We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masons Arms Gargarve
Ranked #1 of 2 Gargrave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived in Gargrave on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon and made straight for the Mason Arms. After a couple of drinks in very congenial surroundings we ordered a delicious lunch from their varied menu. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and well appointed, good quality linen and very clean. We had an excellent night's stay which was rounded off with a super breakfast, including some of the best sausages which are sourced locally. This was followed by a game of bowls and a nice long walk through the pretty village of Gargrave and along the canal. All in all we heartily recommend the Mason Arms for the comfort of the rooms, excellent food and hospitality of the owners.

Room Tip: Very quiet on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnb252, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks for the review it is good to hear you enjoyed your stay. The bowling green at the back of the car park is an excellent facility which we are encouraging all our guest to try. We can provide bowls and opposition so next time you visit let's hope the weather is kinder than it has been this year!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a lovely friendly pub with beautiful rooms and excellent food. We went for a long weekend to cycle the Dales and the hearty breakfast set us up for the mornings challenge. Storing the bikes in a secure outbuilding was no problem and John gave us some excellent route tips. A great location to visit the local points of interest such a Bolton Abbey, Skipton and Gordale Scar but beware the latter as it's a 20% hill to cycle up to it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Four of us spent a very enjoyable couple of nights in this lovely pub and picturesque village - which is also on the Pennine Way. Both rooms were good, clean and well appointed. One was upstairs and we also had the downstairs room which is very well adapted for people with a disability. The sheets were good quality, crisp white cotton, there was an excellent selection of teas and coffee and with the rooms adjacent to the pub, they were very quiet and we got a great night's sleep. There is ample parking just outside the rooms. The breakfast was excellent - good choice and freshly cooked to order. John and Nicola, the owners, were charming and very friendly without being intrusive. The pub offers a wide ranging menu with plenty of vegetarian choices as well - decent pub grub. We got the extra bonus of taking part in the regular Sunday evening pub quiz where we were made to feel very welcome!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenbuster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 5 night stay at The Masons Arms in Gargrave. First impressions, when seeing The Masons for the first time from the outside, were of a fairly plain looking building. However do not judge The Masons based on this. When you step inside you enter a lovely, homely country pub. It is an ideal size. Not too big to be impersonal and not too small to be claustrophobic. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by John and Nicola,( the owners) the staff and the locals, and were never at any time made to feel like outsiders or intruders. Our room was clean, comfortable, had everything that we required and had a good sized bathroom with a brilliant shower. All of the rooms are attached to the pub but none are above it. This means that the rooms are really peaceful and quiet. The pub itself has a very fluid trade. One minute it can be very busy and the next quiet. Trade seems to consist of differing types of clientelle who frequent the pub at different times of the day. The pub has a very good varied menu and the food is good with decent sized portions. In view of the fact that they serve food we were quite surprised when, one night, John asked us if we liked curries and then recommended the local "Bollywood" Indian restaurant. Not only did he recommend it but he then made a booking for us (essential as it is a fairly small restaurant) and lent us his loyalty card to get a discount when we went. The Bollywood is about a 3 minute walk from The Masons.
The pub has a good car park that backs on to the pubs floodlit bowling green.
The village of Gargrave is lovely and unspoilt. The shops and commercial premises have all been kept in keeping with the character of the village which is surrounded by the river and canals. It's location makes it an is an ideal base for either touring the dales or simply enjoying the many varied local walks.
John and Nicola looked around for a number of years before deciding to buy The Masons. They had a certain type of premises in mind based on their own experiences of staying in hotels and pubs, and I must say that I believe they have got it right. They are great hosts, who will do all that they can to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay, backed up by a great and capable staff.
The only fault that I can find with The Masons is that it is, sadly, too far away to be my local.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems ask for a ground floor room, as some rooms are up a flight of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Masons Arms in Gargrave. We were booked in for a one night stay as we were up in Yorkshire visiting family. We normally stay at the Travelodge but fancied staying somewhere different. When we arrived, the pub was very busy and had a really friendly atmosphere. We were greeted by the owner who took us along to our room. The rooms was really pleasant. There were tea and coffee making facilities, a tv and a spotlessly clean bathroom with a fab shower. We enjoyed a lovely home cooked breakfast in the morning and it was really delicious. this place a absolutely excellent value for money and positioned in a really picturesque part of Yorkshire.
We would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiSkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

As a businessman who travels extensivley during the week I am not one for stying away for pleasure at the weekend however the Masons Arms made me and my wife feel as though we were at home. They went that extra mile to make sure that our stayover with 4 other friends was perfect. Good food well prepared and served with a smile by John, Nic and their staff. Makes such a pleasant change to stay where you are appreciated rather than just another guest to be turned round and sent on their way.
the Masons is so well placed for the Yorkshire Dales and Gargrave has a friendly feel to it, we are definatley going back.
A lot of the bigger hotels that I stay with could learn a lot from the Masons.

Room Tip: If your staying for a few nights book the Bollywood Indian in Gargrave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luklaman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A very homely atmosphere with hosts that want to do as much as they can to make your stay memorable. The location is great for the Yorkshire dales yet easily accessed from both south and north England. The breakfast is well worth the £5 extra and a great start to any day.
The rooms are attached to the pub but not affected by any noise that may arise from the normal pub activities. We also ate in the pub for our evening meals and have to say the home cooking was great with a very varied menu and yet again we where very well looked after by our hosts John & Nicola who made sure we always had a reserved table.
Have no hesitation in recommending the Masons Arms to anyone who wants great value for money and hosts who will go the extra mile.

Room Tip: All rooms are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reunion_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargrave
2.3 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
222 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
The Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hellifield
74 reviews
6.5 mi away
Maypole Inn
Maypole Inn
#1 of 3 in Long Preston
170 reviews
4.7 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms Gargarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms Gargarve

Address: Marton Road, Gargrave BD23 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gargrave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gargrave
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masons Arms Gargarve 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round,The Masons Arms opposite the church in Gargrave, is ideally situated in the Yorkshire Dales between the thriving market town of Skipton and Settle.A warm welcome is offered at The Masons Arms Gargrave, complete with its oak-beamed ceilings and open fires, our traditional bar is just the place to relax and unwind in the company of friendly locals. A great range of traditional ales from the regions breweries, plus a wide choice of wines and spirits, awaits you. Not to mention a delicious menu of home-made food and daily specials, making the Masons Arms the most popular venue in the area.Our six En-suite bedrooms offer a comfortable level of accommodation. Each room has a television, tea and coffee making facilities and all have their own separate entrance from the pub.We can accommodate every one, from single guests to family groups and are always happy to welcome dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Masons Arms Gargarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Gargarve Gargrave, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing