We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in the Oct half-term with my daughter age 11. This was a last minute booking to find some winter sun and a childrens club to keep my daughter entertained. Well that was the theory but it didn't go to plan. This was my first time to the resort and probably the last. It is on the flight path but you do get used to the planes albeit from some occasional noisy big ones. I booked a transfer through Resort Hoppa and they were very good, kept me informed regarding my departure pick up , were punctual although we did have a wait upon arrival but for £11 you couldn't complain. The hotel is geared up for the French with French staff and at times you forgot you were in Spain as French was predominately spoken. Plenty of variety of food but often there was a regular hunt for cutlery, crockery. The evening entertainment was dire, bring a book to read! The animation team were French with mainly French children attending. I left my daughter one afternoon with them but she was the only English child there, she didn't speak French and they spoke little English so she felt rather uncomfortable and didn't go again. Little to do in resort, the shuttle buses to Americas/Christinos a godsend and if you stayed for more than a week you would go up the wall. That all said, the room was very clean, beds made and towels changed every day. The hotel was very clean, often you would see cleaners polishing at 10pm. Unfortunately the weather was poor so the indoor pool came into it's own. The trip to Aqualand was the highlight of the week, but catch the hotels bus to Christinos where there's a free bus to Aqualand but not on a Saturday or Sunday. Wouldn't return maybe to Americas or other resort where's there's a bit more life!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    540
    403
    193
    149
See reviews for
574
609
36
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Aguamarina Golf Hotel from 3rd- 11th Nov, no real complaints, reception staff very polite and helpful. Bar staff could get a bit stressed when busy but again on the whole polite, the food was way above average, never had any trouble making a meal. This Hotel itself is spotless , yes the rooms could do with updating but they're still of a good standard. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the pool area (a bit scruffy). I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel . Proper value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very close to a small but lovely black sand beach. It was lovely and quiet. The food was excellent with a fantastic choice every lunch and dinner. there was always pasta if you didnt fancy any of the disheds on offer. The hotel was great an indoor swimmimg pool and a great outdoor pool and a kids pool. the reception staff were rreally helpful.

Our room over looked the sea, where we saw dolphins most morning. There is also a trip which leaves from the local marina to go dolphin nand whale watcjing. beats the big trip out playa americas and los christianos hands down.

dont pay for transfers though the airport was only 15 euros and you dont ave to hang around waiting for a coach.

Would definetly go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We returned to this hotel for a 3rd visit the last time being 6years ago. The overall appearance of the outside and the decor inside was good, We asked and paid for a sea view and were not disappointed our room was fine.The food was not quite as good this time,and there seemed to be shortages of cutlery and cups etc.This is a hotel geared up mainly for French guests as the animation team were French and there were a lot of them when we stayed, The entertainment in the evening had hardly changed from 6 yrs ago. Children were running up and down the ramp in the lounge making a nuisance for older guests,and the parents seemed oblivious to this.The staff were mainly courteous and helpful but the young lady at reception had forgotten how to smile and was rather abrupt,Sorry but I will not return here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good and the side view facing the Golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

i/we friends and family stayed here many times in the past it was one of the best in the area , but now sorry to say it is very near the bottom (that is the time you spend in the loo thinking my god i could swing a cat in here and put it on the grill in the restaurant it would taste better ( say no more ).for the last 4 years we have rented a month in the area there is approx 12 of us at one time and we would go for dinner at the aqua once a week but not any more ,expensive, poor quality ,poor staff.its time the management woke up and thought !! my god these people are paying our wages.

Room Tip: another hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golf del Sur hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ok it poured down all week, which put a dampner on the holiday to start with, apparently it hadn't rained for nine months.

In brief hotel a bit tired, needs a face lift, food pretty good, AI option not great, need to show cards and gaps in service and early closing, no self service options. Beds uncomfortable, and one child on a camper bed.

Kids entertainment team did make an effort, but really geared up for french tourists really, and older residents, it has a SAGA suite. One plus is that it is close to the airport which is a bonus, planes fly over the hotel, but not an issue.

Hotel staff in the majority were just collecting their wages, bigger taxi not possible, towels not readily available. Travelled to Dubai in August, service a different world, OK more expensive but been to better places in Gran Canaria and Lanzarote for similar money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman abroad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Located conveniently within a 15 minute drive west of the airport, the hotel offered a pleasant stay but certainly English the minority in a mainly French hotel, not that this was an issue. Rooms clean but dated with a double bed being two beds pushed together. Standard of food was reasonable; certainly tasty but let down by the instant machine coffee that tasted as salty as the pool! Pool looked tired and dated compared to the cheaper but much more impressive apartment complex next door that also offered far superior views of the sea. Best of the hotel was the evening entertainment. Thank you to Monica for all her efforts - she was great fun and did everything she could to ensured people enjoyed the entertainment she had organised. All inclusive option finishes at the lunchtime of your departure and beverages are local drinks, as opposed to branded items. We found all the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly, not that we found any need to call upon them.

Room Tip: Watch your room key card - purely by accident we took the lift to the wrong floor and found ourselve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#5 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,096 reviews
8.2 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#52 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,961 reviews
26.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Property: Aguamarina Golf Hotel
Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing