We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY CLEAR FROM THE BOGUS PLACE!”
Review of Winter Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golf del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winter Gardens
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“STAY CLEAR FROM THE BOGUS PLACE!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were let down by Purely Creative Wewanna  and Pearly Grey Ocean Club who directed us to Winter Gardens claiming we were booked in.
On the arrival the receptionist called the manager, who did not appear for a while. After several complaints, a shifty person appeared and told us a bogus story about expecting us later. He led us to a tired looking apartment without checking passports. He quickly showed us the apartment. We asked him several times if the apartment was definitely for us and he confirmed it was. When he left we noticed some personal letters to the owner of the apartment, which looked strange as the apartment supposed to be rented. We also noticed that the safe was locked and the manager did not give us the key. We think that he just left us in someone 's apartment without owner's knowledge. If I had an apartment there, I would worried. He was back within the space of 5 minutes, gesturing 'I hope you have not unpacked yet as you are the wrong people'. Then he said we need to check with some offices on the side to find out where we were staying and when we did, they did not know anything about as he was the only one in charge.
In general, the place inside looked tired with a tiny swimming pool and old lifts. You could hear aircrafts flying over to the airport next door. The surrounding area is a building site and the manager looked unreliable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
7 Thank Sveta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
26
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I rented this apartment via Holiday Lettings, the entire process was smooth and had great communication from the owner and the named property manager.
Apartment is 3 bedroomed, with an ensuite and a further shower room.
The kitchen is large and well stocked complete with toaster etc. and a washing machine.
Large lounge with TV, DVD etc.
Lovely comfy chair on the balcony for reading :)
Free towels, bed linen and use of safe.
My only gripe would be the ceiling fans weren't that effective, but the named manager kindly brought a fan for my daughter.
Winter Gardens pool is lovely and clean, key only access and plenty of sunbeds.
Didn't sample the food at the restaurant as ate out and about every day.

San Blas is just down the road with lovely restaurants, The Country Kitchen is excellent with fantastic food and lovely staff, we ate here numerous times.
Free WiFi next door which resulted in a happy daughter!
The TAJ Indian restaurant wasn't that great the food was very bland.
The Great Wall Chinese was awful, food deep fried and greasy.
There is evening entertainment in the square, Jo Cassidy is great to listen to.

There is an onsite supermarket here which is ok for bread / milk until you can go to the main supermarket which is much cheaper.

Car hire is essential to explore the island, we pre booked a convertible with Auto Reisen which was excellent and hassle free.

Places to visit.
The Palms bar is great for a night out, they make great Sangria, food is good and The Colin Stevens show is great on a Sunday night.

El Mandano is near by, has a great beach, bars close by (avoid a Sunday it's madness there)

Siam Water Park is a brilliant day out, go early, opens at 10am but you need to queue at 9am, head in the park turn left for the sun beds. Own food is not permitted and bags are searched.

The Quad Park is great for the sporty types, they collected us from outside the hotel, beware you will get dirty.

Los Christianos and Las Americas are nice too but takes ages to park, and you do get hassled by street pedlars.

The Forestal Park was a great day out, a new excursion of high ropes the biggest being 30M in the air and a combination of zip wires. Decent level of fitness is required and an obvious head for heights! Locate the website and use Sat Nav Co-ordinates as you will never find it without as there are no signs until you arrive. The Sat Nav took us right there. Beware you will get very dirty. The onsite staff were very helpful, take some food as only a drinks machine available. Stop on the way down and admire the view it's amazing.
Booked the Forestal Park and Quad Park with Tenerifesunshine.com who I have used numerous times before and are excellent.
Siam was booked with TenerifeExcursion.com, the rep met us at our hotel and we paid there and received the tickets.

Had a great holiday, been to the Golf 5 times and will never tire of it.
PS please feed the cats on the building site opposite they have a passion for ham :)

Room Tip: Ours was on the first floor, with lift access available if required, the most annoying thing is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MazzaH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went for 10 days and stayed in a private apartment in Winter Gardens. I'm only 18 and I went with my mum,dad, 2 sisters and my boyfriend. So relaxing and enjoyable stay. Local bars served nice foods. Wild geese, and grande odonells bar was great! Met some very nice people and would definitely recommend going if you want to relax! Also it's full of excursion shops we went to the monkey park, not really much in there and a very short day out! But golf del sur was great! Will defiantly going again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Hels9419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of june,the apartment was great,the place was central to everything. We had 2 great meals whilst staying there,one in the bistro and one in the restaurant. The restaurant was approx £70 for the two of us for a three course meal with drinks,the meal was one of the best we have had in several years staying in the golf del sur area.The service and presentation was lovely as well

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrenmarLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was my second visit to Winter Gardens in two years , everything about the complex is just brilliant,the apartment we rent is outstanding with everything you could wish for. The pool at the complex is thee cleanest i have ever been in and very well maintained.The controller this year was called Christos, fab guy who became my friend.The bistro is as good as ever and i must say that the Rendezvous restaurant is probably thee best in town and i have tried all of them.Yep i know there doesn't seem to be much life in the area, but hey ho you can get a taxi to Los Christianos outside the complex or a bus ! We Iove it that much that we have booked to come back for two weeks in April and two weeks in July next year .

Room Tip: choose whom you book your apartment with carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andy4519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I booked to go to Tenerife this August and once I had read the reviews about winter gardens I was so worried and shocked. The apartment we stayed in was absolutely lovely and clean. The people that we rented from could not have been more helpful if they tried. I read loads of reviews about 'Toni' apartments and was so worried that we would end up in a hell hole,,,,, as it goes I have to stay that this was one of the best apartments that I have every stayed in!!!! The controller as they comment on is the life guard how doesn't allow the kids to jump in the pool for their own safety!!! For me this was brilliant as I didn't need to keep a watch on my kids as I knew that he was looking out for them. Not a monster just a really nice guy !

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayreviewer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Was sold this holiday as a five star gated community with good local entertainment ,well the local entertainment turned out to be the residents playing bowls and the CONTROLLER who anywhere else would have been called a lifeguard playing hide and seek to try and catch the kids dive bombing in an almost empty pool.This is not five star but might suit elderly people wanting a quiet holiday away from everything .Would recommend bistro across the road for iced beer and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Gardens

Property: Winter Gardens
Address: 25295 Golf del Sur, Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Golf del Sur
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Winter Gardens Hotel Golf Del Sur
Winter Gardens Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing