartmant we stayed in was ok but a little tired but on a plus side it was immacuatly clean (as was everywhere else around the hotel)
The resort itself is a little to commercialised for my taste, i only want to see 'Black horse' pubs in the uk where they belong but its horses for courses.
We hired a car for the week and explored the island. Mahon is worth a trip, especially the harbour and my wife seemed to like the shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    341
    95
    28
    18
See reviews for
681
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Allocated 'S' block only 8 apartments lovely and quiet with own pool. Apartment very good but dishwasher filthy and smelled would not use it. Maid service patchy, always changed towels but did not sweep floors and beds not made daily. Very disappointed when booking that Thomson did not make it clear that the resort of Cala 'n' Forcat was virtually shut down so had to eat at Talayot and use their supermarket. By thursday they were dismantling equipment around us. Also when we arrived kids club was available until friday afternoon but it was not no kids club on friday when parents could have done with an hour or two to pack. All of the facilities were included in the price and at £1300 for 2 adults and 1 child self catering it was not a cheap holiday.
Hot water hit and miss. Notes advising to save water but tap had to be run for at least 1/2hr to get lukewarm water. Path to 'S' block at back of restaurant treacherous. I slipped and injured my knee quite badly. First aid equip supplied at reception and accident report completed with rep. Asked for path to be cleaned but nothing happened.
Apart from one waiter none of the others smiled or even looked happy. They should not forget we are paying their wages. A little hello and a smile would have been very nice.

Room Tip: S block in a lovely position. No noise although fairly close to main building. Only 8 apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sorry everyone this holiday was not for me. I would not recommend Menorca or Cala N Forcat for winter sun. We were ridden with ants, faults with the apartment. Mini Hurricane weather. Ghosttown, everything shut. Dreadful beach coves riddled with sea weed and jelly fish. The Talayots was ok for tots but not for age 10 above. Would not return if you paid me to go!

I have nothing against the hotel but have seen to places and resorts. Would not return.

Room Tip: No comment but avoid the first floor as I slipped down the stairs from top to bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stockport192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

my 13yr old daughter and i are just back from our week here, although the resort was aimed specifically i think at younger children i chose it as i am a single parent and wanted a family place ie not full of rowdy teenagers etc
it was great, i had emailed them earlier on the off chance at being able to have a balcony and a quieter spot, on arrival (it was chucking it down) we were taken by a member of staff to our apartment in T block, with a balcony! we were chuffed, the pool opposite us was more for adults as it was deeper i think than the others, ideal for us. we took the bus into town a couple of times and ate in and around the complex, everyone was really friendly and the facilities were great, although as has been mentioned a little dated, we werent bothered though as we didnt spend a lot of time in our room. the waiters were really nice (special mention to Pepe and Ivan), reception and cleaners all helpful and happy, i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this complex, we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to return :) thanks everyone!!!

Room Tip: if you have older kids ask for T block, its set at the rear of the complex and not as bustling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

After three visits to the Talayot we thought we knew what to expect,we were wrong. We were over the road on the far side of the complex in the less modern apartments. The kitchen ceiling leaked in water and although we reported this to our rep nothing was done about it. There was a bottle under the sofa bed all week because the cleaners just gave a quick mop and sponge around the furniture without moving it. We paid £35 upon booking, for a late room which we were told we could have until 4pm,our checkout time. The day before departure however the rep told us that in fact we had to checkout at 10am and go to a nearby villa for the last few hours which was not what we had paid for. The main pool was excellent but unfortunately the accommodation was not. Will not return if in same apartments. This was definitely not the holiday we had hoped for or booked. We feel that the service provided on this holiday was very poor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main part of the complex are more modern and better situated for all of the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrtrustworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have recently got back from a one weeks half term holiday at the Talayot apartments and had a great time.

We stayed in A block and we had a view from our balcony of one of the children's splash pools. The pool had a barrel that got filled with water that eventually typed, which my children absolutely loved.

The rooms were a bit dated as some other reviewers have said, but tbh this didn't bother me.

There were no a/c in the rooms (I guess this is due to the design of the apartments, each is quite separate, with no immediate neighbour) but all rooms had ceiling fans.

We were a family of 5 and we had 2 separate bedrooms and a fairly large kitchen/dining/living room. Including table and chairs, sofas and a flat screen TV (with BBC1, BBC News and one that changed). The balcony was also a very good size, probably about 10' x 8' with a small plastic table and chairs.

All the apartments are either on the ground floor or one above.

There was a microwave, kettle, hob, separate small grill oven thing a toaster and even an electric blender. As we have young children the kitchen was essential. (We ate out in the evenings but breakfast and lunch was in the room).

There was various cutlery and plates, glasses (including wine and beer). And various pans, chopping board etc

There was also a fridge, with a good size freezer.

My issues with the kitchen were there were no draining board for dishes and the frying pan was absolutely useless. No matter how much oil was put on the pan, food just stuck to it, it was not non stick. (tbh it did look new and clean, but just crxp really). As my sons like fried eggs and omelettes or pancakes for breakfast I purchased a new frying pan in Citudella.

Other than the frying pan, everything was great.

There really is quite a lot to do at the hotel, there loads of pools, kiddie play places, even a crazy golf course, kiddie go carts, soft play area, tennis courts etc.

I can't emphasises how good the facilities were for children, there were so much for them to do.

The kids went to the Thomson kiddies club most days and also paid extra for the evening sessions (€5, but this included pizza & chips). In the afternoons there were dancing on the bridge over the pool for the kids and volley ball also in the main pool.

In the evenings there was excellent entertainment, the rep said it was the best in the entire resort (and I 100% believed her). There were kids discos, magic shows, parrot shows, Africana dancing and more). It really was really good.

The hotel supermarket was also very good, it wasn't as cheap as the ones in Citudella, but it was okay. 5litres of water €1.29, 6 eggs €1.15, bread was a bit more expensive. Beer was reasonable a can of the local beer was only 45C per can.

It's not fair to review the resort as this is a review of the hotel. But if you need to go further a field, the bus stop is just outside the hotel and this takes you to the nearest town, you need bus no 61 and it costs pp €1.55

The hotel was full of families with young children, so I don't think it would be ideal for couples.

There was no wifi in the rooms, but this was available in the main bar/reception. This wasn't free but €1 per hour, or only €5 for a week.

The cleaner was also really good, I think the rooms were cleaned 5 times in the week, the other 2 days the towels were swapped. The cleaner also replaced T-Towels daily also, so if you are s/c you don't need to bring any.

There was also a mop and a sweeping brush in the room.

One good thing that the hotel did, was provide beach towels for free, you pay a €5 deposit and you can change them as often as you like at the end of the week you get your money back.

Tbh we really enjoyed the Talayot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondeokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for a week from the 28/9. From landing at 10:30 we finally got to the hotel at about 12:30 after the Thomson bus had done all of its drops. The resort is at the opposite end of the island to the airport.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was really good. It was clean and tidy with plenty of space. The only down side was the cot we rented wouldn't fit in the smaller room, so we didn't have much space. We were able to pull a couple of sunbeds outside our place so we could sun bath whilst our son was sleeping in the afternoon. You can rent a safe, cot, high chairs and push chairs. Beach towels can be borrowed for a 5eur deposit and you can change them when you want.

The pools were perfect for our little boy (2 yrs), although they were a bit cold this time of year. There were several pools and play areas for him to keep him occupied. He loved the go karts. Everywhere was clean and well maintained.

Out of the hotel 10 mins to the left was a fab beach. Crystal clear water, no waves, play area and lots of little fish! Probably the only one worth visiting by foot.

Out of the hotel to the right was the main town. The restaurants we went to were all good and reasonably priced. The meals on my credit card for my wife and I came out between £16-28. Pretty much every restaurant in the town has something to entertain the kids, either a bouncy castle or a trampoline.

We also walked to Cuitadella the old port town. This took about an hour along the coastal path (turn left out of the hotel). It's a very picturesque old town and is well worth a visit. We went here for an evening out and got the bus back.

I would highly recommend coming here for a holiday!

My tip would be head right out of the hotel right to the end till you come to the sea and the road bends round to the left. You'll find a bar called Maxis, head here for sunset and enjoy the views...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazzler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Forcat
0.6 mi away
Globales Club Almirante Farragut Hotel
9.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Binimar Apartments
Globales Binimar Apartments
#14 of 57 in Ciutadella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
16.2 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
#33 of 57 in Ciutadella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talayot

Property: Talayot
Address: Cala Picas, 116, 07700 Cala'n Forcat, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Forcat
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala'n Forcat
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala`n Forcat
Talayot Cala'n Forcat, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing