We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 STAR AVERAGE nothing too special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“4 STAR AVERAGE nothing too special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Didn't realise hotel was catered for Saga guests (not my cup of tea really, little under age for Saga holidays!) Was put in room 2107 on first night, absolutely horrendous, air con didn't work, crawling with cockroaches, fridge didn't work, couldn't have door open to let air in as it was on ground floor! Went to reception next morning to be told might be able to change you but later today - as it happens they did, and we were on 3rd floor (view of mountains). Room as average, nothing special for a 4 star hotel, food average, staff average, everything average!

Room Tip: always request high floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryn716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    483
    369
    181
    137
See reviews for
496
561
36
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I returned to Aguamarina Golf Hotel for the second year running. We booked again this year after a very enjoyable week last year. We arrived on 23rd November which coincidently is almost exactly the same week as last year. The hotel is in a quiet area which suited my wife and I as this was a total chill week for us before the rigours of winter. We found the staff to be really helpful and cheery if you make an effort. We were recognised by some of the bar staff and some of the other hoteliers ferom our visit the previous year. As I said it is a quiet area and a quiet hotel( we are 49 - nearly SAGA time !!!!!) so if you are looking for rowdy, late resort this is not for you. The hotel boasts a very basic shop but does carry alot for its size. There is only one bar functioning at this time of year and so later at night near the end of all inclusive it can get busy but other than that you don't have to wait any length of time, as I said the guys/gals on the bar respond to you if you make an effort to get to know them. The rooms are spacious and clean maybe a little tired but beds are comfy, fridge works, bathroom good everything was working perfectly, we were in 211 which was quiet with view over the pool area and onto the sea. There is no english channels on TV except the news channels though. The food was just fine - no complaints. We have stayed in five star hotels with incredible food but PAID five star prices, there was not a breakfast, lunch or dinner that we could not find something we really enjoyed. The wine was a bit hit or miss - for 70% of the holiday the white was very drinkable but the 30% remaining left alot to be desired. My wife in particular enjoyed the freshly made pancakes for breakfast ( and we enjoyed watching two Russian? gentleman demolish a bottle of red wine every morning-go for it guys) There are no snacks to talk of but at the bar you can get peanuts and olives on A.I. The pool is cold but it was November and there were no problems getting loungers being that it was quieter. There is no need to take a beach towel as you can get one for 10e and recieve a full refund when returned. You can walk to San Blas along the beach front along the path - there is a bit where the path is not complete for about 50m it is walkable though and there is more shops bars etc in San Blas to explore.The French "animation team" who provided the entertainment were all really energetic and fun and as always if talk to them or get involved you will have fun - it is up to you. All in all great value for money we will definitely be back probably bumping in to Bill, Tommy and Fritz next year. If choose this hotel you can have a great time or spend your holiday comparing to other holidays that may have cost alot more. Enjoy

Room Tip: WE stayed both times on the second floor which was easy take stairs if lift was busy the lower no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I really expected something different but wasnt so bad. Hotel is near golf courses and for me very important near Irish Pub :) We had small problem when we arrived but everything was solved quickly. Food was average and many times too fat. Hotel is close to the beach and just a few minutes driving from Los Cristianos and Las Americas. Hotel has two swimming pools and mini golf.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sikanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for 6 days in mid November, it was still lovely weather at around 23c.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport, it's in a relatively remote area not far from Los Cristianos. There is a black sanded little beach a walk away in the close but this is definitely not beach side! A bus runs for free to Americas and Cristianos though.

The lobby area is very nice and clean. The staff are polite but mostly unfriendly. The bar staff can be slightly surly!

The room had a duplex bedroom and living room area with a fridge. There's towels, sheets and a fan/air con. Unfortunately there's no kettle which would obviously be nice to make a decent tea or coffee.

The food was buffet style with quite a variation including fresh meat and veggie and fish options. Plenty of choice for brekkie. A great salad bar. The restaurant is opened at set hours.

The bar is open for alcohol all inclusive from 11am to 11pm. Water/coffee avaliable before 11am. I would avoid the local spirits as they are pretty nasty!

Cons:

- No free wifi (not even in the lobby area), in these days even supermarkets offer free wifi in Tenerife. Sort it out.

- Breakfast could be open a little later (on till 10am)

- local spirits aren't pleasant and you'll regret it!

- kettle in room isn't a luxury!

- pool area/sun lounger space is small, no local beach so you'd struggle in summer

- pool bar not open in low season, drinks in plastic cups

Pros:

- all inclusive is cheap and you get plenty for your money

- the pool/social staff are friendly

- hotel is clean and in good order

- go to the Irish bar round the corner, the tapas bar is also nice, los Cristianos is very cheap and cheerful

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this hotel for a three night break. 28th Novemeber 2013.

Only a short taxi ride from Tenerife South airport.

Very friendly and helpful staff. All speak very good english.

Stayed half board. Buffet style breakfast and evening meal. Lots of choice and all fresh and regularly topped up.

Drinks were cheap as well. Spacious room with good view of the pool and sea.

Lots of local bars and restaurants again cheap and good quaility.

We had an excellent stay and hope to return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrStevens000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just returned from this hotel 11th November for 8days lovely hotel staff really nice and pleasant we got upgraded to a suite which was really nice view of the marina room was clean and cleaned every day food couldn't fault it drinks the same the only thing I could say was entertainment was lawful it was all geared up for French good Irish bar down the road but all in all good hotel would go back

Room Tip: Room 324 suite nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at the Aguamarina Golf Hotel from November 16th to the 23rd on half board basis. Had a great time apart from the family next door waking us up at 7am every morning, shouting and banging doors.
Food was really good most days. The cleaner was fantastic. Our room was over looking the marina which was absolutely stunning.
There was a free bus to Los cristianos and las Americas three times a day which was great.
Entertainment was french people who thought they were funny but were not. But we would rather do our own thing anyway. Local supermarket next to the Irish pub was a rip off so avoid.
We would definitely return to this hotel. People that complain about food etc need to wake up. For what you pay the hotel is an absolute bargain. If you want 5 star pay 5 star prices!!

Room Tip: Room number 2209. Absolutely perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
26.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Property: Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aguamarina Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing