We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Spanish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
redditch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spanish hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A family of 4 stayed for a week in August.
Hotel was very Spanish all the Spanish go here for their hols.
A lot of French too only 2-3 English families we didn't mind.

We were impressed with the hotel the entertainment for adults and kids.
There was a wide choice 3 huge buffet meals a day with snacks available throughout the day. The bar shut at 12 each night.
So you couldn't get drinks or food till breakfast. However there was a machine we could get water for under 2 euros.
The beach is a 5 min walk and the watermark 10-15 mins. We caught a bus to salou for 7 euros for 4 people. It's a lot busier there some cocktail bars but very English.

My first experience of all inclusive was a good one. If we go back to la pineda we would stay here again.
I would prefer a hotel room that had 2 bedrooms or a living area but apart from that we had a brilliant holiday.

Thumbs up from a happy
Family of 4!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stocksRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    308
    142
    56
    52
See reviews for
529
178
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for one week 27th July-3 rd August 2013. Flying into Reus airport, the hotel is only a 20 minute taxi journey away. Greeted by reception staff as our taxi pulled up and helped with our luggage to our lovely room. Very Clean twin double bedroom with air conditioning, hair dryer, balcony and a chargeable mini bar and safe at extra cost. Towels and toiletries replaced daily when room cleaned. Took us a couple of nights to master the air con then it was great. We stayed on an all inclusive basis which was well worth paying extra for (coffee costs 3 euros) We really enjoyed the food. Large selection of salad bar and a fish and meats different each day, with a good selection of desserts. For those who don't enjoy fish/ Spanish style paellas etc. pasta and chips were available daily and the children's buffet offered pizza or nuggets or lasagna. children are allowed to eat from the adults buffet also (my son enjoyed Hake and pork.) Breakfast had a good selection of pastry's, breads, fruit, i.e watermelon/pineapple and a cooked breakfast was also available. Food was always hot. Drinks were ordered with the waiter/ess and brought to the table, but it was serve yourself for breakfast, lunch and tea. Snacks are available all day include ice cream, pastry's, donuts, fruit and crisps from the poor or lounge bar. A basic packed lunch can be ordered if going on a trip out to the beach or portaventura theme park. A good choice or local spirits were available on the all inclusive and cocktails such as pina colada and wine available 10.00 am until 23.45. The children made use of the kids club,even though they were one of two English families. The Spanish like to holiday in this hotel, which was lovely. Really feel as if you have come to Spain. Kids club do lots of activities with the children; baking, football, 'padel', preparing for a show, face painting etc and while our 7 and 9 year old were in the club and made very welcome; we made use of the hotel spa facilities.... Turkish bath, sauna and Jacuzzi. all for the cost of a shower cap at 2 euros each. Treatments were available at extra cost. massage was on offer at 15 euros. Evening entertainment in the hotel was hit and miss. A fantastic acrobatics act one evening and a poor flamenco act another night, but something different each night and a kids disco each night. The all inclusive program of events included aqua aerobics during the day, which was worth participating in for the laugh. gangham style in the water... the kids thought this was great! other activities were on offer also. One week was long enough though, to stay longer you would probably need more to keep the kids entertained in the evening other than pool and air hockey and playing cards or few more English families. Great family holiday spending time together swimming and playing 'black jack'. We would return.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed on the main road side said it was a little noisy with traffic. It is possibleto e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank radleyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location in pineda, especially as the bus plana dropped us off at a stop right outside. staff were helpful checking in, and our room was large and very clean. Air conditioning was amazing, made sleeping in 35 degree heat really pleasant!!
The pool area was fab, considering the hotel was full, we always found sunbeds with a parasol. Aqua Zumba classes in the morning were very fun also.
We were half board basis, and the food for breakfast and dinner was good, always found something we liked. As we weren't all inclusive like most of the guests, we had to pay for drinks, which i was expecting to be expensive, but turned out to be quite reasonable, 2.40 euro for a bottle of estrella....not too bad. spirits were much more expensive, at 4.20 for a malibu and 2.40 for a sprite.
The downfalls were that the entertainment was for the spanish. Their was a music quiz which we thought we would have a go at, but turned out all the songs were spanish songs, and when bingo was played, the numbers were also called in spanish. It didnt bother us too much, but what was a bit harsh was the kids club, as all the sports and activities were geared towards the spanish children, and therefore left other children out if they could not speak the language.

Also on check out, in which we paid the hotel bill upfront before had, we were given an invoice of 27.72 euros. when we questioned the receptionist what this was for, we were told it was "tourist tax". not having heard of this before, we asked what it was, and he couldn't tell us. we had to pay this tax without further questioning as we had to get our transfer home, but looking this up online, it is a tax imposed by the catalonian government, for any residence that houses tourists. you only pay up to 7 days. Just wish the receptionist could have explained this, rather than have us guessing.

overall a really good trip, and the bad points are only minor compared to how great of a location this is, and how nice the hotel was. would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qotsa_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here between the 5th and 10th June 2013. Booking in was very quick, the staff member was a little dry until I had to return to point out she had given us the wrong safe key when she became a lot more human. Rooms were clean and well maintained and bathrooms very nice. hair dryer and free toiletries in the bathroom including a shaving kit which is very good if you only take hand luggage.
Rooms cleaned every day although the timings varied which meant you could not plan for an afternoon nap. (Weather was very hot). Really good air conditioning in the rooms.
Pool is very nice with lots of sun beds, but could do with more umbrellas Hotel has a 30 minute policy on sun beds unfortunately it was not enforced with some people putting out towels at 7 oclock (The night before). Do not however blame the Germans for this, They were very well behaved. This is a very Spanish hotel with the majority of the residents being Spanish, There were a couple of German families and only one other English couple. This did not particularly bother my wife and myself. The animation team worked hard with the Children. Most of the Entertainment was mostly in Spanish, again not a problem as it was often on late and we entertained ourselves. I point this out only that for a family expecting a more Anglophile reception it is not there. It may be different at other times in the season.
The restaurant provided the standard all inclusive fare which was pretty good, Good choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner with a heavy emphasis on seafood. Lots of salad, usually grill and pasta choices. We stayed for five nights and decided to go out for a meal on one evening only due to wanting a change.
The bar staff were really good speaking more languages than I could follow, English, Spanish, French, German and Russian to name a few. The reception staff were generally good but very busy at times. The night porter was really good as one night I had to take my wife to the hospital as she had been bitten by a mosquito on the hand and had a very bad reaction. There are mosquitoes, not lots but take the usual precautions.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the beach.
You can get a local buss pass from a shop about 5 minutes walk down the main road towards town and the local buses are excellent. You can take a ride into Tarragona which has a roman amphitheater, museums, and the remains of a roman circus the statue on the 'la Ramble' which is a lovely wide Boulevard which takes you up to the roman ruins. (Be aware they are all closed on Monday).
The local taxis are good value and are all metered This hotel is only 20 minutes from Reus airport (about 25 Euro for a family of four).
All in all a nice hotel I would undoubtedly use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masher_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

spent 10 days at gran hotel la hacienda August 2012.
All inclusive deal.
first impressions of hotel was, looks very grand, spacious hallway, friendly staff.
rooms were clean and tidy, food was good and nice pool area.Food is Spanish, so if you are the type of brit holidaymaker that likes thier fish and chips, then go self catering, my family personally like to try food from whatever country we visit.
Night time entertainment is okay, but if you are with young children, its a bit poor.unless you speak Spanish).For teens, there football. games room etc, and adults can relax and get a great massage.My advice is to fly into rues airport which is a 5 minute taxi drive away, also you can get a bus to portaventura but again a taxi will get you there in 5 mins, just a liitlebit more to pay than bus, but a lot quicker.Our room overlooked portaventura golf course and we could see the shambala ride from our balcony, every night we could see the firework display at portaventura.This hotel is a good placeto stay if you are visiting the theme park, again more advice I would say is to book the theme park tickets at home(ie 3 day family pass). its cheaper and saves standing in large queues.I would recommend this hotel and also would probably go back some time in future

Room Tip: try to get a room that looks over the theme park as you will get a nice treat at night with the fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the-happy-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just for starters I have to say that this hotel is no more than a two/three star hotel. That disappointment over I will tell you as it really is. I booked a five star hotel through a travel agent.
Myself, hubby and two teenage children. The hotel is very basic, small swimming pool, it looks much bigger on photos, that is because the hotel pool next door is included. The staff are very friendly, courtious and helpful, that goes for all areas of the hotel. The whole area is clean and the beds are comfortable. The food is indelible and as we booked all inclusive that is a bit of a pain, I am not a fussy eater but I cannot suffer another day of the food here and as we have another week to go, It should be a good slimming client for me. The immediate area outside the hotel is pretty and clean but the extended area is a slum. The beach area is a good ten minute unpleasant walk away and a big disappointment when you get there, the oil refinery and dock yard are only about 300mtr away to the left, and the beach looked man made with course builders Sand. We paid a vast amount of money for this holiday, I am disgusted, so much so I don't think I will ever go to Spain again.

Room Tip: Make sure it is a pool view or you will have the road or refinery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMMHHFF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a brilliant week staying at the Gran Hotel, was exactly what we wanted quiet, relaxing and all in one place. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if I want to go back to Spain and to stay all inclusive. Food was nice, not great if fussy and vegetarian, but staff accommodating and did make special requests when the choices were limited at dinner as they served a lot of meat and fish. Hotel close to the beach, however the beach in Salou was nicer but that was only 15 minutes away by bus, close to Portaventura which is about 20/25 mins away by bus. Could not fault our stay.

Room Tip: Def go for a balcony room if you are bothered by your view, as the front of the hotel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy17890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
1.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#4 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Hacienda

Property: Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Address: Plaza de la Union Europa 1, 43481 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel La Hacienda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel La Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel La Pineda
Gran Hacienda Hotel
Gran Hotel La Hacienda La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing