We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel no doubt in part to beautiful sunny weather. The staff were all professional and friendly and cannot rate them highly enough. Good food with buffet for breakfast and evening meal. Evening meal very good value for 10 Euro. The bathrooms are in need of some refurbishment but quite adequate and that did not detract from a comfortable stay. large sun terrace to hotel with plenty of sun beds, always windy but good glass wind breaks. Lovely walk along promenade in front of hotel. El nautico terrace for light lunch and many other restaurants nearby. Would not recommend La scarpetta italian restaurant , contrary to other reviews - poor food, rude owner. Restaurant Placeres ( fish mainly) , very good for a special evening out.

Room Tip: lovely sea views - especially of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We’d like to let you know, also, that we take into account each and every observation, complaint, suggestion, and other comments, from our guests, with the goal of improving our customers’ experiences.
Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction, and your opinions are always the most useful in helping us to do so.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    659
    350
    119
    80
See reviews for
249
1,034
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

just got back after spending a week at this hotel,nice quiet location ,hotel was lovely nice and clean and the staff could not do enough for you if you had any problems, we were bed and breakfast always plenty of choices and it was hot. if you fancy an english cuppa on the terrace from the hotel is Hattie's tea room all homemade cakes best we have tasted in a long time

Room Tip: we had room 421 was great took you out onto the street saved climbing a hill from hotel reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqs187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

To the people giving this hotel great reviews:- Did we stay at the same hotel??

The hotel advertises itself as 4 star but they don’t have a clue what 4 star is. I noticed this in my first few minutes of arriving at the hotel, I hadn’t even seen my room yet! I can sum it up like this:- dirty, badly managed & not maintained! When you arrive in reception, the first thing you notice are the filthy beige couches. Then I walked around to see the bar/dining area and noticed a filthy dirty carpet. The day beds in reception look disheveled & untidy. They have definitely seen better days ………. Not a good first impression!

Then I went out to the pool area and noticed broken deck chairs just lying there, and probably had been for weeks! There’s a beautiful view of the sea if only you could see through the glass surrounding the pool area - it’s that dirty! The decking really needs to be re-varnished and the pool area generally looks very tired looking. At this stage, I was worried about what the state of my room would be, and my fears weren’t unwarranted.

I found very long black hairs in my room. Obviously, there was a woman staying in the room before me with very long black hair! I did complain to reception and the receptionist firstly, didn’t seem to care and then, offered a lame explanation, the wind must have blown it in! I had to laugh at this!

My door handle to the balcony was just hanging there, I mean surely rooms should be checked between guests if you call yourself 4 star!

On the second morning I came down to the pool area early and I actually couldn’t stay there I felt that uncomfortable. There were dirty ashtrays from the day before and dirty glasses from drinks the night before. Surely, this should be cleaned/cleared at the end of the night or first thing in the morning?!?!

And no surprise that I didn’t see a manager in the entire 3 days I was staying there - the hotel doesn’t seem to be managed !! It’s a disgrace and I dreaded returning there in the evenings, the hotel feels neglected and forgotten.

The breakfast was decent, pity about the 2 staff members which looked so unhappy I thought they were going to commit suicide any minute.

There is a microwave in the dining hall which you need because the coffee isn’t very hot but on the second day of my stay, the microwave didn’t seem to be working. I asked the lady clearing the tables if the microwave was broken and she said ‘I don’t know’ and walked off. I’m sorry but if I ever said that to any of my customers, I would have been fired immediately!

What a awful hotel !! And a sham that they are advertising it as 4 stars !!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VeryDisappointed187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and feedback regarding your experience in our hotel, though we regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. In this regard we would like you to know that we take note of each and every guest’s observations, complaints, suggestions and feedback always in order to improve our service and facilities.
We would, firstly, like to apologize if the cleaning and maintenance of your room was not entirely adequate. All of our rooms are rigorously reviewed before they are assigned and throughout the guest’s entire stay, but in this case there must have been a particular problem with the process. We would like to reiterate our apologies for this and also apologize if you considered that the treatment you received from our staff in this regard was not entirely adequate.
Likewise, we would like to apologize if you felt that the cleaning of the rest of our facilities was also not optimal. We take great care with the state of our facilities and always try to maintain them as best as possible, so we apologize if you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this and we will take additional measures in order to improve this aspect.
Regarding the our pool’s maintenance, we would like to mention that our staff try at all times to make sure this area is always clean and tidy, and that as soon as a guest leaves we collect their food and beverages and prepare the space for a new guest. We regret if during your stay it was not always like this and, again, reiterate that will take additional measures in this regard.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that our establishment has at all times a person in charge of the hotel’s functioning and in the event that the hotel’s director is absent for some reason, there is always another person in charge of their responsibilities.
Again, we will bear close in mind all of your feedback and observations with the goal of improving our service and adapting ourselves as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are extremely useful for doing so.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks here in mid November 2012 and are happy to say that Vincci Tenerife is all it says it is. The quieter location is ideal for us The staff were very hard working,friendly courteous and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and always a lovely smile to greet you. Our room was very clean with great views of the sea, We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis - and the breakfasts were amazing - and ate 'in' on several evenings when the food and service was excellent. There are good local facilities for shopping, restaurants and bars within a 10/15 minute walk but we must select one for a special mention, Rob & Yvonne at "Hatties" Tea Rooms - just 2 minutes from the hotel front door -a real gem!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, and choose a middle room on level 4 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wassies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The great staff holds this hotel together who seem to work tirelessly to provide help and smile constantly. Our room was vey clean and the views fantastic with the sound of the sea in the background at night. The food was excellent quality but a bit predicable, very Mediterranean. A joint of roast meat every night would have helped those who could not eat fish or spicy food. Breakfast needs better coffee as one lady from Cork took her kettle with her to breakfast and there was a queue to use it to get a hot drink. The other small obvious problem is the need for a good lick of paint. Public areas are fine everywhere else it is shabby. Window in our room broken from day one by day five too chilled out to care.
We would go back as it is in a quiet area - staff are excellent - hotel a bit shabby.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for sending us your opinions and feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that the treatment you received from our staff, as well as our views, cleaning and food quality were all to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the entire establishment´s staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels continues being as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.
We regret, though, that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay and would like you to know that we will bear close in mind your observations in order to improve.
We would like to inform you as well that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed, so we apologize if during your stay there was a particular problem with the process that caused the problems with your window. However, despite the fact that our facilities are continuously being reviewed, any guest who detects a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception and our staff will solve as quickly as possible and imperfections, trying at all times to make the guest´s stay comfortable and enjoyable.
We regret, as well, that our restaurant was not entirely to your liking and would like you to know that we always bear in mind our guest´s observations in order to improve this service. In fact, thanks to your suggestions, we can announce that a few months ago we incorporated a selection of differently themed buffets, in order to increase the variety of our selection.
We would also like to mention that due to the hotel´s location and its exposure to the weather, our facilities are under ongoing improvement work with the goal of maintaining them in a perfect state.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for one night b&b towards the end of January 2013 after the flight and before catching the ferry. The hotel is about 10/15 minutes from Tenerife South airport. We had a 'standard' room at an excellent price through Booking.com. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and there was a big window with view of the ocean. The hotel was quiet and the staff were pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and would be happy to make it a longer visit. Can't comment on food apart from breakfast which was good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackNicklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

At sat by the pool on a beautiful sunny day long way from the snow back home. Have to say the hotel is excellent, food good and the staff are all so friendly nothing to much trouble just a stones throw from the golf course this hotel is ideally situated for both couples and families and is ideal for the weekend golf break

Room Tip: Superior rooms soooooo nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.2 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,137 reviews
19.9 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel

Property: Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Address: Urbanizacion Golf del Sur, 38639 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the edge of the sea, only 5 km away from the Reina Sofía airport, Vincci Tenerife Golf is a delightful, four-star hotel just 100 metres way from the "Golf del Sur" golf course, where the hotel has special agreements and discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Golf Del Sur
Vincci Tenerife Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing