We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same old story” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La borda d'en Manel

La borda d'en Manel
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Miami Platja
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Same old story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food lovely decor and great service keep us coming back year after year after year after. ....you get the picture.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    86
    37
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service and meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

the food was poor and late incomming to the table ,not everyone got there meal together the service was shocking not enough staff to wait tables, and the standard has droped drastically
from my last visit three years ago

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Food & Value, Unexpected Elegance in Sleepy Beach Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I have been renting a holiday house for a week in Mont-Roig Bahia (at the beach), adjacent to Miami Platja. Read some reviews on Trip Advisor about this restaurant and since we were in the mood for seafood we decided to visit it for lunch. Seeing a typical tourist crowd on the terrace we entered with lowered expectations, but instead found an elegant restaurant with great European ambiance. We ordered Menu del Dia and we were totally floored (figuratively speaking): A 4-course treat for EUR 10 per person: 1) Mixed Salad; 2) White Asparagus in Bechamel Souce w/Ham (wife); Lobster Lasagne (me); 3) Seafood Mixed Grill; 4) Ice Cream & Coffee. This included a bottle of white wine. And sales tax. And service charge. I mean, where in the civilized world do you get a four-course meal at an elegant restaurant (white linen table cloths and napkins, etc.) and good service, for what amounts to USD 26 - for two people?! Also, impeccably clean restrooms.

I don't really write restaurant reviews (this is my first and I don't profess to have any skills as a food critic), but this establishment simply is too good to miss if you have your ways by what otherwise seems a relatively quiet beach town. We will be back before we leave town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TraderBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A regular treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We eat in this restaurant regulary. It's always good & excellent value for money. The dressing on the salad is superb & even in the winter when everywhere else is closed this lovely place is open & serving good for an excellent price. You can even get Menu del Dia in the evenings. Fabulous !!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Yet again La borda d'en Manel provided excellent food in a wonderful setting. We introduced another set of friends who also loved the food in this restaurant. See you again next year?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La borda d'en Manel also viewed

Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
 
Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
 
Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
Miami Platja, Costa Dorada
 

Been to La borda d'en Manel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing