We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel La Hacienda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Six of us aged between 79 and 25 have just returned from a brilliant week at La Hacienda. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the friendliness of the staff, at reception, in the dining room and at the bar, was evident throughout our stay. We were all inclusive, the meals were really good all week - we even had steak one evening! The breakfasts were great and the other meals provided enough variety for a fussy eater like me - my wife and mother-in-law were certainly impressed with the desserts! Everywhere was really clean and I must admit I'm amazed at some of the previous negative comments on here about the hotel, I would certainly return to La Hacienda in the future and would recommend it to any of my friends - for the price we paid we had a near perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Our three rooms were by the road but a good night's sleep was enjoyed in all cases!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForeveRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    301
    137
    55
    52
See reviews for
524
172
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got back from a week in this hotel. Fully inclusive with my wife, kids and in-laws and I loved it! The hotel itself is immaculate and the pool area is kept in perfect condition!

The only gripe I have is that the food was very samey and quite often not too tasty although tasty enough!

Rooms were made up every day and towels were replaced too.

It is just a small walk (15 minutes) to the water park Aquopolis and around 5 minutes to the beach! On the walk there are a variety of shops and supermarkets!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool won't be much better than the other side since the surroundings are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've just returned from a week AI at La Hacienda. We booked it as a late deal and wanted something with a pool and entertainment during the day and evening for our children.

First impressions were good - the front was clean and air conditioned. Staff not overly friendly but not rude either. We had to pay a deposit to use the fridge and a deposit and daily hire fee for the safe in our room. Not particularly AI!

Our room was basic but clean. Our bath had a rusty looking chip in it but we showered rather than bathed so that was ok. It looked onto the road; we could see Port Aventura and an oil refinery but it was quiet enough at night.

Some pictures of the pools are deceptive. There is a smallish pool, a cold jacuzzi and a paddling pool. The other pool that is in some of the pictures belongs to next door's residential area.
We never saw the pools being cleaned. The jacuzzi was really cloudy towards the end of our stay. However some people we met whose balcony overlooked the pools said they saw the paddling pool being emptied at night and refilled.

The pool area looks as though it could do with a clean. The sun beds and tables were dirty. Some had chewing gum gracing them. Eurgh. We did not have too much of a problem getting sun beds. Out of the three days we spent by the pool there was only one day where we could not find beds. There were definitely more towels than people 'sun bathing' that day but this is an age old problem.

There were organised pool games the days we were there, run by the lifeguards. One of the lifeguards had his arm in a sling - not great in an emergency. ;)

The food was ok. Children's buffet consisted of chips, some sort of pasta and nuggets, fish or similar. We fed them from main buffet, which had lots of fish and pork. We avoided the bacon at breakfast because it looked undercooked - but I am quite fussy with my meat.
Most of the staff were friendly enough. We were always courteous to them and spoke Spanish when we could but some were 'snarlers'. We also found that the drinks were rationed at meal times! They were very reluctant to give us more than one drink - even though they were soft drinks.

The majority of people staying at this hotel were european. The entertainment was in Spanish and started at 9 o'clock, finishing at 11.30 ish. This was very late for our children. They were also reluctant to join in the day and evening entertainment and found it difficult to make friends because of the language barrier, which was disappointing for them.

We liked the location. It was near the beach which was beautiful.
One word of warning -A girl working at La Pineda Supermarket was RUDE! They threw our change at us. Aviod them.

Overall a nice enough hotel but not worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've just returned from la hacienda and after a week it was enough!
The hotel itself was truly lovely.. Clean and well maintained.
The staff were so kind to, if you give respect you get it back!!
The food!! I'm a vegetarian and was stumped all week.. alas I ate every night but had the same everyday!!
Snack bar??? Was there one???
Of course they mean the cheese and ham sandwiches and crisps!! Never ever had that on an all incl!! Really do not get excited about that!!
Entertainment!! Fab if you're fluent in Spanish.. I know we were in spain but it was the same thing every night ..
I went alone with my partner and would not recommend it for families with teenage kids!!
The beach is nearby and lovely.. Hire a Sunbed for 3.5 euros for the whole day :-)
All in all we have had a wonderful relaxing holiday but sadly would not return to this hotel :-(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poisonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had never stayed all inclusive before my husband and I took our daughter and two year old grandson for a week. I assumed that he would be able to have ice cream or an ice lolly during the day but there were none available. After swimming in the pool he had longer naps during the day and twice missed lunch. As a result all that was available was cheese and ham sandwiches and crisps. The children's meals in the restaurant were uninspiring and lacked variety. On the other hand there was a lot of choice in the main menu but the dishes were not all labelled and I was not always certain what kind of fish was in front of me or what sort of salad it was that looked so inviting on the cold table.
The floor of the children's pool was very slippery and I saw two people slip and fall into the pool as they walked in.
The hotel overall looked clean and well kept. Our room was cleaned daily and a supply of clean towels was supplied. The holiday on the whole suited our needs with a two year old; a beach within walking distance, a pool and the sun. Entertainment, which was not really one of our needs, was awful and started too late for a two year old. I would not say that I would never go back but the hotel is not in my top ten hotels' list!

Room Tip: Rooms do not really overlook the pool and tend to be noisier as the disco starts at nine and enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MadiDado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hi I am 14 years old and I went to this hotel with my uncle 37 my little brother 11 and my little cousin 12 we all hated the stay because of the slow service and noone but the receptionist have heard of service with a smile.
The food was close to indelible not even the chief was tasting his food I would recomend anywhere but this hotel.
I can't even describe my anger towards this hotel I don't even know how they could have the oudasity to call this hotel a 4 star hotel because I can tell you it didnt feel like it the food made me feel sick
DON'T MAKE THE SAME WE DID By BOOKING THIS HOTEL
Everyone I met agreed about what I have said and was disgusted with this hotel
P.s the rooms are small
Sincerely T.simpson

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Slyspeed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here from 22 July to 1 August. I was really worried as I booked it several months ago, but reviews of late haven't been up to much. Check in was fine - no porter but it was a few steps to the lift and then a short walk so not a problem. Room 520. From our balcony we could see Portaventura theme park straight ahead, golf course to the left and oil refinery to the right. We simply didn't look to the right. The food in the hotel was my real worry but it really was ok. My 12 year old son and 6 year old daughter had absolutely no complaints. Myself and my partner thought the food ranged from average to good, Pool area excellent. Room cleaned every day. Entertainment not worth bothering with.

La Pineda is a nice enough resort though not the most pretty. Beach is good and clean. The Italian restaurant over the way from the hotel was excellent as was the tapas restaurant to the side of it. Well worth a visit.

Tarragona and Reus both great days out. Portaventura was great. We had a three day ticket from 360 Tickets and their price couldn't be beaten. Tip for park is to go late afternoon and stay late - much shorter waiting times. Aquapolis is an excellent water park and much better than the Caribe water park.

We had a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank carmelManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
1.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#4 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Hacienda

Property: Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Address: Plaza de la Union Europa 1, 43481 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel La Hacienda 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel La Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel La Pineda
Gran Hacienda Hotel
Gran Hotel La Hacienda La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing