We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, too busy and not enough room in main areas, could have been better entertainment.”
Review of Estival Park Salou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estival Park Salou
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic, too busy and not enough room in main areas, could have been better entertainment.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

When we first arrived we were pleasantly surprised, lovely looking hotel and clean reception, staff were also helpful. However when we got to our room it was situated right next to reception in which we thought perfect!!! the room had two floors the children were on the ground near the balcony door and the adults were upstairs, I found this unsafe especially if anyone was to break in (little paranoid I know but you have to be safe when children are concerned). Our room was also situated above the room entertainment was held in, so if we wanted a quiet night or a bit of peace through day it was not going to happen. The housekeeping cupboard was also next to our room and we could constantly hear the door slamming at all times of the day, even very early morning. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff were lovely, yet they never once dusted or swept as dust was thick on the soles of our feet.

The food was basic and edible, the restaurant was always busy and I did not like this due to the small size of it and constantly bumping into people. The chefs were quick to replenish food and the waitresses and waiters were lovely.

The entertainment on a night was poor, we have two children aged 6 and 8 and they did not like it. It did not start until 8.30 too which was a little late for kids, as there are three hotels to this complex the entertainment for the kids would be in different hotels. The daytime entertainment was good for very small kids, my 6 year old wanted to play football but the minimum age was 8, hes a boy who does not appreciate sitting and painting with the younger children. The bar area was small with not enough seating for people to sit and it was a case of fighting for seats.

The location was perfect, 5 minute walk to local shops and the beach in which was nice and clean and spacious. There is a water park nearby and a theme park, we also visited Barcelona and went to Nou camp in which was well worth the money. You can get excursions cheaper than the hotel however the companies don't drop you at the doorstep unlike our operator.

I would not revisit this hotel as I feel it did not meet my standards.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    1,232
    545
    211
    134
See reviews for
1,919
799
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself my wife and 2 children spent last week at the estival park salou 2 hotel. We were all inclusive and really couldn't find any fault with the hotel or the staff, food very satisfying and the staff very friendly. My only gripe with the hotel was the evening entertainment which didn't start till 10pm was very average at best and on two occasions lasted 30mins, hardly worth waiting around for! The beach is a 3 min walk which is great and their is a few shops and restaurants on the strip. Went to a restaurant on one occasion called " la tageatelle" food great service very poor, they forgot to give me my main course after my wife and daughter received and finished theirs, I asked for the bill and explained that I didn't receive my main course, I got a half hearted apology and that was about it. This place didn't care about customer service as they knew I was a passing trade that will never be seen again. Stay well clear folks to avoid disappointment .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks stay here. First thing is the family room. It was spacious but was like a trip back to the eighties! No tea or coffee facilities either. Next was the dinning area. Most of the staff are very rude but not all. A lot of them walk round eating chewy with long faces. It's like feeding time at the zoo dodging round staff and other holiday makers. Hectic is not the word!! The food is nice but pretty much the same every day. Then there's the bar staff! They really don't want to serve you or like you. It's so obvious! After tea there is nothing for the kids to do or the parents so they drink while the kids run wild. Entertainment doesn't start till 10pm. Bit late for toddlers! It's chaos! Found the cleaners,reception and the kids club entertainers very friendly and helpful. Hotel was nice and clean on the whole. But wouldn't go back there again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my 2 young boys out first family holiday and we had an absoloutley ball, we were all inclusive and the choice of food from 3 restraunts was great my youngest is usually a pukey eater but he ate everything in site!! We stayed in a one bed apartment which was absoloutley spotless on arrival and cleaned every single day, the staff were lovely and we ha no issues with noise etc! We only arrived home on Friday past and have been away pricing estival for next year again!! Have recommended it to every1 an will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauraburke89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed ere with my husband an childern then 7 and 18months we stayed in apartment num 7931 on 27/07/12.we loved every minute of our stay our apartment was part of the aquasplash with thomspon so u r in a sercured block of apartments with a shared pool but you can still use the hotel pools.u get free entry into the waterpark everyday which is only a stones throw away and the beach is directly across road.the food was always lovely and plenty to choose from my daughter loved getting the pancakes made to order.the childern can get ice lollies and drinks all day.the staff were always so freindly to us even when we locked r selfs out an made a really efford to talk to the childern we r come back on the 6th june and cant wait if going to la pineda or salou and have kids I recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank shenymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just got back 2 days ago.

We stayed in hotel 1 and found this was nice and quiet, we had a wait for the room as we got there at 11am but this was expected and we got our room at 12.30, we were also offered a locked room to store our luggage until our room was available. The check in staff were very friendly if you took the time to speak to them like people (some english people were very rude and they got the same treatment back).

The rooms are very basic, clean but not 4 star. I hate being squashed into a double room when there are 3 of you, and this was very sqaushed. The fridge you can use if you wish to store milk for children, or chocolate! The safes you pay for at 2 Euro a night (disappointing as most places now offer these as standard) no tea or coffee making facilities (you can get this downstairs at the bar, but by the time you reach your room it is cold). The TV only really has the news channel in English. The rooms are cleaned and made up daily. The communal parts .
of the hotel are lovely.

The dining room has great food although very much the same each night, my biggest annoyance was not being seated. You walk through the dining room with lots of people all going various ways, searching for a table, very frustrating, would rather be seated by staff. Again staff were very friendly if you were.

Pool was small and cold but the waterpark was great, so spent most of our time there (no queues) and it was all quite close together so could let our 11 year old go and do what slides he wanted whilst lazing on the lounger. Food and water expensive but you can order a picnic from reception the day before and get bottled water from the bar area before you go.

Animation team for both adults and children was great, not too much but just enough. Alex and Sangita were amazing.

Used indoor pool once but it is very small, you need a swimming hat here, bring your own or buy there 2 or 3 euros each.

I have got to say I will not be returning here to the hotel or the area, the holiday was ok but not quite as I hoped.

Room Tip: Did not have any problems with noise and we looked over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody7803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first family holiday with our bambino who is under 1. On arrival there was no help or offer with baggage and buggy up the steps and we were greeted to a 3 hour wait for our room.

The rooms are very basic but clean definitely NOT four star.

We were situated in hotel 2 which I understand is geared up for families apparently. Our first room was so loud from the pool noise at night that we needed to ask to move. Thankfully the reception staff were actually very helpful here and moved us very quickly. There really isn't a lot to do on the evenings and the entertainment was only on from 10-11pm, no background music or anything. This meant everyone in the hotel were stuffed into a tiny room which was more like a social club for the majority of the night, NOT FUN. The noise is something else, and if you want a relaxing evening this is NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. It has actually put me off having more children!!!

In the day time you need to be quick in reserving sun beds or you won't get anywhere to sit. We ended up using the other hotels pool for the majority of the days as there wasn't anywhere to sit and we needed shade for the baby.

One day we thought we would try the beach..... well if you don't mind tanker ships and an industrial plant the size of Plymouth within a mile then its fine. Just try not to look left and it's an ok beach.

Food wise it is very samey (if thats a word). Oven roasted chicken was always reliable but i had hoped for a little more variation throughout the week. In honesty I've had a lot worse but it did get a l little boring after day 3. Also the wait staff are VERY rude in the restaurant.

All in all it was a bit of a disappointment and definitely not somewhere i would return to. It's just too busy with large/loud families for us, it literally is like piccadilly circus at food times and by the pool. My poor little bambino really struggled with the noise and as the pool was so cold couldn't even enjoy that.

Looking forward to our next holiday next year in a quieter location and not all inclusive craziness!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.3 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estival Park Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estival Park Salou

Property: Estival Park Salou
Address: C/ Cami del Reco, 15-17, 43481 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#5 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Estival Park Salou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 968
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estival Park hotel complex is a resort in La Pineda de Vila-seca (Tarragona) covering an area of 110,000 m2 and comprising three five-storey hotel buildings with a total capacity of 899 rooms, a two-storey building (the Club Hotel) with 69 rooms, and 150 apartments managed by Estival Park within the same complex.In the centre of the complex stands the Sports, Beauty & Wellness Centre and a new leisure spa, the AQUUM Spa & Club. These facilities occupy an area of 11,250 m2 at the heart of the complex with easy access from the hotel, Club and apartment buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estival Park Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estival Park Salou Hotel La Pineda
Estival Park Hotel Salou
Estival Park Resort Salou
Estival Park Salou La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing