We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit tired and needing some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit tired and needing some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel room we had was a Junior suite and it was clean and our bedroom and our toilet was fine from a size and cleanliness viewpoint although the shower was a bit of a challenge and tended to soak the entire bathroom as soon as you switched it on if you were not ready to grab it and point it into the wall immediately. The house maid was really helpful and gave us extra pillows and towels as we required. The rest of the staff were really helpful and very friendly too with the exception of one of the male receptionists who always looked as if guests were there to try his patience. We had some issues with the room safe but generally speaking it worked most of the time. We had a lovely view from the balcony over the sea and our room was quiet and peaceful with excellent air conditioning. The bed was large and canopied and reasonably comfortable. English TV channels were limited to news and sport. The reception area was impressive at first sight but when you got closer it could have done with a good freshen up. The dining area was like a staff canteen and the food was repetitive, bland and often lukewarm. If you opt for self catering then you will find out that there are very nice local restaurants because day after day of more of the same would drive you insane. The bar offers local brands as part of the all inclusive and the white and rose wine choices were definitely not to our palate. The pool area is a bit tired and needing some rennovation with the wooden decking peeling and coming away at the side of the pool.

Room Tip: Would pay that little bit extra for a Junior suite as other guests mentioned that their standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthmaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our rooms and views, as well as our staff´s treatment, were all to your liking. Surely our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, however, that we did not entirely meet your expectations and that some aspects of stay were not to your liking. We will bear close in mind your opinions with the aim of improving in the future.
We would like to mention, though that our establishment was completely renovated in 2007. However, due to the hotel´s location and exposure to the weather, our facilities are continually being improved with the aim of maintaining them in a perfect state. We remain at your complete disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    632
    337
    112
    72
See reviews for
242
990
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall a good place if you like old 2-3 star resorts (not an hotel) and noise and if you are happy with reception staff telling you to get lost, but forget it if you want to relax and enjoy some holidays in a 4-star hotel.

We booked this hotel based on the nice photos and a few positive reviews. However, another good example of the discrepancy between photos and real life!! This hotel has aged a lot and needs A LOT of upgrading (paint, damaged floor, our door did not close or open correctly, windows leave the wind pass, pool area in bad need of improvement, sun loungers broken etc).

But most annoying was the noise!!!! This hotel is NEXT TO THE AIRPORT and windows are NOT soundproofed! To make things worse, there is very noisy animation at the (small) pool (where most guests "reserve" their chairs in the morning and just leave for the day...).
When we politely asked whether we could change the room for one not directly looking on the airport, the staff responded that it was impossible, but not because the hotel was full (we learned that it was not) but because we had booked with hotels.com and we should already be happy with the room we had, as it could have been worse !!! In short, book directly on their site or f.ck you if you are not happy with the crap room they give you.........

Room Tip: Avoid booking through reservation websites such as booking, hotels.com etc Rooms on the east look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel, although we regret not meeting your expectations and that specific details were not to your liking. In this regard we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving our facilities and our service.
We would like to mention, in any case, that our establishment was completely renovated in 2007. However, due to the hotel´s location and exposure to the weather, our facilities are continually being improved with the aim of maintaining them in a perfect state.
We would also like to mention that although we are located 5 km from the Tenerife Sur airport, our rooms are oriented towards the sea and it is not usual that in our establishment one can hear the noise of the airplanes, so we apologize if during your stay the circumstances were different.
Regarding our sun beds, we would like to clarify that they are not permitted to be reserved. Our staff try at all times to make sure that this rule is respected and that all using the swimming pool can enjoy them in total comfort. We apologize if, in spite of our efforts, during your stay there were guests who did not follow this rule and caused inconveniences for everyone else.
Lastly, we would like to note that, so long as the hotel is not full, our staff will offer a change of room to those guests who are not happy with the room they were assigned. This protocol is always strictly applied in these kinds of situations and independently of the method or travel agency with which you made your booking. If in the case there was a misunderstanding between yourself and our staff or if the hotel´s occupancy at the time did not allow us to over a change, we offer our most sincere apologies and we regret the inconveniences you suffered.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

stayed 4 a week from 26 sept had best holiday ever had we have not been abroad for 11years as had bad experience could noy
t fault anything at this hotel are room was very clean food was exceptinal staff were so friendliy and helpful can not fault anything we will defenetly go back next as we would not want to go anywhere else cannot wait would like to say such a big thankyou to all staff for making are holiday the best we have had westayed allinclusive well worth it

Room Tip: we were on second from top it was fantastic never herd anyone complain about anyroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeried420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and I wanted 5 day break with a relaxed atmosphere and placed high hopes on this location and hotel. To say that this hotel is in need of TLC is an understatement, this hotel requires a complete make over. It is tired. On arrival the clerk at the desk was not happy in his job, his lack of a smile and welcome made me apprehensive straight away. The reception area is impressive but guests are encouraged and aloud to come in from the pool area to lounge around on sofa's in their swim wear, this the only lounge area, so you can guess at night when dressed for the evening you are sitting on sun cream stained cushions where guests are aloud to lay out on with their feet up. The hotel lacked a shaded area for guests to do this. It screamed out for development to accommodate this. The reception area is not a place to sit in your swim wear dry or otherwise. There are 8 or 9 steps that one has to negotiate their cases to get to the lifts. The room albeit clean our additional bedding was soiled with dirty marks. The shower head was blocked and the spray went in all directions, the bottom fixing of the riser rail was hanging and insecure. The safe never worked despite two cards used. I cleared the shower head myself and gave up on the safe, when I informed reception I was told to call them when I was in the room and they would send someone up.
The pool decking around the pool was heavily fixed with mastic and the sun lounge cushions dirty and needed replacing. The decking area's and pool are too small for the hotel. The paint is flaking on the outside in area's of the building. The meals are basic, the dinning area has the feeling of a canteen and when at the bar on numerous occasions had to find the bar staff to be served. The uniforms the staff wear were quite drab and some were dirty. The majority of the staff were very pleasant. We were given a voucher for the spare as part of our package. The spare had no one on reception and the showers were out of order. Again it was tired and in need of a refurbishment.
There is no sandy beach, the sea view is outstanding, the sound of the ocean is amazing. There is a beautiful walk along the cliff top. The area is very quiet. There was a fantastic cafe opposite the hotel, the hotel could learn from their service. A good array of restaurants and the weather was fantastic. I would not visit the same location as it lacked a little sophistication and could offer so much more. I would not recommend the hotel, I failed to understand how trip adviser awarded it a rating of 4 in 2011.This is not a four star hotel and would place it as more a 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that your expectations were not met and would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving.
We would like to mention, in any case, that our establishment was completely renovated in 2007. However, due to the hotel´s location and exposure to the weather, our facilities are continually being improved with the aim of maintaining them in a perfect state. As part of this continual improvement work, we would like you to know that last week we proceeded to change the spa´s showers and carry out specific projects to improve this facility.
We would like to inform you, as well, that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed, so we apologize if during your stay there was a particular problem in the process that caused the inconveniences you describe with your room and we will take additional measures to make sure they do not occur again.
We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so. We will, then, bear close in mind your feedback to improve our service.
We remain at your complete disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hotel really needs some TLC. The view from the sea path looks shabby, decking area around the pool and the top sun deck is in dire need of rework and the outside sun lounger cushions are well past a good steam clean, with more than a few of the loungers needing binned. There is, on occasion a distinct aroma of sewerage when you walk into reception, not nice when you are walking to dinning room (reception is well below road level down a small access road) and I suspect below the level of more than one septic tank. The rooms are decent with electronic safe which works off the entry of bank/credit card magnetic strip, easy to use and included in room price. Great hot water, plenty clean towels & shower gels. Our room had fixed shower screen, held in place by silicone which meant reaching the taps/shower control involved a awkward stretch or ultimately getting into bath, not great if you have mobility issues, the toilet was 2 inches away from the marble vanity unit & hand rail which meant a side ways shimmy to get on and off, again almost impossible for those with restricted mobility, funny enough the bidet was next to the loo almost in free space!. Now the food !. If you book all inclusive believe me you"will" be in San Blas village for an evening meal or two, it is dire for a 4* hotel, honestly the coldest,blandest most repetitive food we have ever encountered, we met couples from both England & Scotland who agreed and our paths crossed on more than one occasion eating out, yes we were in Tenerife but there is only so much fish and tepid vegetables that one can handle, luckily there are some good bar restaurants & Indian eateries in San Blas and Gulliver's Grill House which does a good steak & the best home made steak burger ever. The Hotel has one bar for 125 rooms which is the pool bar during the day & main bar at night, all inclusive drinks option is very limited, Juan Carlos makes you smile though, he always manages a smile. The hotel furniture especially around the "one bar" area is in need of a deep clean and honestly in my opinion lets this whole area down, and no I ain't being picky but if I pay for 4* that's what I expect to get, otherwise I would spend a couple of hundred quid and go self catering. The staff are all very nice and do the best with what is available to them, however there are much better 4* hotels in the Canaries.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the sea, ones above pool can be subject to noise from the pool area and bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weebettysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and for publishing your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our staff´s attention was to your liking, although regret that we did not entirely meet your expectations and that you were not pleased with some aspects of your stay. In this regard we would like you to know that we will bear close in mind your comments and feedback: surely it will help us to continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
We would like to mention, though, that our establishment was completely renovated in 2007. However, due to the hotel´s location and exposure to the weather, our facilities are continually being improved with the aim of maintaining them in a perfect state.
Regarding our all included service, we would like to clarify that it includes both cold drinks such as alcoholic drinks (wine, beer, sangria, vodka, rum, whisky, gin, and vermouth among others). In any case, we will bear close in mind your feedback in order to improve our service. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cannot say enough about this hotel service is amazing victor on main desk is very attentive jianyun in the bar is a living legend and natellia the maid is superb at her job what she does with the towels is amazing Tania the waitress is always very happy the only thing that lets this hotel down is the food although the variety is great just bland majority of the time

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneclark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We would also like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one our hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Almost one year to the day, we decided it was time to return to the Vincci, for a bit of well earned R&R and to share with our mates who we met here last year, their 1st Wedding Anniversary........Once again, the Hotel and it's dedicated team did not fail to deliver on their promise.
Juan, Tania, Victor, David, Miguel and Nicola all do their very best to make you feel 'special' and genuinely seemed pleased to see us both again, albeit this was only our second visit. They appeared to recognise us which is testament of their desire to please as obviously many thousands of faces must pass through over the course of a year!
Now safe in the knowledge of the missing small details of last year, we duely packed the travel kettle, mugs, PG tips and the face flannels! The water urn in the dining room remains "as was", so luke to mid warm water for your breakfast tea; and that really is the only complaint!
Plenty of sunbeds, fresh pool towels daly if you ask & exchange at reception, and the varnish on the decking around the pool is still flaking (almost all gone!) and in need of a little bit of TLC in places. But hey, one just takes care; it's ceratinly not a show stopper by any means of the imagination. The spa (sauna / steam room and massive jacuzzi) is also in need of some TLC and this was being addressed the day before we left as it closed and the builders moved in. The overall pace of this hotel, away from the hustle & bustle of nearby Los Cristianos makes it ideal for those looking for a relaxing (and in the main) child free break away.
Would we return? Absolutely, no question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank case2heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any our establishment.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.2 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
19.9 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel

Property: Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Address: Urbanizacion Golf del Sur, 38639 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the edge of the sea, only 5 km away from the Reina Sofía airport, Vincci Tenerife Golf is a delightful, four-star hotel just 100 metres way from the "Golf del Sur" golf course, where the hotel has special agreements and discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Golf Del Sur
Vincci Tenerife Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing