We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently returned from third visit in just over 12 months”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Recently returned from third visit in just over 12 months”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We like going to the Fiesta Hotel for "top up" holidays when we feel like a break. We find it very relaxing and a good place to "chill out" without any children around and the resort is very quiet. The very hard working staff who greeted us like long lost friends on arrival are terrific and the level of service is first class. The hotel although perhaps a little dated is every clean, the food is good and there is plenty of choice. I agree with some of the reviews regarding charges for a room safe and lounger congestion but it looks like new ones are being introduced to replace the sagging ones. I also agree with some of the comments regarding the lack of International drinks with the all inclusive deal, we enjoyed International drinks on an earlier holiday this year in Tunisia for about the same hotel cost we paid at the Fiesta and this also included a room safe and Wifi at no additional cost. Perhaps people should read the hotel details carefully and look at the pictures before they book and then they would then realize that the hotel is not at sea level. We always walk down to the beach which is quite easy then catch the hotel bus back so I cannot see why people need to complain about this. I find it hard to anything in particular to complain about at this hotel, we are not that bothered about evening entertainment or daytime activities but I think that it should start a bit earlier about 9.00pm. However on our two visits last year we greatly enjoyed the antics of Adam and Seline who were excellent and an extremely hard act to follow for any Thomson staff. We will probably go to the Fiesata again sometime in 2014 and hopefully one or two of the issues mentioned may have been addressed.

Room Tip: We usually alternate between the sea view rooms and the pool view rooms, the sea view is very pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Humfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    620
    277
    52
    30
See reviews for
170
1,249
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cinderford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel (1-9 October 2013) and overall we had a pleasant and relaxing holiday.

We hired a car for three days and explored the island, going to the old city and many of the lovely beaches. The driving is easy and the best way to see the whole island, the roads are easy to navigate and are in good condition. We also used the local bus to go into Mahon from the hotel, which we found efficient and cheap.

The weather was a bit mixed and temperatures ranged from 23-29 degrees during our week, which suited us.

The hotel was what we expected, it was comfortable, clean and the food was good with choice. Yes, maybe slightly dated but what you pay reflects this.

We upgraded to AI package at time of booking, neither of us are big drinkers but it is handy that it covers soft drinks, coffees and lunch. It seemed slightly cheaper to pay for AI before you went.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean and we paid extra for sea view, which was lovely and a little more quieter. Having a spa in the bath was a nice extra and use of the fridge.

The staff were really hard working , although the entertainment wasn't for us (we preferred to sit in the quiet bar) people were enjoying themselves and as in all things in life it was 'horses for courses'.

Special mention to the staff member Jesus, who we thought was very genuine and interested and or course hardworking, as all the staff are.

Couple of niggles as follows:

We thought 4 euros a day for safe hire was expensive, considering the rating of the hotel. This charge is not set out clearly in the brochure or hotel description. We had read about it on this site, so it helped being pre-warned.

The juices at breakfast were absolutely disgusting and we thought the extra cost for freshly squeezed was too high. We found this disappointing considering the effort went to supplying branded coffee, sauces and ice cream.

There is not enough drawer space and hangers in the room.

Room Tip: If you want sun in morning and a quieter room, pay extra for sea view. t
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BatesCinderford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ill try to make this as honest and objective as possible. I am also rating each individual area to give a better idea.

Firstly, I cannot praise the hotel staff enough. They worked so hard, day and night, attending to our needs, especially the bar and restaurant staff. The worked hard morning, noon and night. 5/5

The hotel was fine in my opinion, it was 'alright'. The food was also fine, plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner, put it this way, you wouldn't go hungry. It did, however, make me laugh to see people queuing up at 6:30pm for dinner. There's no need, there’s plenty of food for everyone and it is replenished. There’s no need to rush or elbow people out of the way. The attitude of some holiday makers was bad 4/5

I stayed in a pool side room, if you want to go to your room early (after reading the entertainment section you will understand why), you will be kept awake by the 2 bars until at least midnight. So if you want peace (which most do on holiday), opt for sea view.
The beds were uncomfortable, but Im sure if I had said something, the mattress would have been changed. Pillow's were awful and there was a charge of at least 3 Euros per night for feather pillows (there’s even a pillow menu) ! 3/5

All inclusive was alright. What we didn't know is there are 3 tiers to AL. Thompson only show 1 tier £10 upgrade. But you got drinks throughout the day (see above), but the spirits were of the local variety.

Resort has nothing to do by way of shops or local interest. Unless you go out on the bus, there's not much else to do except stay at the hotel. 2/5

Pool. Im afraid people STILL insist on reserving loungers despite what Thompson profess. I saw it with my own eyes and the towels were NOT removed. Why people did this, I don’t know. It was like we had to rush to get a half decent bed in the sun. The beds are really close together and the yellow Thompson beds are really uncomfortable and sagging in the middle. Beds are also under trees, which is great if you want shade, but most people come for the sun, so a bit pointless to have half the beds under the shade. The pool was freezing so I didn't venture in it, but some were brave enough. 3/ 5.

Entertainment. I went on holiday to relax. This was hard to do when the entertainment team enjoyed using the mike too much. Every hour on the hour from 11am. The worst hour was the 4pm quiz with 20 questions being read out twice, then the answers. Then they announce winners from the days activities. Its half an hour you wont relax unless you are joining in.

The entertainment room had a regimental set up. The chairs are lined up around the stage. Before the 'resident' duo they do a few quizzes where you can win some pretty lame prizes. It’s a bit old fashioned Butlins/ Warner Hotels.

The hotel duo (Without a Doubt) were in my opinion awful. They were so dated, he’s a good guitar player, but that’s it. It was a bad cabaret act. Also, they did talk too much in-between songs. So by 11pm when they were due on, we left. The 10pm-11pm acts were great, we had Fake That, Motown, Gospel and Beijing Acrobats. Duo 0/5, rest of entertainment 4/5.

I need to mention, if you are young, then this isn’t the place for you. I was with a girl in her mid 20s, and she felt so out of place, we were both being stared at. We later found out it was because people didn’t understand why we were there. I have been on another Thompson Gold holiday, and it was brilliant. Don’t get me wrong, the other guests were really friendly and we will be keeping in touch with some of them. I have said it was so bad, it was funny. But I went on holiday to relax, and I have come back more tired and stressed than when I left. This is, however, just my opinion.

I wont return to this resort, however after a trip to Cuitadella, I might consider going south of the Island where there is more to do.

Room Tip: Opt (pay for upgrade) of sea view unless you don't mind the 'resident duo' until midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 11Lisadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back last week,Hotel was average but was let down by the pool area which was small for the size of hotel,sun loungers were very close together(there is more room in a sardine tin!!).
Food was typical holiday food and nothing to write home about, dishes were reasonably hot and 'topped up' regularly but more fish dishes would be better.
As stated in previous reviews the cost of safe was high (28 euro's per week) but better be safe than sorry!

Wine served with meals could be purchased in a supermarket for 1.45 euro's (approx £1.20 a bottle!! )
We would have preferred sangria but not on wine list/also irish coffee was not included in A/Inclusive other gold hotels were.




ALL staff were brilliant and friendly.

We did not see much of the entertainment so we cannot comment on it,but it was very loud and no quiet corners to read/chill out.

Hotel is situated on a hill and those with walking difficulties would have a problem.
Beach is superb and this is where we opted to go.

I would rate this hotel as a good 3 star but not a 4 star. (let down by the pool area)

The all inclusive option is poor unless you spend all your holiday in the hotel drinking and eating which is not our scene.

Menorca is a beautiful island with very clean beaches.

We hired a car from an off airport family car rental business called www.poppycars.com for £110 for the week (and a card thanking us for our custom on our return home ) which was better value than those at the airport and they were brilliant will use them again.

To conclude would we go back after two visits? Sorry no.

Room Tip: 1) Sea views are spectacular and well worth the extra. 2) Hire a car menorca is very quiet on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Sea and Sinai, Egypt
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Set on a steep hill, with the alternative of about 300 steps down to the beach. The beach is worth a visit, it's clean and sandy in a hose shoe bay, nice warm clean sea. Sunbeds are expensive 7.50 euro a day.
The hotel itself needs a little bit of TLC but was clean and welcoming. The pool area is [for me] is too small for this size of hotel. The pool was adequate. Plenty of sunbeds and even 12 or so double beds with mattresses, which were not as comfortable as expected.
The food was of a good standard with a different theme [eg oriental, Spanish etc] on a daily basis. The menu is on a weekly rotation so if you go for 2 weeks it's the same as the 1st week on your 2nd week. Buffet style dining with waited on drinks service.
Drinks are good and bar staff speedy. Again waited on is available in all areas during day and evening time with a quick drinks turn around time.
Entertainment was good but very middle of the road.
Rooms are big enough, storage space adequate, bathroom good with a jacuzzi style bath and a decent shower. Beds are ok. Fridge and TV. Cleaned and fresh towels everyday. Thank you Marela.
We [66,66,48,42,17,17 y o] all enjoyed our stay here.
A big thank you to the following staff who made our stay memorable.

Mateo... casarse con mi hija, por favor... for letting me take the micky out of him for 2 weeks...gracias hijo politico.
Juanmi... funny guy. gracias
Ludmilla...multumesc păpușă...for her tireless tooing and frowing from our table with drinks.
Antonia... for her happy face and clearing our table.
Would I go back... YES

Room Tip: Not for wheelchair users or those with mobility problems who want to get out and about without a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pedrito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Following a half hour transfer, we were second drop off. We were checked in fairly quickly with welcoming staff. Had to find our own way, in the slow lifts, to our room on floor 2 with a sea view. The room was very clean indeed, as was the whole hotel. The view from our room was stunning. Room safe was a hefty €4 per day non-returnable, then €20 for 2 towels which was returned at the end of your stay.

We overlooked the horseshoe bay of lovely white sand and crystal clear blue waters, which seemed very safe indeed and were not overcrowded at all. Although if you wanted beds and umbrellas they would cost 5€ each for the whole day = 15€ for 2 people. Plenty of room to put your own towels and umbrellas down though. Have a look at the reps desk in the lobby area as sometimes there are lilos, umbrellas, mats that you could borrow before buying your own.

Walk down a steep hill and steps/ramps to the wonderful beach, but there was a hotel minibus if you wished transfers which seemed regular throughout the day. Walks around this very quiet resort are really nice, but it's a hilly area. We didn't mind this at all. As it was the end of the season the very few bars that are in the area were starting to close down. There are mostly villas and apartments in this area but I didn't see many bars or restaurants that would have been enough to have lasted through a 2 week holiday to try a different one each night.

As previously stated by many, the hotel is clean with excellent staff who are always happy to assist. There is a drinks service around the pool constantly, therefore no need to get your own drinks in. Paco and others whose names I cannot remember were superb, running around serving the guests.

Sadly, around the pool is cramped with sun beds extremely close together therefore you are almost touching shoulders with some random guest, with no room to shift them around as the sun moves through the day. Plenty of umbrellas, but be aware they sometimes blow down and could be a danger.

The pool is much too small for the guest capacity, I don't know what they could do to resolve this other than buying more land and extending and renovating the pool area.

The food was always hot, tasty and varied. I would defy anybody to not find something good to eat. There were always pizza, burgers and hotdogs at lunchtime!!! There were other choices as well tho, some foods were then re-made into other meals for dinner. This happens at a lot of hotels though. You're seated quickly and efficiently by the staff. However, the restaurant is quite cramped with the tables very close together. It would be difficult to have a private conversation without being overheard. No separate a la carte restaurant which is a shame.

The entertainment was very good indeed with several decent guest acts throughout the week. Again waiters serve your drinks to your tables. Although the hall did put me in the mind of a social club on a Saturday night what with the bingo dabbers and such. Thomson entertainment girls, Mel and Fran did a good job I must say.

This is the first time we have stayed in an all British, adults only hotel with the guests being mostly over 55's and much older at this venue, numerous guests have been going there for many years! We personally, have frequently had adults/couples only holidays where the multi-nationality and age span of the guests has been much better for us. We probably wouldn't book a Thomson Gold hotel again based on our stay here, unfortunately. Seemed a bit like walking into Cocoon! Sorry, but this hotel is just so not us. Lots of other folk might like it though.

Room Tip: Resort is peaceful & quiet with excellent beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerjulWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back (Oct 5) from a week all inclusive at the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa with another couple. We all enjoyed it. Well worth paying the extra for a sea view across the horseshoe bay. The hotel is at the top of a hill, but there is a courtesy bus with a set timetable to the beach and back. If you are fairly fit, the walk back will do you good. There are a few shops on the way, but it is easy to get to Mahon (25 minutes) if you want more. Not all A/I hotels include water, but small bottles of water from the bar are in the all inclusive here.

The food was good with a wide choice at every meal. The house red wine was very good with a choice of others wines available and a jolly waitress Paqui to serve it.

The entertainement in the evening gets crowded, so get in early if you want to watch something specific. It is all advertised during the day. We watched a very good group of gospel singers one evening. They started off with "O Happy Day" but the rest was Beatles, Robby Williams, Sam Cook, all sorts. A nice change of music, and all the while a waiter called Jesus moved amongst the audience delivering and replenishing beer, wine and spirits. He also takes photos of you with your camera if you wish.

One gripe. We like to play pool on holiday. There were two tables in the games room, neither of which worked. The Thomson's rep did a fiddle to get some balls out for killer pool games, but the out of order tables were a disappointment to us.

Otherwise all good. We would go again.

Room Tip: High Floor, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
13.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isla Paraiso
Isla Paraiso
#2 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
10.4 mi away
Globales Lord Nelson
Globales Lord Nelson
#3 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
18.6 mi away
Globales Mediterrani
Globales Mediterrani
#2 of 6 in Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Property: Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing