We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not if you want nightlife, mostly OAPs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not if you want nightlife, mostly OAPs”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We went for 3 nights all inclusive and really enjoyed ourselves. Great value, quiet and clean, lots of Saga customers, in our 30s we were easily the youngest there! Food was as good as we have had in an all inclusive hotel, and we have been to lots. If you want a chilled holiday in a nice hotel and quiet resort then this is ideal. Lovely walks along sea front and free bus to Los Chrisianos if you want a night out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    540
    403
    193
    149
See reviews for
575
609
36
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We booked this as a winter break which was very good, food plentiful and drink good.
There are restrictions on the all inclusive, Bottled water between 9am-11am then you cant have any more until the same time at night. Ice ream for the kids is only 4pm - 6pm.
The entertainment team cater for the French 90% of the time. As we left for home the hotel was invaded by french holiday makers at least 50-60. Hotel very busy.
But out of all the hotel is clean, food good just needs entertainment boost.
We would go back as a family, there is alot of older people at the hotel.
Front pool warmer, the main one really salty.

But good break

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humph3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hotel not very lively and caters more for the older clientel, seems to be a lot of French people in the hotel. You could always find something you liked to eat on the menu, rooms are very clean and tidy and the maids are very good. I would not recommend this hotel to youngsters but if just want a relaxing holiday it's ideal.
Near the airport but you do not notice the planes that much, a 15 euro taxi ride from the airport.
Right next to a golf course not sure how far from the club house, some nice holes though. All in all the hotel was OK and you get what you pay for, I found the staff very helpful,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

clean rooms and good breakfast facilities ; however , everything is basic . do not plan on using the gym - it is a joke and many of the machines are postively dangerous . the food in the hotel is expensive and it is cheaper to eat out or get food from the local supermarkets . what annoyed me was the noise - at night it sounded like a club downstairs , or the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night , or people were taking luggage down corridors at all hours . in addition , cigarette smoke seems to permeate the place . i won´t be staying again and plan to stay at one of the better resorts further up the coast or rent an apartment .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here for 1 week in June last year with my boyfriend. This hotel is perfect for over 50s!! And for any nationality but British!

We were all inclusive - food was fine for first couple of days but then got very repetative. Each night there would be a special main or pudding which was nice to try something different. At lunch time all we were looking for was a small sandwich but this wasnt on offer. Only proper hot filling meals.

Entertainment was ok, not great!! Entertainment staff are not very willing to speak to the brisish guests.

Hotel as a whole was nice but I would not stay here again. Location was awful! Apart from a shop, irish pub, few restaurants (that were usually always empty) and gift shops there was nothing to do in the evening. Taxi into Las Americas was 20 euros. The hotel did provide a courtesy bus during the day but you had to book this in advance and filled up really quickly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l17lkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Arrived home yesterday from a truly relaxing week away. Hotel was spotless, our room was large, very clean, with two basins in the bathroom, shower and bath. Room was cleaned every single day and very spotless. We enjoyed the pool area, plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe. Pool was very cold, but we still had a great swim, at least it cooled you down. We didn't use the indoor pool, gym or jacuzzi, to be honest the week went really quick. We enjoyed the peace and quiet location, enjoyed the walk to local bars and visited San Blas were there was a local supermarket. We used the free bus 3 times in the week to visit los cristianos and las americas. We both preferred Cristianos as we found lots of nice shops and bars with reasonable prices. Food at the hotel was plentiful and catered for everyone. We enjoyed breakfast and evening meal. We also used to have afternoon coffee at the bar. We also sat in the huge conservatory which had a beautiful view. Make sure to take a walk around the area, as there are lots of nice places to discover. We found there was alot of older people here, they seemed to enjoy the peace also. We didn't manage to visit the waterpark or animal parks, but I'm sure we will on our next visit. We don't usually go to Tenerife, but feel that we may visit again in the near future. May we also say "thank you" to Carmen, lovely lady on reception, she was always very helpful. Please go and enjoy, you will be pleasantly surprised!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_Ciriello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Just arrived back from the aguamarina hotel in tenerife. I went with my girlfriend, after reading the reviews i was a bit hesitant on what my stay would be like. I have got to say i could not have been more wrong the stay absolutlely brilliant the hotel was sparkling clean, the rooms where lovely and clean with full air con and a fridge, the bathroom was very nice and spacious very clean all tiled with a marble design.

There are two pool areas and we never ever had any problems with getting a sunbed, The poistioning of the hotel also means that in the winter period you get sunshine from sunrise until about 5:30pm. after this the air tends to cool down so it isnt a bad thing. However if you do want to stay in the sun there is a area to the side where there is no pool its like a suntrap where you can sunbathe anytime of the day or simple just watch the sun set over the sea.

The bar area is nice, a large open bar in a rectangular shape with stools all around we never had any problems getting a drink no matter what time of the day it was. There was a large supply of all different local branded spirits, liqures and wines. Also when you go All inclusive the drinks tend to be of a weak strength, however the aguamarinas drinks where the appropriate strengths to how we would find them at home, and i can handle my drink but i have got to admit there where nights when i was rather a bit sozzled haha.

The food i found was great, the lunch and dinner where never the same and they never had the same food on night after night. The meats where fantastic ribs, steak, lamb chops, pork chops, assortments of chorizo sausages. As well as seprate dishes with all the above meats in not all on the same night though of course. Desserts where also great with a range of cakes, fruits, mouses and ice creams. All with a waiter service for your drinks.

The entertainment was also good with all shows being performed in a indoor theatre it was brilliant and by far one of the best entertaining venues i have ever been to within a hotel. However they do have a singer who caters to a "older audience" Personally i found a trip to the irish bar down the road a great change of scenery.

Please note that most of the bad reviews for this hotel come from the older generations who travel with sage, this really is a brillaint hotel and please dont let the bad reviews put you off otherwise you will miss out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#5 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,098 reviews
8.2 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#52 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,961 reviews
26.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Property: Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing