We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad,"but"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a week here first week in november.Had no trouble checking in, reception staff efficient and helpful, as they were whenever we required any help or information.We had a sea view room which was spacious but basic in reasonable good order,towels replaced daily and housekeeping first class.We found the food overall a fairly high standard, meat dishes cooked well without being over cooked and as good a choice as any 3 star hotels... but it's classed 4 star and i'm afraid it falls a bit short of the mark.Our main concern was the sun beds,as there is no beach to speak of,most of our time was spent here,and the main pool area had ample beds for the number of guests,although none of which were adjustable.So if you don't want to lay in a prone position all day you were out of luck.A separate sun deck had adjustable beds but about 70% were broken,so I'm afraid i was up early each morning to get one that was not broken! Evening entertainment dire! nuff said there.Good points now, hotel entrance impressive and public areas kept pristine with loads of comfortable chairs,hotel is in a nice clean quiet location overlooking marina with ample restaurants and a couple of bars if you want a change of scene.Lovely paved walks along the rugged coast line is a bonus as is the short journey from the airport.Planes flew low over the hotel but it was not a problem for us,in fact i found it pretty interesting,price you pay for the short transfer.Talking of transfers,a free coach to los christianos and playa de americos runs a couple of times a day from the hotel which was punctual and comfortable.Finally the bar,bar staff a bit surly,as they all seem to be out here,but when they're not busy and you're polite they can come across quite charming.Difficult job serving people from several different countries.Local brands free on all inclusive and a modest charge on international drinks.All in all a very relaxed time was had here,and if they addressed a few things it could be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RushdenDavenbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and had a fantastic break away with a friend. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The food was good and despite our daily promise to take it easy we over ate every meal...it seemed wrong not to try a little of everything when it all looked so good! Plenty to choose from catering for all tastes. The Spanish food was of course the best. The staff were pleasant and friendly and seemed to speak every language thrown at them. The pool was smallish but I only swam in the sea off a small black sand beach. A separate area was available away from the pool for a quieter sunbathing experience. The only disappointment there was the number of broken sun loungers. The adjacent apartments have a dive centre on site which I used to try out scuba for the first time. Very exciting. Head out the back of the hotel and turn left to follow a lovely coastal path. Went jogging every morning as the sun rose...idyllic! Hotel is only 10mins (15EUR) taxi ride from the airport. Was great seeing all the planes flying in and out but I was never disturbed by their noise. Overall really pleased with my stay and (unusual for me) would definitely consider returning!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Returned today 30th October. Booked 4 star all inclusive hotel and due to 'a problem with the room' ended up in a pretty grotty apartment next door at the Aguamarina Apartments. Not a relaxing experience I'm afraid because everyone is constantly scrutinised by the 'all inclusive police'. I've never had such a regimented uncomfortable all inclusive break. I could write a book about the experience but for ease of reading I have listed the major points:
- Most of the staff were unbelievably surly and blatantly rude
- The apartment was shabby and in need of renovation, the hand basin in the bathroom was loose as were all the handrails presumably supposed to be for elderly or handicapped visitors.
- The beds were very hard and had thick plastic sheets which were hard and noisy.
- The complementary shower gel was in a dirty dispenser (ironically) and was very masculine in odour.
- The pool bar was closed despite the hotel apparently being full. Everyone had to go into the hotel where there was usually one person on the bar.
- The hotel bar staff were surly and I saw one of them smile once but only because he knocked a drink over a guest.
- Cheap small plastic cups always only half full (of sprite, beer or coke).
- Customers paying cash were always served first.
- There was an additional fee for Wi-Fi which was patchy and unreliable and because we had been moved to the apartments we were expected to pay twice; Once for the apartments and again for the hotel where we spent our days. I eventually won the 'discussion' with the receptionist and only paid once. It wasn't worth it.
- There were lots of sun beds but was not enough space for them around the pool. So everyone was squashed together.
All things considered. I am extremely disappointed with this hotel. I have been to other All Inclusive Hotels in Tenerife and this is the worst by far. For the price I could be forgiven for expecting a little luxury - I should have gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful location not too far from the livelier resorts (free shuttle bus).
The hotel has the potential to offer a luxury holiday in an idyllic location, but is clearly understaffed and running on a tight budget.
The animation team were hardworking and good fun, Bar staff were miserable.
Nothing wrong with the buildings or pool area, but lots of the bars and facilities were closed or shut down. The all inclusive offer was very basic, although the food was OK but the same everyday. We had to eat all our meals indoors in a curtained restaurant - like a work refectory.
Hotel staff operated more to police matters and monitor guests than to offer service with a smile.
THe linen was appalling, threadbare towels and a desperate shortage of guest towels, bedding and pool towels - so bring your own towels. No complimentary soap or shampoo so bring your own... THERE IS NO SPA!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just spent a week at the Aguamarina hotel (the dead zone) there is no life in this hotel at all
The reception egnore you the bar staff have no life. Drinks are given to you in small plastic cups
No bottle water no entertainment. With out local irish bar we would have been in bed by 8pm
We had to spend extra money on drinks at the pub as there was no one there
Beds hard food repetertive
Staff have given up on this hotel
Do not take kids there as you will pull your hair out with nothing do with them.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank laurence p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Aguamarina for 3 nights returning this Monday 20th. Our party consisted of 3 adults and we had a lovely time!

The hotel was a short 10 min transfer from the airport so we were by the pool in great time which was perfect for us due to the short length of our stay. Yes, you can hear and see the planes overhead but they are not always noticeable.

Yes, the hotel rooms are not 4 star but they were immaculately clean so we could not complain for the price we paid!

We received great customer service whilst staying. It was my dad's birthday whilst we were away and I did not notify the hotel before attending so we were surprised to find a name addressed letter and a bottle of champagne as a complimentary gift on the day!

The bar has standard all inclusive alcoholic drinks. We thought it was great that the fizzy drink were all the actual brands (coke, fanta lemon, fanta orange) and not the local alternatives as this is what is normally served at other all inclusive's we have visited. The food was also great, yes there was similar things every night but that is standard for an all inclusive. There was always fresh meat being cooked in the evening and lovely fresh salads.

Regarding the pool area this was always lovely and clean. They even had a full time lifeguard which we have also never seen before so a great bonus if you have younger children.

We would also recommend that you take a walk down to the marina were we went jet skiing as recommended by the reception staff at the hotel. The instructor was great fun and encouraged you to make the most of your time out with him. Great value for money and would highly recommend!

All in all this was a good value all inclusive and would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you are not leaving until after 12 on your final day be aware that your all inclusive cards will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hi me, my partner and son have just come back from here this Hotel is more a 3 star than a 4 star , the place in general is nice ( décor in luggage room was untidy n dirty) The All inclusive wasn't great either you had breakfast 7.30 till 9.30 then no other food or snacks were available then till 1.30pm which I found disgusting when I have a young child , same applied with lunch there was no other food from 3.30 till 6.30pm. The food was very repetitive every day/night, We arrived at the hotel 12'o clock midnight weren't offered any food or drinks then got told our names weren't on the list we were in the apartments it was only until I had her checking it properly she found our names. I also wasn't impressed that they didn't have a good selection of local spirits. I personally wouldn't go back to this hotel unless there was changes.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are better , with less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 5 in Golf del Sur
1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
1,795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 5 in Golf del Sur
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Annapurna Hotel Tenerife
Annapurna Hotel Tenerife
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
770 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
#10 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range: $80 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing