We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”
Review of Hotel Marina Parc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marina Parc
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned for a four day stay at Marina Parc with our grandaughter. It was ideal for us. We had booked our own flights and stayed with friends for a few days before moving onto Marina Parc because it had a pool and kids clubs for our grandaughter. We hadn't read any reviews until we returned and were surprised at some of the negative comments that we have now seen.. We all loved the water park and have no complaints about the sunbeds or equipment. The toilets could and should be better cleaned and lit but generally we felt the park was very clean. On busy days some guests were didn't bother to put their cups in the bin and this could make it look less clean.

Our grandaughter really enjoyed the kids club. She attended two days sessions and two parties and loved it all. The staff were excellent and always enthusiastic despite working very long hours.

We had never tried all inclusive before and found an excellent variety of foods at all meals. The fish was especially good. The restaurant was warm but there were always tables outside where we could sit in the shade. The staff were always very busy but always polite and helpful.

We were also very pleased with our accommodation. It was a junior suite near the kids club which was clean and comfortable for the three of us with a fantastic view over the sea.

The evening entertainment wasn't too exciting but was enough for us and on the night my grandaughter didn't attend the kids club parties she enjoyed the children's disco.

The two sports instructors that taught the yoga and aquafit were good but I felt the sessions were too short and not intense enough, more for fun than real activity.

The weather was amazing and we had an excellent few days at Marina Parc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely two weeks in menorca.The weather was amazing and the lovely pools were very welcome.Our one bed apartment was in a great position ,very close to pool 2.we went with an open mind after some reviews,and to be honest we were pleasently surprised.we had a lounge area with a pull out bed under the sofa.The sofa also turned into a single bed and were comfortable,well ,my 10 and 12 year old said so anyway ! there was a table with 4 chairs and a small kitchen with cups and a kettle etc.Our bedroom was a very good size although there wasnt much storage space for a family of four.There was a safe in the cupboard,which came in very handy.The walls were thin but to be honest we didnt really spend that much time in the room so didnt really bother us .The restaurant was fine .They really do try to please everyone .There was lots of choice ,and i found the salads really nice.The breakfasts were also good.On a previous review ,someone had made comments of people having foil and taking food back to their villas ,but this is the hotel being helpful and fair.If you want to go out for the day ,the hotel provide you with foil so you can pack up a lunch to take with you ,after all ,why buy more food when you have already paid for it .There is always lovely fresh bread and cheese and ham.To do this though ,you have to get a card with the date etc from reception.The entertainment was rubbish but amusing all at the same time.I went to the entertainment with my daughter most nights while my son and hubby plaid pool in the reception bar.The barman on the other hand is very rude in the reception bar ,his name was xvai ( i think) The pool table kept taking eveyones money and not releasing any balls ,and he was the only one with a key.He kept telling kids to put 3 euros in ,when it was only 1 euro per game :/ ,i moaned at him ,only to get a rude reply !! so be warned.Other than that the hotel staff were lovely.First choice staff stood around in reception for a while during the day.Anything we mentioned to them ,was greeted by a shrug of the shoulders.They were only there to sell well over priced excursions.we went to mahon for the day in our hired car(a must) and went on a boat trip for a fraction of the price that they were selling it for.I would go back to this hotel ,but i would never go with first choice again.There service right from the start has been a joke.They changed our flight 6 days after we booked from early morning to late afternoon,and wanted to charge us an extra 500 pounds to change it,so we lost a full day of our holiday ,thanks to them .I also feel that they over sell this hotel which leads to alot of people being disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the Marina Parc as a family for a 2week holiday by First Choice.
Whilst the children's amenities is really very good with the water park attached etc the Marina Parc its self is very budget.
The layout is a village complex with villas and apartments set in nice grounds with lovely pool areas dotted around.
We were in apartments so cannot comment on the villas but if we were ever to return then it would be to stay in a villa most of which seemed to have there own splash pool.
Rooms are basic with the one we were in, in need of a makeover. Bed really uncomfortable and creeky. the room was cleaned every other day along with the towels, which were again old \ small and with no knap on them (take your own).
There is a bit of a kitchen with fridge & cups etc so you can make tea & toast if you want.
Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbours walking and talking and everything else if you get my drift....etc plus if you are on the ground floor (which we were) you have the added problem of the upstairs noise !!.
The restaurant was in my opinion not too good.
The food was like canteen food not what you'd expect in a (they claim) "4 Star" hotel although I would class it as 2 star by condition and facility.
Having said that none of us died or got up-set tummies or in fairness went away hungry, but the food was just like mass produced and you could tell.
Every morning there is a guy cooking up front eggs \ omelette and in the evening chicken or steak , but not the best cuts in the world.
The children's entertainment was rubbish every night the same , bit of a disco for 20mins that ALL the kids loved, then for some reason they stop that and play a game of say musical chairs that lasts 40min with all the younger kids 1 to 7\8yr olds getting knocked out first by the older kid's so they have nothing to do or be entertained by, additionally most of the entertainment we endured was spoken in Spanish, I know that we are in Spain but this is a First Choice hotel with its clients coming from England and my kids have only just learnt to talk English.
The standard of drinks was quite reasonable but I cannot get my head round why at 9.45 every evening they start serving you in plastic cups, we asked the manager and he just said it was hotel policy.
Close by is a commercial area with a little super market \ resturants and bars along with a children's entertainment area with rides etc well worth a visit in the evening.
If you dive go to Marina Divers on the complex opposite the commercial area and see Roland, and ask for the swiss cheese dive the diving is brilliant in Menorca,
How would I rate it 5 out of 10

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almagettum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a family of two adults and two children aged 12 and 10, we enjoyed our stay at Marina Parc, without it being fantastic. The sad thing is, it could really be so much better with a bit of effort. The hotel itself is in a good location, with a lovely view of the sea. There are three great pool areas and an average water park, but there is little cleaning of tables or tidying up going on which encourages wasps and ants all over the place. The reason why there is so little cleaning is that there are so few staff. The staff work extremely hard and long hours, and are always pleasant and polite, especially if you try some Spanish with them, but they just can't cope. There are always queues at the bars and tables to clear yet only one bar man on duty?
We stayed at the 'quiet pool' which was nice and got a bit of a breeze. The water park was ok, but I think we've been spoiled on previous holidays with far higher quality water parks. It was very slippery though, especially at the bottom of the white 'racer' slide. I saw about 6 kids go flying in about half an hour one day and they weren't running. My son also slipped and cracked his shin on the tiles causing a massive lump and bruise, but there were no staff/lifeguards on hand to help me with first aid. Also watch your head getting out of the 'bowl' as the structure overhangs the ladder. I cracked my head just standing up. There is a kids life jacket in place to try to soften the blow, but no warning signs. Beware! It was also very busy so you need to get there early to get any sunbeds. Just be careful where you put them as the water spills out of the slides in certain areas.
The food is good but I was disappointed in the lack of Spanish food or any variations in the salads, cereals or fruit. There is decent choice and is of a good standard, but there was no a la carte as described. Spanish night and Chinese night were by far the best in terms of quality and choice. The floor in the dining room was quite slippery as well. You had to seat yourself with no direction from staff, and set your own table which meant a hunt for cutlery as it is all self service, but again there are few staff and they work extremely hard. We couldn't understand why the tea bags etc were placed at the furthest point from the hot water dispenser. Find them if you can!(end of the salad bar nearest to the hot food display)
Our room was adequate for our needs. A one bed apartment using the pull our settee for the kids was fine, however the air con was useless. A number of complaints resulted in nothing changing. Just too hot to sleep or relax on some nights. Very disappointed with this as rooms are all advertised as having air con. We did get ants but as others have said, a big can of spray was provided and that did the trick. Room was cleaned and new linen and towels every two days. Can't complain at all.
Whilst Arenal d'en Castell is not a huge area, it is very pleasant and has enough going on. The beach is 10 minutes easy walk away (but uphill on the way back!) but there is no specific path down to the shore so is very uneven and sometimes steep. The beach is lovely and has great snorkelling around the rocks with loads of fish. There is a dive shop just at the bottom of the 'quiet pool' called MARES. Lovely, helpful people there and face masks/snorkels can be bought for about 15 euro, or hired for the day for 4 euro. Pedalos are 15 euros on the beach for an hour.
There is a bar/restaurant area nearby with a souvenir shop which also sells British newspapers (if that's what you want) and a good supermarket which is very reasonably priced. The kids play area is there with mini golf, racing cars and bouncy castles and is good value. The Backgammon bar is the most popular, has it's own free wi fi and has big screen sports and again is reasonably priced, although you are all inclusive in the hotel and it grates to have to pay! The sad thing is, you just have to get out some nights as the entertainment is quite poor. The people work hard but the equipment fails, acts don't turn up or it just isn't very good. Some kids also spoil it with their laser pens which are sold just outside of the theatre area. Go figure?!
We went on the train around the area which was good, again just to get out for a while and see a few new places, and also went on the kayaking excursion which was very good although very physical and tiring.
Overall it was a good holiday but with a bit of effort from the hotel, it could have been so much better. It is certainly not a four star hotel and would pass as a reasonable 3 star. At the end of the day it is sunny and there is lots of water for the kids to play in so ideal for families with kids up to about 14 which is obviously their target market. If you do go, no doubt you will enjoy, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hatty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 10 nights here with my stepson and partner. We were apprehensive prior to travelling due to previous bad reviews but did travel with an open mind. Overall the holiday was acceptable although there were a few little niggles here and there.

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, fresh linen and towels were provided at various intervals. We did get ants after 6 days, but this was dealt with swiftly and effectively by reception.

We stayed around the pool in Zone 3 which was quieter and more spacious than the other pool areas. The pool area was cleaned, though not as regularly as the other areas, however, I felt that the standard of cleaning in pool areas wasn't as I would expect. Also First Choice state that parasols are available, which they are not, we had to buy one from the local shop, which wasn't ideal.

The same goes for the paths and garden areas, I just felt that most of the gardens could have done with a tidy up and one night someone had been sick on one of the paths, which was left until after lunch the next day and then only just rinsed away and most of the marks could still be seen, which I don't think is really acceptable or hygienic.

The evening entertainment was quite good although we only watched this 3 nights, service at the bar was extremely slow in that area with only one person serving. We spent a few evenings at the Backgammon Bar nearby which was much more preferable with cocktails available and a great kids play area (although this did cost us extra money of course).

Food was of the standard which I would expect and most meals there was plenty of choice. Yes the restaurant area could get very hectic at peak times, which we tried to avoid. Again First Choice described the hotel as having A La Carte dining available, however, there wasn't any, just the one buffet area serving food with the next door part doing pancakes (which were nice when queues not too big!) Again we ate out a couple of nights to make up for the no A La Carte (at extra cost).

The hotel was OK for a 3 star (definitely not a 4 star as they claim!) but I personally don't think that it represents good value for money, especially when we had to spend extra to make our holiday to the standard we had expected to have paid for. We had an enjoyable time generally but I wouldn't recommend the hotel or return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent two weeks here from 20/713 to 3/8/13... We enjoyed every minute my 3 children aged 4,8,14 loved every minute. Food was lovely lots of choice. Snack bar was fab a bit basic but fine for a quick bite to eat. Our apartment was beautiful room 161 it was plenty big enough for us 5 beds comfy and cleaned with new bedding every two days along with new bath towels... Air con unit was fab...Entertainment staff were fab and very friendly ... Kids club was great too our little ones went a few times ... Water park was great fun beach was lovely a bit of a walk but ok... Local bars and shops a few minutes walk a short bus ride into Mahon which was lovely the little green train outside reception was lovely the kids loved it as did we ...reception staff were lovely couldn't help enough we met some lovely people who are now friends x the bar queue could be a bit long as there was only one bar staff but you could go to another bar at reception .. The pools were nice we stuck to the same one near our room .. Aqua aerobics and stretching excerise everyday was good fun.. Only downfall the hotel needs more staff for the size of the complex.. Could also be cleaner around the pools and where the entertainment is xx. We would go back ...

Room Tip: Double room apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and husband travelled with our 2 children ages 12 & 8. I can only say don't take all the bad reviews you read on this site too seriously because we were worried about this place after some reviews and found there was no need to be!! We had a bit of a delay before out room was ready but we did arrive at the the hotel in the morning. Once we got our room our holiday officially started. The staff are very helpful, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is to much trouble. We all had welcome drinks on arrival. If you want to know bus times or anything you can ask at the reception and they will help you. We were in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony in room 338. Quiet part of the hotel, clean room with plenty of space. The settee became 2 separate single beds with parted so the kids could sleep on separate ends of the room. Basic accommodation but then we had never had any better than that on previous visits to other parts of Spain. It was ideal for us because we only slept there and had showers there at the end of the day. There is a little train ride that picks up outside of the hotel at 6 Euros each and will take you around the area and stop for picture taking. Great for the kids and adults alike. There is a Super market around 5 minutes away which is great. The water park is fantastic for all ages and we had just as much fun here. We did wear aqua shoes as with all tiled areas they are slippery when wet but we had no problems when wearing aqua shoes.There are about 9 water slides in the main water park and a lazy lake to go around in rubber rings. There are also more mini slides for toddlers and little children which are not included in those 9 mentioned. There are several pools in different areas apart from the water park and the one near the restaurant has stretching exercises laid on by the staff in the morning and then aqua aerobics in the afternoon, all good fun! Yes there is 1 member of staff at the bar near the evening entertainment so there are queues so we just crossed the road to the bar at the main reception and got served within minutes. Its is literally the other side of the entertainment part so you don't need to spend your time queueing above the end entertainment part with everyone else. The entertainment staff work hard and get the kids involved. They like to say "clappy,clappy" when they want you to clap which did make us and others laugh. 2 days of the week we had professional acts, dancing horses down the street which were fantastic and the 2 nights later was a parrot show where parrots did a range of tricks and were really clever. Thursday is Spanish theme night in the restaurant with Spanish food and Sunday is Chinese night. Plenty of food and choices even for fussy kids. You cans eat as much as you like if on all inclusive like us. Breakfast 8-10am, lunch 1-3pm and evening meal 6.30-8pm. Snack bar opens at 11am for snacks such as burgers, hot dogs and drinks, pancakes and the one by the water park does chips also. Water park gets busy so best to get there in the morning for a decent sun bed. It opens at 10.30am. We has a few ants in or room on day 3 but was soon sorter, we got to hang on to the ant spray and no more appeared. If you have an early morning flight home, mention to your rep or reception that you will miss breakfast and they will organise a snack bar to be open for you to eat before you leave. First choice reps are always around reception for you. We all really enjoyed here and would come back and recommend to others!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quest room to for the 300 numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shaqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,786 reviews
10 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
4.6 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
14.7 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,830 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Parc

Address: CL. La Marina, S/N | Es Mercadal, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This huge complex packs in a triple helping of pools, plus an impressive waterpark. It’s only a short walk from Arenal’s centre and sandy beach, too. The waterpark is this place’s crowning glory, with pools, ring rides and slides to keep speed demons grinning like Cheshire cats. Watery fun aside, there’s also loads of sports and activities going on. All rooms and the restaurant had a refresh for summer 2016, so you can expect a fresh look and feel during your stay. The buffet restaurant lines up spreads of international dishes fresh-made pancakes at breakfast. There’s a kid-friendly section, too, with stuff like nuggets and fish fingers. There's a poolside bar dishing up drinks and snacks throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marina Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Parc Hotel Arenal d`En Castell
Hotel Marina Parc Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing