We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great position for the beach,literally a stones throw. Staff all very nice and pleasent and great with the children . The food was nice with a good choice that changed Daily, the fruit was out of this world.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    506
    180
    53
    38
See reviews for
758
311
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hi
I stayed at the Donaire for 7 nights. The hotel is very clean and overlooks a good clean beach with lovely views. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a Thomson rep present at the hotel most days. The food is good and plentiful with wine and beer served with meals in the all inclusive package. I found the burgers a little disappointing and the fries could be better, but who cares when there is such a wide variety of delicious dishes to choose from. The weather was very good and there was always plenty of sunbeds, both by the pool and on the beach. There is a bus service which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel which takes you into Salou and Barcelona. There are quite a few shops and restaurants only a short distance away and a mini supermarket across the road from the hotel. The hotel entertainment could be better, but the location certainly makes up for this. There are some beach bars, but beware of people trying to sell you fake goods on the beach, do not be taken in by their sales pitch. I would classify this hotel at the top end of its 3 star classification and would certainly return to this hotel again.

Christine
Newcastle upon Tyne

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach can be a little noiser due to the pool and hotel entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you remember this is a 3* hotel aimed at families you should have a great holiday like we've just done again!
It's clean and comfortable, the food choice and quality is really good (better than many 4* hotels we've stayed at) and it's great value.

We enjoyed last year so much with our kids and grandchildren we were back again having trawled the net and found nothing to match it. We went with Thompsons but booked our own transfers which was quicker, cheaper and so much easier.

Being right on a golden sandy beach with a really gently sloping beach this is a really great location for the kids and ours spent many happy hours there.

The hotel entertainments team are really good with lots to do but they leave you alone if you don't want to. The kids Mini-Disco is compulsive but a little late for our twins aged 2 1/2 at 8:30pm.
Some of the Adult entertainment was really good, especially the Chinese Acrobats but the Queen Tribute was dire.
It can be a bit noisy if the entertainment is outside and your room overlooks the pool but those at the back of the hotel or over reception are probably much quieter.

The restaurant can get a bit frantic but as I said the choice and quality of the food is really good. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.

Not forgetting the Thomson's Reps, who we really didn't need, Dean and Chantelle did a great job, always at hand friendly and helpful and although under 3 our twins enjoyed the three Parents and Tots sessions on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 9:45 to 10:30am with Becky & Mandy.

We had another great holiday and won't hesitate going again if that's what we're looking for.

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for one at the back or over reception to avoid the evening entertainment if o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony_Sell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great hotel on the beach. Food was good and great selection. Room was good and got a sea veiw with a large balcony. Would recommend for families and a 2 minute walk into the shops and waterpark. The evening entertainment was excellent and would recommend the kids club ran by thomsons,which my two loved. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marciamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fabulous beach side location, ideal for families with young children, with a shallow bay adjacent to the breakwater where at 50 yards out the sea is still only waist high. Friendly reception and restaurant staff, a buffet type restaurant with excellent selection of food to suit all tastes. A 3 star hotel serving 4 star food. Good clean rooms, on the small side but more than adequate. Nice balcony first floor area overlooking the sea where you can have a quiet drink or at ground level a refurbished terrace bar again overlooking the beach serving a full range of drinks and a good range of snacks at reasonable prices. A short bus ride away is Salou in one direction and Tarragona in the other with Reus airport only 15 minutes away. Excellent first floor pool area terrace with a panoramic sea view and poolside bar. Happy hour from five pm, good evening entertainment every night.
Already booked to go again.

Room Tip: Prefer the east facing rooms (overlooking the entrance and beach) for the sunrise and sun until earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 9256george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

well all i can say if you have booked or looking at booking do, we went 23rd May for a week and are looking at re booking for next May.
location on beach is wonderful, hotel is clean tidy and staff are great, we stayed in room 255 and 254 above main entrance overlooking beach and was good, but might be noisy if busy with coaches arriving departing all times.
6 of us in total wife, myself and 4 kids - 17 - 14 - 12 - 4 all had plenty to and kids club was excellent for youngest.
rooms as expected but only wanted to sleep in, food was good again plenty of choice and nice and fresh.
would recommend this hotel and great staff - especially BLAS the waiter in bar a great guy .
we arrived at 10.40 Friday morning, booked in Bags checked in and was sat in outside Bar having beer as all Inclusive, rooms ready at 12.30 so great start to week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just returned from a ten day stay we booked with booking.com half board for the wk which includes wine and water with your meals. I love this hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. My Daughter loved the kids club but is still a bit afraid of goldie. I dont know where David and Jose get their energy from but they do make alot of effort to make your holiday enjoyable. I cant fault this hotel for families. Bus tickets can be bought at bus plana and also trips to Barcelona etc and these are half the prices of thompsons and have english speaking guides. This is our 3rd trip to this hotel and my daughter is already asking when we are going back

Room Tip: seaview rooms are charged at an extra 10 euro a day but the balconys are huge and rooms slightly big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#4 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Donaire Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Address: Platja del Raco, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Donaire Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Donaire Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Donaire Beach
Golden Donaire Park
Golden Donaire Beach La Pineda
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing