We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Break, a week is enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good Break, a week is enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was treated to a late October break coutesy of my good lady and came to the White Sands with a view to having a few days relaxing and then a few days of hiking the Cami de Cavalls. It was easy enought to find with my aging sat-nav, parking is on the right against the complex and reception is clearly signed from the road.
As previous reviewers have stated the steps in the complex are worthy of Chris Bonnington, however once at reception level its not too bad. Check in was a breeze, very helpful and we were allocated room 608. On entering it was airy and clean, big enough bathroom and a kitchen area. The balcony overlooked the central area where you could be highly amused at night watching the cats fight. My money was always on the black cat with one ear and a short tail.
So the good points for us were that it was clean and had everything we needed. There was nothing insurmountable about any issues (wifi sketchy at best and not free but used the Whites bar if needed, I am on holiday, emails can wait). Recption will lend books and guides so we did a bit of reading before hiking the trails. The bad point was the beds were mighty uncomfortable.

Whites Bar was OK for drinks and food and have various theme nights, Karaoke was fun and the food was just to be expected of such a place. Filling, resonable in price and varied. Didn't have breakfast there however.
The resort was coming to a close but we went out do some local hostelries for an evening walk. Mostly average except Alcalde (see other review) and the menus are somewhat the same.
The small beach was fun but we only used it for two afternoons, sea cold but a couple of 500m swims to the other side of the bay kept me warm. It does miss the late sun due to its aspect. The pool is colder and you have to wait for el lifeguard to turn up.
I tend not to go back to the same place twice but I would give this complex another go, if only to complete the Cami de Cavalls. All in all a pleasant stay, even with a day andf a half worth of storms, which were cool to watch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    69
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
115
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the White Sands Beach Club from 17th October to 24th October. Had booked 2 apartments for our party of 10.

On arrival we were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young lady. Who efficiently checked us in and gave some very useful information regarding on-site activities, bus times, etc. One apart. ready the other not, so plonked ourselves at Whites Bar for a welcome drink.

Weather surprisingly hot. And whilst outside of the control of the resort we continued to have pretty good weather for the whole week. Although at this time of year the sun is mostly a lost cause after 5-6pm due to the resort's east facing position.

Beer and food at White's reasonably priced & good quality and proved to be our refreshment & eating mainstay throughout the holiday. This was mostly down to the fact that pretty much all the bars in and around Arenal D'en Castell were either closed or running on reduced hours due to the end of season. But we were never disappointed with what we were served at White's.

Also the staff at White's Bar were extremely friendly and accommodating...especially Johnattan (excuse spelling).

We had a couple of meals at the El Mirador (atop a few steps from White Sands) which again were very good and whilst slightly more expensive that White's Bar still reasonable value. Another couple from our party went to Smithy's bar/restaurant (again uphill of the resort - as most things are) and reported that they had a great meal.

The pool area is a lovely little place, very well maintained with classy furniture, lifeguard on duty and the infinity aspect overlooking the bay is quite spectacular. The only issue I have with the pool is, and this may only be an out-of-season issue, is that it was extremely cold. But once in not too bad. The sea was considerably warmer.

The small beach is great for quick access and whilst there was a lot of seaweed, was still usable. But the larger bay to the right has a lovely beach and really clear, shallow water. Fantastic for kids. A couple of restaurants were open by the larger bay throughout the day and provided nice meals again quite reasonably priced.

The resort gardens are well maintained and we spent many an afternoon in the square (garden) (avoiding dropping figs ;) ) trying to catch the last of the afternoon sun.

Two supermarkets close by the resort (uphill) providing most things you'd need...again I think they might have been running stock down due to the end of season.

A Pharmacy and Doctors were close by (uphill again) should you (hopefully not) need them.

Had been informed bus stop was "outside" resort - but we didn't see it. The nearest appeared to be uphill of the resort. The nature of the hilliness, whilst it may appear to be an issue, was not. For me anyway - and I would imagine not for anybody that is reasonably fit. But we had some slightly more elderly people in our party and they did at times struggle with the steps and hills. And it was a bit of a pain to get to the bus stop for them. Bus times were fairly regular and you could get to Mahon, Fornells, Es Mercadel (and somewhere else). Due to the smallness of the island journeys aren't too long...I think it took us 35 minutes or so to get to Mahon,

As we had a party of 10 our accommodation was split over 2 apartments. Ours had "original" decor whilst the other was a "refurb". Ours was pleasant enough...a few scratches, broken tiles and general wear & tear, but still clean and well appointed.

The other apartment was...stunning. Beautifully refitted with complementary decoration, quality fitments and all round quite spectacular. Made me a little jealous....

All in all a very enjoyable stay at a lovely resort. We have stayed at Diamond Resort accommodation before and I have to say that this just bolsters their already excellent reputation.

Gary Woods.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort 13-20th October, whilst we were there the weather was 28 degrees. Accommodation was spotless and comfortable, cleaning was done alternate days. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Couldn't fault the resort although not very impressed with the on site restaurant but not a problem as others to choose from nearby. We hired a car through economy car hire who used hiper who were very efficient and reasonable although you do have to pay for full tank. Island is gorgeous so overall an excellent break. We didn't find the cats a problem.Had lovely sea views from the first floor balcony and roof terrace.

Room Tip: The villas round the reception area were very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to stay - even in Oct when it doesnt get so hot there like during summer.
We did enjoy it! the view is extra lovely and the place is nicely kept. The only thing which we didnt like were the cats - walking all over the place - maybe it d be worth to look at that.
Sometimes it was no possible to leave the door opened as they re coming in to the apartment.
A bit scary special if you stay with the small children.
The apatment was really nice and comfy. We stayed in 602 - no sea view but eventhough we re happy. The room wasnt cleaned tho during our stay - no problem as we had enough toewls etc.
Inside we found everything what we needed - air con, flat tvs - one in the bedroom one in the living are, the kitchen had all the stuff which you can think of. Planty towels in the bathroom, the hairdryer. Nice comfy bed - abit too short for us but oh well! you cant have everything :)
Shame we didnt get so much sun. the swimming area was really nice too and at least we didnt have to fight for the sunbeds. There is also the little private beach available- needs to be cleaned tho.
You can upgrade for b fast and dinner for 17.50 euros.
and yes it worth to rent the car and explore Menorca - by bus you wont be able to get everywhere.

Room Tip: top floor might be better as cats cant get in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaLa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at White Sands Beach Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at White Sands Beach Club! We have to agree that our climate makes Menorca a fantastic location to gently welcome Autumn cool down. We are happy that you have found the facilities welcoming and the apartment cosy. We would like to take his opportunity and advise that as part of our company policy for protecting the environment, a new cleaning system was introduced this year with the aim to prevent unnecessary wastage of resources and henceforth the frequency of cleaning depends on the length of stay. We always try to ensure that the details of this new service are given to guests at check in, so we apologize if this was not the case on this occasion or if there was any misunderstanding.

We are sorry, however, if your stay with us was disrupted by the presence of cats around the resort. The cats are wild and although quite friendly, we ask our guests not to encourage them by feeding them. Unfortunately we can’t prevent this from happening, and as a consequence the cats can on occasions return to the resort.

Finally with regards to the beach, there are no privately owned beaches in Spain, and therefore it is not owned by us, however the Town Hall regularly supervise its cleaning and whenever we are made aware by our guests that it needs cleaning, we always call them to advise. Occasionally, depending on the weather and wind direction, seaweed is washed up on the beach and this is never cleared immediately in order to protect the coastline from erosion.

We are however happy to learn that the above issues have not detracted you from enjoying your holiday and on behalf of all the staff here at White Sands Beach Club we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

Kind regards
Begoña Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford. W Mids UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are a family of three who enjoyed 9 nights at White Sands. This was our 1st time here. Great location. Infinity pool lovely, small beach on resort was fine, you could walk, swim or climb around to the large beach, which was never full. we hired a car to see the island. I would recomend a car although some people on the resort hadn't and there was a bus service. Reception and staff helpful and polite. As mentioned there are some steps around the resorts but as three able bodied people this was not an issue to us.We had a great apartment, spacious, spotlessly clean ( Thanks Norma the cleaner!!) wonderful view of pool and bay. Beds really comfortable. Bar on resort really resonable, we didn't eat there at night but did have an occasional lunch time snack which was fine. All in all a wonderful holiday and we will definately go back.

Tip: Jeep Safari is a brilliant day out!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perculators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Upon arriving at the White Sands Beach Club we were greeted with a drink at reception. Our room was ready earlier than anticipated so it was great to have more of the day to explore. We had requested a sea view but unfortunately a room wasn't available. However we did have a pleasant surprise with views overlooking the bay and the gardens. The rooms are well equipped and are bright and airy.
White's restaurant was reasonably priced and had speciality nights for food. They also had some form of entertainment going on every night but only had live music once a week.
To the right of the hotel there is a walk along the cliff tops to Son Saura. This is a beautiful walk that takes about half an hour to the beach.
The beach in Arenal is beautiful too. Arenal has alot of choices of restaurants,shops and supermarkets.
Just a note of advice, you may need to limber up before entering the hotel infinity pool as it is a little chilly, however once you're in it is worth it and at this time of year there are plenty of sunbeds. We will definitely stay at this resort again when we next visit Menorca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at White Sands Beach Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had a great time at the White Sands Beach Club – thank you for your review!

We make every effort to fulfil accommodation requests made by our guests, and we’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to do so on this occasion. We’re delighted that the apartment which you occupied met with your satisfaction, however!

We hope that you’ll get another opportunity to stay here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Begonia Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

our first time and everything was great ,the apartment was spotless and comfy,the staffs are very friendly, and the whole area is just nice and convenient. the little beach and the main beach was wonderful and not too crowded, it's fill mostly by family as well...our little one enjoy playing in the sand and swimming the hollow water , even went to the rock bit and enjoy looking at the little fishes ... the only negative thing is the WIFI , we cant get any signal inside our room (which on the top floor)and have to go out to the balcony , even then it's very unstable and keep cutting off ...but apart from that we really really enjoyed it and already plan to come back again ..

Room Tip: ask for ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at White Sands Beach Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the White Sands Beach Club!

We’re sorry to read that you experienced some issues with the in-room Wi-Fi service during your stay, however. Please be assured that the resort’s management team does everything they can to resolve issues of this nature as soon as they arise, and we sincerely hope that that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable holiday.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Begonia Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
13.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
10.2 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
19.8 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Club

Property: White Sands Beach Club
Address: Avenida Ronda 3, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Arenal d'en Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Club Hotel Arenal d`En Castell
White Sands Beach Club Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing