We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week is not long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our first visit in September 2013 was definitely not long enough, so in October we booked our return visit - this time for a fortnight. The food was always excellent at every meal, with all tastes being catered for - generally we chose to eat early. Our room on the 6th. floor with a balcony overlooking the pool area was as we had requested,with no overhead noise from " late night removal of furniture noise " !!!! One small point, we do feel the charge for the room safe,which is needful for total security,is somewhat excessive.
The facilities,entertainment,friendly and very helpful members of staff throughout the hotel without exception are those which made our stay so enjoyable.As we are not lovers of either pool or beach swimming or sunbathing, preferring to visit local towns and villages, we were delighted to find that there is an excellent local bus service - no real need to hire a car - which with planning will allow you to see all that Minorca has to offer. Shopping and sightseeing in Mahon is a must.

We are both very much looking forward to our return this September

.

Room Tip: Top floor well worth lift ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here in October for one week...

Hotel situated at top of a hill, not too bad to walk it, we're in our 40s and didn't have a problem. Staff friendly on reception. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the beautiful bay. Our room was very nice.

The beach is lovely, probably the best thing about the holiday actually.

The food was nice. The men have to wear long trousers into the restaurant, which was pretty pointless really as in the daytime you could wear your shorts that you'd been swimming in and laid on the beach in if they were dry!! A couple of times we did see people in full tracksuits in the evening? How are they long trousers?? The people were quite rude and tended to push in the queues quite alot, mainly the elderly ones!

Entertainment = awful. The bar in the entertainment lounge, takes ages getting served, the staff tend to ignore you and concentrate on their waiters coming over for service.... The whole place is extremely dated and could do with a makeover.

To sum up, this holiday was average, the weather was awful, rained most days, and we won't be going back...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my partner went here in August 2013 and had a fabulous time.
Staff were friendly, pool needed more room and sunbeds, Food was fantastic (was always something different to choose from).
Rooms were spacious and always well cleaned.
There wasn't really too much to do around the area but if you just want to enjoy the sunshine and relax you'll have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Where to start no really bad things to say,food great, staff happy and helpful, good room (quiet at the front great views, sunnier at the back slightly noisier). Only gripes are the climb up from the beach(if you are pool person this won't matter) and the bar they have cheap alternatives for baileys but not on all inclusive. These points aside would go back and probably will

Room Tip: High floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed end July 2013 for 2 weeks. I'm mid 50's with new partner and she has always had a 2 week holiday in sun sitting around pool just doing nothing - a rather alien idea of a holiday for me! I actually enjoyed it. Nothing to complain about hotel, good choice of food etc. Didn't quite understand package re drinks as hotel seems to have a number of packages. Hated having to SIGN for all drinks bit and having to wear a rubber band all holiday to identify different packages - how about swiping room passes?. We hired car for just 3 days - watch out the car hire firm they "recommend" quote in euros but surrupticiously charge £ and that cost me over £15 more - often a problem with people put your card in machine and just pass it back for your pin. Only draw back inside this is non smoking BUT OUTSIDE AROUND POOL people can AND DO smoke, so they are next to you with the smoke blowing over you - always a gentle breeze - and this area is used for entertainment in evening too. I love inhaling other people's smoke - like not! Annoying if you get down early then some-one arrives and starts chain smoking next to you - and a lot of people in the 40 plus age bracket still do.

Room Tip: Preferred front as sun in morning so could leave balcony door open and didn't get noise from peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very enjoyable holiday the last 2 weeks of season.
Staff
The staff were superb and the bar staff in particular kept our glasses full. Restaurant staff were extremely efficient & plates were cleared quickly
Hotel
Rooms spotlessly clean, well-furnished but 4 euro’s a day for safe. We had room 403 overlooking the magnificent horseshoe bay. Not too far from the lifts which although only took 4 people never seemed to be a problem for us. Beds were comfy but pillows a bit of a let-down.
Restaurant & Food
Sit anywhere when quiet but always found a table at busy times. Food was varied & plentiful and the meat dishes were always tender. We were all inclusive which we considered to be vfm for the £10 extra pp per day we paid.
Pool
Pool area could be a little cramped but we always managed to find a sunbed. The pool itself went from shallow on entering to suddenly quite deep especially from the far end (quickly out of depth!)
The pool bar was a minus for us as the seating area was extremely cramped with only a small selection of snacks available for half board guests. The staff worked really hard though.
Reps
Our holiday reps were friendly, worked really hard and were always available.
Location
As stated, on a hill overlooking horseshoe bay. 3 slopes and 146 steps to beach which only took us 10 minutes to reach. 20 minutes to beach via road way but still slopes to negotiate. The small courtesy bus ran on time several times a day. The bay was fantastic, and was really quiet when we were there. Caught the bus to Mahon (more steps) and Fornells which was lovely.
Noddy train ‘hop on hop off’ trip was 6 euros and just ran around the resort.
Entertainment
The entertainment was a bit hit & miss, some good but some poor, although really laughed at the Comedians. There was plenty of comfy seating and large ‘quiet bar’ downstairs. Also 2 very conducive verandas outside the entertainment bar.
Overall met some lovely people and had great time but maybe not the best vfm or location for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank timjen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had ten days here in September and took advantage of their all-in offer. Rooms were always clean, staff were Menorca's finest, a wonderful selection of fresh food daily. Evening entertainment? dodgy, definitely very noisy, but most guests were happy with this. This Hotel is a victim of it's own success; it tends to be overcrowded because it is popular and good value for money. Thanks for a pleasant holiday!

Room Tip: Perhaps take your own pillow?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoeTooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,764 reviews
19.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,352 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Globales Lord Nelson
Globales Lord Nelson
#2 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
539 reviews
11.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
9.7 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing