We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. It is one of the best 3* we have stayed in. Excellent location on a stunning family friendly beach. Very clean throughout. Rooms attended to daily. Food was good, didnt struggle for something we liked and neither did our 7 year old. Entertainment team were good. Our little girl thinks David must have double jointed legs!! You will see what she means when you watch him dance to star treking!!! Bar staff and restaurant staff nice and very efficient. Favourite bar man was sebastien. We would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of rooms with beach views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovemini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were there late Sept 2012 and we absolutely loved it. Went as a family with a 2 years old on a full board basis. As a 3 star hotel it met and exceeded our expectations. Room and bathroom were big enough and the balcony was as well quite big. But the fab thing about the hotel is its location. You get out of the hotel right on that fantastic beach. Clean with fine sand plenty of sun beds if needed and the sea is shallow which makes it perfect for kids. Food was varied and I feel for a 3 star rating it was good. We used to go for walks on the promenade in the evening and we never had any troubles. All in all it was a lovely lovely holiday, very good value for money and we would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: For a quiet room choose a higher floor and a room facing the El reco shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ioanandreea2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a third visit to Donaire, it obviously suits our requirements.Had two weeks half board, flew from Birmingham with Thompsons.Bad start due to the fact we arrived at Donaire at 10.30am and could not gain entrance to room till 12.15, that said all other aspects were perfect.
We had room 208, with views of the pool beach and sea, which was ideal. The room does not have the sun but the advantage is that it is always cool, and you can still sit on the balcony at midnight in your shorts and tea shirt.All hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, Thomsons reps were helpful and friendly.Cleanliness throughout the hotel was first class.Wide variety of foods some to our likeing some not, but it is a multy nation hotel.Hot food could do with being keep hotter, desert selection fantastic. Get a T10 Bus card,for 13e allows 10 trips on local buses, can be topped up for another 10 trips for 10e. Went on a Plana bus trip to Bacelona, at half the cost of Thompsons trip.Consider a trip to Cambrils with a boat ride back ro Salou and the bus back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEGLESS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

food is really our priority and on full board was overall good selection, but have found out 99 diferent ways to eat pork!!! hotel clean always, never found a problem getting sunbed, main entrtainment could start sooner than 10.00 on an evening never got to see any as have a 3 yr old and waiting was boring. great location on beach, even walked into salou but quite a trek so bus back we will prob goto holiday in salou next year but would recommed this hotel as a 3 star but a goodone,
went to aquapak.. abit of a ripoff,27 euro each but got away with paying for little one, free under 90 cm but he is over!!! good job at 20 euros a it is 9 euro to use a locker, and 5;90 to use a chair of sunbed so that was another 20 quid gone their then their lunch, luckily we took a picnic lunch from hotel if you book it the day before and pick up at breakfast, and bought some chips.
we paid only an extra £17 for a taxi transfer instead of the dreaded coach tranfer from airport.. great with a child 15 mins only well worth it.
only one critisism thomson have a duty to tell their customers that guests are having money taken from the rooms if they dont have safety deposit box, it has been written on her before our trip on a few occasions and we witnessed 2 seperate couples reporting they had only left the room for 2 hours and all their money had gone , like 200 euros. reps never told them it had been happening before, it is obviously some one from hotel, no forced entry and it usually says on insurance claims there needs to have been some form of breakin. they ay you are advised to get a security box but should you really have to lock your money away in your own locked room in a secure location andthey know there'saproblem so why dont they give you a box !!! they should at least warn you. overall a good 3 star yu get what you pay for

Room Tip: get a deposit box for cash or carry it with you or take travellers cheques is the best tip you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I returned yesterday from a week at this hotel, and i have to say it was great find. I went with a friend to chill out for a week and it had everything we needed.

The hotel is really clean and we really liked it, the rooms are small but that wasn't a massive issue. I would suggest you ask for a room either with a beach or front view as those at the back (especially) on the lower floors are over the entertainment area and this can be noisy. We had 217 and hated it but they changed us on day two, we looked at two rooms before we agreed to move.

We went 1/2 board and found the lunch a better option than dinner - we ate out every night instead, there are not many good restaurants within walking distance though but tagliatelle was excellent.

There were lots of families there with children of all ages and i would say the entertainment for them throughout the day and early evening was very good.

The evening entertainment was good, something different every night from 10pm, from a Micheal Jackson tribute to 'Mr Golden' - its can be a tad holiday camp like but we enjoyed it.

The downside, the Skytours book stated the hotel had a gym and this was one of the reasons we picked it, well it turned out they have 'gym activities' but no gym, this was massively disappointing however the Thompson reps were great about it and covered the cost of using the gym next door in the 5* hotel which was great (oh and if you have a day of bad weather they have an amazing spa in there too!!!

The beach is on the doorstep which is great. There isn't much shade but they have dealt with that but putting up awings that you can rent your dun bed under.

The pool was smaller than i expected, and the children's pool is tiny so most of the children use the main pool, there is a separate jacuzzi but its not heated. Unfortunately the height of the hotel block the sun from a large part of the terrace for most the day so the sun beds in the sun are snapped up pretty quick first thing however they are usually readily available in the afternoon.

The resort as a whole is on the quiet side which suited us, you can get a bus to Salou (aka blackpool with sunshine) for lots of shops etc.

All in all i was really pleased with the hotel, for a three star it met and exceeded expectations, For those reviewers who didn't like it, i would be amazed at what you expect for your money really!!

Room Tip: Get first in the queue, and say no to the low 200s and 300s. Any problems, see the Thompson reps who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from this Hotel and must say what a fantastic time we had, from pleasant reception staff to accommodating waiting staff and brilliant entertainment staff (Jose,David and the team worked very hard), our 2 year old daughter had a ball learning the 'mini disco' dances and has had the DVD on non stop since our return. Like a lot of people i read reviews before i went out and can only conclude that, although you cant please all of the people all of the time, the ones who have mumped and moaned about this hotel quite frankly shouldnt go on holiday...take your well earned money and sit in a park near your house and moan about the weather..!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulhibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 10.45 and told we would have to wait until 12.00 for room key so had a snack at the bar while we waited. We did not do that again. Rooms are small but clean as is the whole hotel. Our room overlooked a loading bay and main road so it was pretty noisey and the beds are rock hard so glad to get home for a decent sleep. We found the food to be pretty good but as stated in other reviews if you dress for dinner you will be in the minority. As we went mid September we expected few kids but that was a mistake, this place must be a nightmare in peak season. Entertainment was good for the kids but for adults it was pretty poor, we went to Hennessys Pub on the strip so we could get out of the hotel. Overall this a cheap family hotel in a good location spoiled by chavs, never seen so many tatoos in one place. Food is OK except for the bar food, bar staff are disinterested but seeing their working conditions I dont blame them. i would go to this resort again but not this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Pineda
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Donaire Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Address: Platja del Raco, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range: $67 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Donaire Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Donaire Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Donaire Beach
Golden Donaire Park
Golden Donaire Beach La Pineda
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing