We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”
Review of Isla Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isla Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very relaxed and unassuming holiday complex. We were on the second floor and the view of the sea, rocks, bay etc was stunning in my opinion. The room was perfect for our family of four. With two bedrooms, we didn't have to put someone on a sofa bed which is a real treat. We stayed half board and found the food and service to be excellent. Antonio the head waiter is charming and keeps everything running efficiently. Evening entertainment isn't up to much, but is provided for those who want it. The best thing for us was the fact that it all quietens down by 10.30-11pm. Not for those who want a wild evening, but with pre-teen children it's the last thing we would want, The location was spot on for us. I particularly liked the fact that we could either stay by the pool or take a couple of mins walk to the bay where the sand is clean and soft and the swimming is easy. I can' t think why I wouldn't want to go back!

Room Tip: have a higher room if you can cope with the steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 618 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited this hotel at the end of the season on a late deal from direct travel. The resort was deserted with most of it closed down which suited us perfectly. Unfortunately Arenal d'en Castell is mostly a purpose build resort so lacks the charm and character we usually look for. We hired a car so that we could go and visit the rest of the island. This would be an ideal location if you wanted a pure beach holiday, however we like to explore a little.
The accomodation was excellent, good pools, and spacious rooms. The only criticism would be the rusting bath taps and the really uncomfortable sofa bed in the lounge.
The real let down of the hotel is the food. In most buffets you are usually challenged with how to smuggle food out. We were challenged with how to smuggle food in. We ended up brining our own jams and cereals to supplement breakfast. This is because they provide a very cheap standard of buffet, which is hampered even further by the ability to over cook everything. The staff were excellent and very friendly, however I am convinced that the buffet is funded solely from the drinks bills at the evening meal.
Overall this was a good place and was excellent value for the price we paid. If we were to visit Menorca again (unlikely) then we would probably stay elsewhere and pay a little more money for a better hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we arrived on the 24th september with our five and eight year old sons and our ten month old daughter.The resort is beautiful and looked even better than the pictures.we were greeted by m
Mary who was very friendly, and informed us that our apartment was all ready for us.The apartment was clean and spacious with all of the basics you would expect.We were in apartment 466 with stunning sea views from our balcony on one side,and pool views on the other.the children loved the pools, although they were rather chilly!! on the plus side there were ample sunbeds to go around.always check the green box by the pool,as people leave behind items such as pool toys etc. We went half-board and found the food to be of a very high standard,with a massiveselection to choose from we have an incredibly fussy five year old, and even he found things he liked every time! Jose the maitre'd is lovely and always greeted each family personally.All of the restaurant staff are lovely,and pay special attention to the children.there are a lot of steps around the complex which would be a problem for anybody with mobility issues.we simply carried our daughters buggy down,which wasn't too bad.we had a slight problem with ants towards the end of the week,which we had been warned about.
On the whole though,we had an amazing time and absolutely loved the resort and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: in the 400's have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staceyhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had spotted this accomodation & was impressed by the great reviews by other people....& it did NOT let us down!!!! We travelled with a 2 year old and for this, the resort was perfect.

Arenal d'en castell is on a slope and so there are lots of steps - not impossible but definately not advisable for people with poor mobility! Our son thought it was fun!! The beach has beautiful clear water very safe for children and clean sand. There are parks for the little ones and a little train that gives a tour of the resort as well as the great bus links for the rest of the island. The resort is semi quiet (but we did visit end of season) - but we saw no restaurnats with horrid food pictures and crabby commercialism!
For those who enjoy walking, there is plenty of walking routes withing Arenal but also accross island. We walked to the nearby resort of Son Park which took around 45mins. Menorca has a very clear walkingsystem around the coast with well marked paths on the yellow footpath sign system.

The Isla Paraiso is a very clean well maintained accomodation. It is only 2 accomodation blocks high and set around the central pools & gardens. For anyone looking to stay here, I would fully ...fully ...fully... recommend staying half board - amazing value for money, great choices and top chef standard.
Very helpful reception staff for any questions you have....!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeatherMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived late but met happily by Mary who explained everything to us & because we were half board we had been left a cold selection of food in our fridge which was great. There were alot of steps around the hotel & to the beach, but we had been warned so it wasn't a surprise but would definitely not suit anyone with walking difficulties. The resort was pretty quiet but it was the end of the season - the kids activities were arranged really well & both of ours had fun (aged 10 & 6). The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful especially Jose, the restaurant maitre d', every evening he would greet you with a smile & a handshake & ask about your day - the personal touch that so many hotels are missing! Thanks Jose. We had read alot of reviews which mentioned ants being a problem at the hotel but we did not experience this. Our 2 bed apartment was great & the room service was excellent - rooms cleaned every day & beds changed every 3rd day - wow!! The pools were great although a little on the cold side for us grown ups!! Our only reason for not scoring 5/5 would have to be the beds! They had to be the most uncomfortable beds we had ever slept on, even the sofa bed in the living area was more comfortable. However, this would not stop us from booking there again but next would only be a week.

Room Tip: Top floor apartments have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

arrived late monday night, easy checking in process and because we were half board and dinner had finished we were left cold meats, salad and fruit in our fridge which was great. it was the end of the season and the resort was quiet, but the beach was beautiful even though it was a trek back up to the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 461 great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelchris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My review title says it all. Firstly the negative points! This is an Apart Hotel not a Hotel, and is equally aimed at those who choose self catering as it is to those who go Half board or all inclusive. Therefore the rooms tend to have a kitchen area, living area etc. My main problem was with the beds, basically they are two single beds pushed together to make a double, but with separate single bedding and sheets etc. The mattresses are so hard you might as well sleep on the floor (OK slight exaggeration but not by far), the pillows were also hard, extra long and uncomfortable.
I did mention this to Reception and they pointed out that they had a lot of complaints a couple of years ago that the mattresses were too soft, so they replaced them all...unfortunately with rock hard ones. Obviously there was nothing they could do as all the beds were the same. I had hoped that after a few days I would get used to it, but I didn't and hence after a week of sleepless nights I was glad to leave. I had not intended to write an entire review on a hotel about beds, but for us it spoilt an otherwise good hotel....so don't say you wasn't warned. On a positive side the rooms and complex were clean and tidy, staff were polite, the food was a good standard and the location was fine, close to the beach and a few bars etc. So as I said ' Shame about the beds'.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CraigTBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,786 reviews
10.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
4 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Castellsol
Apartamentos Castellsol
#6 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
111 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Paraiso

Address: Calle Estrella s/n, Es Mercadal, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Price Range: $178 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isla Paraiso 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Isla Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Paraiso Hotel Arenal d`En Castell
Isla Paraiso Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing