We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
350
268
77
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
350
268
77
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brewers fayre the pub new extension pub next door attached restaurant opening windows meal deal building work air conditioning masons arms lovely village clean rooms busy road bollywood cottage good nights sleep main road budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 735 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

The breakfast was great! The beds were comfy, I have no issues apart from the size of the bins. They were tiny. But all In all the room was great. It’s a good stay if you have children as the staff are friendly and they will always be there to help if you need any.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

The exterior was tatty and dirty, the interior no better. There was a distinct musty odour throughout and a general lack of cleanliness. The room itself was okay but tired and dusty in places.
Breakfast was served in the adjoining Anchor Inn Brewers Fayre. This was worse. It was very dirty with flies around the coffee machine and tables. The staff, although pleasant, didn't seem to know what their jobs were; the clearing of tables often being done by customers. The tables were sticky and the only sign of cleaning was a dry, old cloth left on a table by a member of staff. The food was acceptable but staff had to be asked to replenish missing items.
The location is great, just outside the pleasant village of Gargrave and handy for exploring the Yorkshire Dales.

Room Tip: Do not eat in the Brewers Fayre
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Well placed for exploring local area. The attached pub looked like it had seen better days. We didn’t realise initially that the room had a door to the next room; the other family were by no means noisy but you could hear conversation through the door. A decent base but probably won’t stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank ant_leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile


We stayed at Skipton North, Gargrave Premier Inn for a few days.

It is ideally located to explore Skipton and the Yorkshire Dales, has an adjacent Brewers Fayre 'The Anchor Inn' and a canalside setting, just outside the pretty village of Gargrave.

Reception staff were friendly and polite, particularly helpful was a young man called Stephen who resourcefully procured a copy of a street map of Skipton for me, as there were none available in the local attractions leaflets.

As Premier Inns go this one is ok, though it was only on check-out we discovered some rooms were available with opening windows.

Our room was not, the aircon was no substitute for fresh air and it had a minimum setting of 19 degrees, although the ambient room temp showed a constant 21 degrees which was too warm and stuffy for us. It was rather noisy in operation though it does warn you of this in the operation leaflet.

Room was standard PI offering, clean and comfortable with a decent shower. On a personal note I would love to see a double room with TWO comfy chairs rather than the hard straight backed desk / dining type chair on offer.

The only advice I can offer regarding the adjacent Anchor Inn is.... don't bother.

In complete contrast to the smart hotel building the exterior of the Brewers Fayre is shabby and in need of some TLC.

At first I thought the staff were preparing for an early Halloween but folks, those are real cobwebs and spiders outside those windows. But hey, wait for the inside...

The smell of stale pub and polish hits you as you enter, the use of the latter does not excuse the sticky floors and lack of cleanliness.

There are better places to eat and drink where you don't have to spend your time batting away the resident housefly population.

I observed one staff member wiping down a table with a grubby cloth which was then dropped into a caddy presumably ready to use next time... no anti-bac spray, no rinsing... little wonder flies are everywhere I counted three on the Costa coffee brewer alone.

To be fair staff had tried to cover open food in an effort to stave off the flies.

The breakfast room layout was good with enough room to move around carrying food and drink and the choice was as per menu.

Personally we prefer Semi-skimmed milk over Skimmed and full fat but it was not on offer.

On the single occasion we ventured inside for an evening drink there was, unsurprisingly, no atmosphere, not even a TV induced one.

After one drink the shabby interior got the better of us and we returned to our room to listen to the gurgling of the aircon.

It's a shame the hotel is dragged down by the pub in this case as with effort and a little investment it could be so much better.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place, in fact I would say the Brewers Fayre is probably the worst we have experienced.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank piscator2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews