We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Old Swan Inn

The Old Swan Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Swan Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Gargrave
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Yorkshire, Grilled Trout with salad & chips £ 8.50 the meal and the service was excellent, we came back tonight and had Giant Yorkshire Pudding with Sausages in onion gravy, mashed potatoes and vegetables, again an excellent meal and good friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenmurphy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    9
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Real ale pub with varying selection of good beers. Good value pub grub. went several times. Had fresh trot and sea food on the days we were there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Newly refurbished to high standard and excellent new landlords!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Swan has just finished being newly refurbished to an excellent homely country feel and has had new landlords and staff put in place who are charming, friendly and very welcoming!

My family and I stopped going in months ago but since the re opening have been 3 times to eat and drink and I am happy to once again call this my local, the food is lovely, fresh and well priced and the beer seems well kept too....... I seem to have missed the before mentioned starter of black pudding stack too sadly and would be great to maybe see a mixed grill on the specials board occasionally as so many country pubs have ceased to do these even though it is popular.

On a final note the pool table is also missed but love what you have done with the room it was in....me and my other half spent a few hours in there in comfort just chatting and drinking and relaxing in a different environ to home........you did however say there are plans to bring a pool table back before the season starts in September so my fingers are crossed!

All in all I whole heartedly recommend this place whether it is for food or just a relaxing pint with friends and family.....its not at all clicky like some village pubs ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyStept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“new landlord”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The pub has just undertaken a refurbishment and new landlord. What an opening day, free buffet and champagne & BBQ in the beer garden - vast improvement from the old place had an excellent experience. Lovely food and host, would definately return to stay over, dog friendly too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit the Old Swan”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lovely old pub once you arrive you step back in time , but the service was excellent and the food service seemed very busy
I would recommend a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Swan Inn also viewed

Gargrave, North Yorkshire
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing