We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Please don't listen to the other bad reviews I read before I travelled. I was not looking forward to going, having read some of the reviews which described this as a Saga hotel with lots of old people around knocking into you with wheelchairs. What a joke. Yes there was a Saga lounge but so what! This is very much a family hotel with lots of families and couples, young and old - a good mix. How anyone can complain about the food is beyond me. There was a selection every evening of pizza, pasta, roast joints of meats, fish, meat, rice, potatoes. In a whole week were never had the same meal twice. Salads were fresh for lunch and dinner and plenty of everything. The hotel is extremely clean and rooms area cleaned daily - even Sundays. Our room for two had four sofas in it and a very large bathroom with two sinks. We were very comfortable with air con as standard. The hotel rent out beach towels which is very handy as, with a 10 euro deposit (refunded when towels returned) you get clean towels as often as you like. There is entertainment most nights which, although not the best, was okay. There are several pools but the best is the one situated at the apartments which is quiet, has great sunloungers and looks onto the sea. Try this hotel, you will not be disappointed. The only complain I had was that there were few waiters at dinner and there was sometimes a wait for drinks. Also the bar staff were few and there was usually quite a wait there, particularly if you are a woman as they preferred to serve the men first!!! Not a lot around the hotel but the hotel provide a courtesy coach which will transfer you to Costa Adeje or Los Christianos, both of which are lovely but the beach at Costa Adeje is beautiful with huge waves - great fun. All in all a great holiday. Don't hesitate. PS Try the Siam Park - an absolute must.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    515
    389
    188
    144
See reviews for
532
598
36
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed all inclusive for a week at the Aguamarina Hotel. The first room we were given made loud generator type noises from 6am and woke my partner up. We spoke to reception who were very helpful and moved us straight away - they even let us have a look around the new room before deciding if we wanted it. We moved to the new room which was larger and had a nicer view. Having read other reviews, we felt we knew what to expect and we weren't wrong. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. The staff were all really helpful and the food was fine. We did eat out once or twice to get some variety but the standard for all inclusive was more than adequate. Breakfasts were nice, ranging from freshly cooked eggs and bacon to healthy natural yoghurt and fresh fruits. Lunch always contained either freshly cooked meat or fish and lots of desserts. The choice of salads were great and I ate a lot of these. We were given a card resembling a credit card with our photo on it which we showed every time we ate or drank - no horrible wristbands to wear. The pool is lovely and clean and we used it regularly. The resort is very quiet with a few reataurants and an irish bar which shows football and other sports - all just a short walk away. Regular courtesy shuttle bus runs from hotel to Los Cristianos and Playas de Americas. The only real downside to this hotel is the evening entertainment, It's loud and of a low standard. Use your evenings to visit either visit one of the local bars or stay out in one of the nearby resorts and see some entertainment there - otherwise you'll be climbing the walls. Also, there are two restaurants witrhin the hotel that you can dine in at a small supplement - my advice is don't use either. Although it costs only 3 euros each, the Canarian restaurant is virtually the same food you get in the main restaurant and the BBQ restaurant serves you steak that would take a year to chew and the service is abrupt to say the least - the one night we ate there we missed the best food of the week in the main restaurant. All in all a really nice hotel, lovely staff, very clean, good food and excellent value for money. Just make the best use of your time and dont stay in the hotel every night !!.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

If your French your catered for ie; entertainment via animation team= French (what there is of it) 1st Language French. English we found were tolorated. Rooms cleaned where visible. Food was never hot, same old thing when they had enough to go round but the salad looked ok although same each day. We were all inclusive and found the staff in particular the women behind the reception were rude and unhelpfull. On our last day we were refused entry to lunch (1-00pm)being told in front of a queue we were not entitled after midday (female again) we thought all inclusive meant 3 meals a day but not there and when we complained the receptionist YES your right a woman (the worst) told us thats the rules so tough. They always run out of food, one day also cups and saucers for tea/coffee and bread for toast. Nothing there you can`t see in a day so we went out on trips just to get away from the place

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rakSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golf del Sur hotels

Essex
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

been here three times before but this year it's really gone downhill--Hotel absolutley packed--we think some of the UK clients were bused in from a 1 star in majorca-very noisy around the public rooms- Hotel generally very short staffed--dificult to find a table at Dinner in the evening after 8pm due to tables not being cleared--when we did find a table we were usually sitting next to a noisy foursome in tee shirts and shorts--sunbeds around pool worn out--sorry to go on but it really was different this year--I could go on but Hmm

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for five days in March 2010 with my Friend (both female - mid 20's) and after reading some of the reviews we were a bit wary. Having said that this was a budget holiday and we feel we got a lot more than we paid for and feel we should say from our experience there was absolutely no justification for bad reviews at all. On arrival we were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Our room was airy and spacious with a lovely view. It was cleaned daily and there was nothing to pick faults with. We spent the majority of our time in and around the hotel and never had any problems. We went all inclusive and the food was always varied and very tasty, I am a Vegetarian and had no problems having varied meals, my friend very much enjoyed the meat and fish dishes on offer. The only strange thing we encountered was the night we paid 3 Euro's extra to eat in the Canarian style restaurant and my friend ordered cheesecake for desert - and cheesecake it was!! Actual layers of cheese cut into a cake shape with some kind of Jam in between the layers!!!! Great if that’s what you are expecting, not so great if you are expecting traditional English Cheesecake!!!!! We never had to wait long for drinks at the bar and the staff were very attentive. As mentioned in previous reviews, the entertainment was mainly catered for French guests but they were sure to repeat everything in English so no complaints there. One thing I would say about this resort is only go if you want a nice peaceful, relaxing holiday. There was entertainment in the hotel but it was limited, nearby there was an Irish bar and a karaoke bar which were a bit more lively and you are not far away from 'Taboo's' - Golf Del Sur's only nightclub!!However don’t expect lots of nightlife as there isn't much!! It is a very quiet resort and although there was a mixture of age ranges the majority of guests in the hotel were older but this did not cause us any issues at all. All in all a lovely, quiet, relaxing break in a lovely hotel. Excellent value for money, not complaints and would deffo go back/recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rallyhead1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sw Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We wanted an all inclusive holiday ,relaxing by the pool, no worries, no stresses and that's exactly what we got! and we got 5 days out of 7 of sunshine and heat! Perfect!
Hotel staff, 1st class once they got to know you. Hotel very clean, great cleaners for the room, they even tidy up behind you - unexpected! Not that we had children with us, but the entertainment staff were excellent with all the children and their parents and involved other adults in activities throughout the day. Even got a bottle of champagne on my birthday without asking or the hotel being told!!! We certainly will be going back! Big thanks to all the hotel staff!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Just got back from the augarmarina Apartments, we had a one bedroom apartment which had sofa beds in lounge (all beds were comfy) the apartments are masive and very clean with a TV, large fridge microwave and two hob rings (take a kettle). The bathroom had a bath ply a walk in shower. We cooked a few times and bought our food from the Mecadona (its cheaper). All the restaurants we ate in were good, Harbour Lights on the front was the best. and La Marina at the top was also very good and cheaper (also very large meals) Every night we went to the Volare Show Bar which is under the apartments as you walk down to the front opp the Japanese restaurant, up the steps. They have a happy hour 5-8 and every night a fantastic Act which is on at 11, you have to get there early if you want a seat, Gary & Jo (the owners) are friendly and made us very welcome every night. You have got to try the giant WooWoo cocktail, it's gorgeous. I cant wait to go back, had the best holiday ever

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,662 reviews
8.2 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Property: Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing