We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food with great customer service”
Review of Sakura Tieppanyaki

Sakura Tieppanyaki
Ranked #10 of 60 Restaurants in Golf del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing food with great customer service”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is our favourite restaurant in Tenerife.

The food is absolutely first class as is the customer service. The Tieppanyaki show is good, however, the food is even better than the show! The restaurant has a sea front so it is lovely to sit out watching the sunset.

Jimmy is a fantastic host and makes everyone feel very welcome. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noblesness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    115
    55
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“enjoyable but a question mark over HYGIENE”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first teppanyaki and it was an enjoyable experience and novel to watch the skill of the chef cook the meal at the teppan bar.

A little unsure about having my food thrown at my mouth hoping I would catch it - a bit of fun but a waste of food when it ends upon the floor.

I would have scored this higher based on the tasty food and experience if it hadnt been for seeing some of the questionable hygiene issues.

1/ The floors are really greasy and in need of a good steam clean - we were sliding about on it.
2/ The loos look they have never seen cleaning materials.
3/ and the worst put-off was the thick black grease on the walls and light switch next to the Teppan - photos attached.

Fortunately we were not unwell after the meal but if this is the standard of cleanliness in the restaurant I wonder what it is like in the kitchen. Just pleased ours was cooked on the Teppan where we could see it.

We would have returned if had not been for this concern.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jedderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food so fresh, and tasty”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here on many occasions over several years both the set menu and the grill with the chef

The set menu is unbeatable for the price , we always enjoy the food and the surroundings help. Same staff year after year, you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank kimruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited here after reading reviews and checking the menu. Went for the 2 course set menu with free drink, good value, decent portions, free wifi, speedy service. Given free drink with the bill, one of only 2 restaurants we received this from during our week's holiday.
Would return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asset2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yum yum and more yum”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have just come back from Tenerife after a week break I ate at the restaurant of four occasions everytime I visit Tenerife I pay them a visit shouldn't be missed. I would highly recommend going the food is delicious. Excellent variety of food enjoyed the set menu starting with miso soup, spring rolls sushi y sashimi, beef, fried ice cream. Absolutely delicious. The staff are very friendly and it has a great atmosphere by far the best tepanyaki I've eaten in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claremm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Tieppanyaki also viewed

Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 

Been to Sakura Tieppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing