We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one week from 28th sept to 5 october. Have seen all the recent bad reviews and think the hotel only has it self to blame. We loved the location had a great sea view which made up for a lot of the problems going on. We did see a lot of cases of the bug going around,but did not have any problems, why the management did not put soaps in bathrooms and sprays on restaurant entrence I can t understand. The food it self was simple but I thought was worthy of the money you have paid for a AI holiday. The rest of hotel was kept nice with 2 great pools and slides for the kids. We spent most of the time on the beach which was amazing. . I don't know why the bar staff were so miserable maybe because it was there last week! The entertainment girl was fantastic if only eveyone had her spirit. I hope the management can sort things out and get the reviews back to the beginning of this year. We will look to book next year again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nigelpearce007_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
There are newer reviews for Club Hotel Aguamarina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 week All Inclusive from 1 Oct. Myself, my two sons and my mother in law all contracted a "viral illness" which meant we each lost two days of our holiday. We were all admitted to hospital where at least the food was nice. I've spoke with my GP back at home who has said that a viral illness is nonsense and this was almost certainly related to the food or drink. It seems as though half of the hotel was struck down by this mysterious viral illness

The food in the restaurant was repetative and the hot food usually cold. The hygiene practices were shocking and the chefs were often observed bringing out fresh hot food and piling this on top of the cold/warm food. The bread was left uncovered for hours and on end and was usually hard. The fruit was usually on the verge of rotting and surrounded by flies. I cleaned the babies highchair at the start of each meal and was sometimes amazed at the amount of muck that was left behind on the wipe. Pork chops were on the menu on one evening and then very similar looking pork chops appeared on the next lunch time. Fried eggs were served at each breakfast and on our last full day fried eggs appeared at lunch time stuck on top of some rice.

I've done all inclusive several times in the past and by far the food was the worst I've ever tasted at this hotel.

The staff were mostly nice with the exception of the bar staff who were miserable at best. The rooms were cleaned each day and the beds made. The reception staff were nice and did go out of their way to help.

The childrens entertainer was good with the kids, worked long hours and was totally annoying. She was often dancing up on the stage dressed as clown and also looking like one. The evening entertainment generally picked up when she stopped and the parrot show and Tina Turner/Freddie Mercury/Michael Jackson/Drifters man was good.

The pool areas were clean, the water freezing but there were plenty of sunbeds available. The sunbeds were more comfortable than the beds in the room which I think may have been used as torture devices in a previous life. Even our 3 year old woke up with a stiff neck.

The location of this hotel was brilliant, the bay was beautiful and the beach was fantastic. I would recommend visiting this resort just avoid this hotel. If you do stay here I would avoid the restaurant or just stick to the chips of which there were plenty.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, Daughter (6) son (20 months) and I returned on Friday from a week spent here. We had a lovely time! None of us fortunately came down with the bug that was affecting the hotel and island (viral NOT food poisining). The location and hotel delivered exactly what we wanted - a restful late summer break with easy beach access, pools and a bit of entertainment for the children. I looked at previous reviews before going and most were preety much reflective of our experience here. I would have rated the hotel good rather than average if there was the option but wouldn't rate it very good.
We met some lovely people (only 1 of whom got ill) and enjoyed the beautiful sandy beach once the weather picked up mid week. Our allocated room overloked the entertainement area and was nosiy at night till about 11.30 so we asked to move and got a great sea room! Rooms were basic and not too roomy but fine for a week. Cleaners did the room everyday and were friendly. If you have asked for a specific room I would ask upon check in to make sure and save you having to request a change as they do seem to have ignored all room reuqests!
The food was reasonable and there was something we liked every night. it did get repetitive at the end of the week but we found quality good and certainly not prison food! The children liked the pasta and soups and salads were great. The grill was closed after the first night and it would have been better if this had stayed open. There were never any queues for food and the restaurant was roomy bright and kept clean. Sangria, beer and wine as well as water and juice on tap to self serve and all ok.
Entertainment for the children was run by a lovely young woman who deserves every penny of her wage! Even on the wet days she still put on indoor games and the mini disco was a hit with all the children it seemed! The acts were ok, the Kenyan acrobats/gymnasts were great and the queen tribute hilarious!
The drinks served all inclusive from 11-11 were ok. Local spirits were free and fine as was the beer. Little tubs of ice cream were free. Bar staff were sometimes friendly and other times not! But it would take more than a bar man who doesn't smile to ruin our time together on holiday as a family! bar snacks served afternoon were not good but we certainy managed to polish off a fair few of the trifle like sponge fingers and pastries!
Good choice of pools and baby slides good. Clean and plenty of loungers this time of year.
Location by far the best aspect of the holiday and hotel. Right on the beach with an easy walk after going to the bottom floor on the lift. Easy 20 min transfer from airport and a nice day spent in Mahon (Tuesday market day) and glass bottom boat well worth it. Arenal is a quite resort ths time of year but has plenty of bars and shops to keep you occupied for week if your main activity is based arund the beach/pool with a few walks out. Don't bother wth the land train a waste of money.
I don't think we will go back to this hotel (but we would still recommend it to other families out of season) but definitley menorca and wouldn't go anywhere near this hotel at the peak of summer - would just be too many people. Essentially this a family hotel and i think if you are a couple probably go elsewhere as there will always be children here and they will always run around and have fun!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emmak18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

just thinking of this hotel makes me ill the location was beautiful but the hotel was horrible i became ill with a virus that lots of people had there was never any soap in the bathrooms a women was changing her baby on the sink with a soiled nappy which was disgusting this bug has apparently been going round for weeks but if you and the kids carn,t wash your hands properly then bugs will spread there was only one receptionist that was friendly the others treat you like you just don,t matter.
the dinner was cold repetetive and i cannot understand how some people have given it a good review all i can think is because they were taking advantage of the all inclusive booze it took away how depressing it was.
and talking of the booze it tasted like you asume petrol would taste it was utterly disgusting i have noticed the manager keeps coming on here and saying its due to the climate change why these bugs are happening well how come all the other hotels i have been to abroad don,t have these problems.
the bedrooms were not cleaned properly and the bathrooms were so small my daughter was in a different hotel and resort and she came to see me and said if i had got this room and hotel i would have been so depressed.
the bar staff were rude unhelpful never cracked a smile but i guess that was because the b block hotel was closed down so everybody was cramed in to a block you couldn,t help your self to drinks in a block so the ques were diabolical which they would be when there is only one person serving all in all a really bad holiday and there was loads of kids so deffinatley not for couples wanting a quiet time they were running about midnight on our floor no next time tenerife for me

Room Tip: just don,t go
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank november h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this 'Hotel' for 2 weeks all inclusive and returned to UK on 1st October 2012.
My wife suffered terribly from the viral bug that has already being mentioned and had to see a Doctor for medication. I didn't get it and the only thing she ate different from me was the salad.
First, I want to mention that the Restaurant Manager and his staff were very helpful and polite. Always had a smile and although they worked long hours never let it show.
The cleaners who came in daily were also brilliant and would do anything extra to help.
The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful.
The location was fantastic, beach lovely and swimming pools spotless. HOWEVER, what really let this Hotel down was the extremely poor attitude of the bar staff! For example. One morning before my wife was ill we decided to go for a long walk. We returned to the Hotel very thirsty and went into the Bar - As we stood next to the serve yourself water dispenser, I politely requested a plastic cup from the Barman (who had a bit of a chinese look about him) and asked if we could get some water. He said, " not until 11am" It was 10.45! We couldn't believe it. All we wanted was some water. This was typical though as Brits seemed to be treated as second or third class citizens. The Spanish or Germans or French had no such problems. The last night there, it was the final of the Ryder Cup. The lady next to me at the bar requested the Barman - (Chinese type again) to turn the channels over as we all wanted to watch golf. He said, " It is spanish football tonight" and wouldn't change the channel. Another gentleman and myself complained that only 2 Spanish people were watching the football and the other 100 of us wanted to watch golf. HE STILL WOULD NOT CHANGE. People were literally sitting in the TV Lounge and watching the golf on their mobiles and could not believe he would not change it. Surly it should be a majority rule thing. Especially when the 2 Spanish men were so greatly outnumbered. I am sure the Bar staff took some sort of Sadistic pleasure, knowing we all wanted to watch the golf and they were preventing it! Some people complained to reception but this make no difference. What a joke. We will return to Menorca again but definately not to this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you go before the main Hotel shuts down, it is self service for beer, wine, soft drinks and water...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

arrived on 28th of september for 7 days all inclusive as a family 9, 6 adults and 3 children. The day we arrived we were informed that it was the last day of the season and everything more or less was closing the following day. The area around the hotel and the view from our room was very nice our room overlooked the beach and was only a minute or so walk to it. The weather over the first couple of days wasn't great but the rest of the trip we had great weather. Now for the bad parts of which there are many 7 out of 9 of us all suffered at some point during the holiday from sickness and diahorrea for at least 36 hours. The tripe sorry the food that was served in the restaurant was terrible in choice and quality and i would imagine was the main cause of the sickness that we suffered from. The worst of the food was the snacks that were served in the bar in the afternoon which comprised of 1 choice of sandwich and 2 different biscuits. Now to the room, it was very clean and that's about all that was good about it the 2 single beds that were pushed together as a double were about as comfy as sleeping on the concrete floor below them and if we left a drink or any food anywhere overnight the next morning we were swarmed with ants. as a tip don't pay 22 euros for a fridge just pull and lift and it opens anyway. Around the hotel the pools were good but there was only 1 lifeguard for 5 swimming pools and only 1 of the water slides was in use and at only certain times. The entertainment girl was very good getting the kids and adults playing various games throughout the day. The evening entertainment was ok the mini disco for the children was the same songs and dances every night but they seemed to enjoy it, the stuff for the adults varied from night to night some were good and some were very bad. Most of the staff were nice and helpful but some of the bar staff were very arrogant and miserable unless your giving them a tip every time you go for drink of which there wasn't much choice of unless you wanted to pay for it. Our rep was about as much use as a chocolate teapot after introducing herself as terrible becky off of trip advisor (something i wouldn't personally have owned up too) we were told she would be available the following morning from a certain time if we wanted to book any trips or discuss anything. She arrived the following day over an hour late than she said she would be and when we tried to book some trips we were told nearly everything we wanted to do was closed. All in all it rates as 1 of the worst holidays i have been on and wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel but if you can find a better place to stay i would recommend the resort as the views and the beaches are beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Upon arrival at airport we did not have a rep meet us, but were shown where our transfer coach was, we were then taken directly to the hotel, journey time 20-25 minutes.

The hotel was very clean, the food was satisfactory and you could always find something to eat, i am not a chip lover, but their chips were superb, food was hot and you had plenty of choice. The room was of adequate size and the cleaning ladies were brilliant, everyday we came back and the place was spotless with clean towels and sheets (when needed). this hotel is mostly for families and couples, we travelled as a couple and found the hotel was okay as most of the children were pre school age due to it being term time.

The location was to die for and could not have been better, the resort is small with few bars, restaurants and shops, but as we were all inclusive this did not matter. The entertainment was mixed with Queen tribute and African acrobatics being the best. The bar staff were a bit miserable and a smile does not cost anything.

We had a couple of days bad weather but the hotel had wifi for 16 euro for the week, so i could keep up with what was happening back home. Snorkelling is brilliant with loads of fish. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which will take you to Mahon for 2.5 euro per adult, and market day is tuesday it is also worth taking a harbour cruise, cost 11 euros and it is the second deepest natural harbour (second to Pearl Harbour) in the world.

The Thomas Cook rep Becca, although approachable was not at the hotel the times she was supposed to be.

All in all a good hotel in a fantastic location, you will not be disappointed as the location on the beach far outstrips what the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikenLoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
10.3 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
19.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,302 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,540 reviews
15.1 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,735 reviews
19.7 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Aguamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Aguamarina

Address: PO Box 175, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Price Range: $70 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Aguamarina 3*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Hotel Aguamarina is located in the unique environment of the bay of Arenal d'en Castell right on the seafront and just a few meters from a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach and clear Blue Flag waters. Surrounded by a typical Menorcan landscape, splendid Mediterranean views and excellent facilities, the superb service of the resort offers a plethora of options for leisure and entertainment for both children and adults. The whole family can relax and enjoy a pleasant and peaceful holiday that they will never forget. Our complex consists of two buildings that will offer you maximum comfort during your holiday. Relax and cool off by swimming in any of our 5 pools while enjoying the stunning views of the bay or walk through our 35,000 square meters of lovely gardens that run down to the beach. For those who like to make a splash on their holidays our newly constructed water park is the perfect destination for adults and children alike. The hotel's animation team will also be on hand to entertain you in the gardens throughout your stay with numerous and varied events and activities to amuse young and old alike. And finally don't forget to enjoy the food that we offer at our full buffet and show cooking counter. If you are looking for an unforgettable holiday! Come and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Club Hotel Aguamarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Aguamarina Spain/Arenal D'en Castell, Balearic Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing