We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good feed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Wray - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Inn at Wray
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a good feed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We like going mid week when there are starters and puddings for one penny. This makes it very good value

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Regualr favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We eat here quite regularly and enjoy the food and appreciate the staff. Sure the food can be variable but I can't say I've had anything that was inedible or needed sending back but rather accept that there will be variation between steaks and all the other dishes from month to month.

We usually take the penny menu as we have always found it to be great value and tasty. However there is a good a la carte menu too.

We are always made welcome with our small daughter and usually ask to sit at the same table and are typically granted that request which we appreciate.

There are a lot of food pubs in the Lune Valley and we have sampled them all. The Inn at Wray is certainly one of our favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1978sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a lovely friendly pub. My mother took me there for lunch; she had been recommended it by a friend who like her lives in a local village. We had food from the 1p menu. Great choice on the menu, superbly presented and a delight to eat.The service was excellent and our waitress was lovely. We even returned the following day for Sunday Lunch. It beats alot of restaurants that i go to in London where i live.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lemspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best food at best prices and exceptional service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Cannot tecommend highly enough. As soon as you enter the front door you are made welcome at the cosy fire and served your drinks while you decide what you would like to eat. Two menus available. We chose from the penny menu. Your starter and sweet cost 1p when you buy a main course. Quality of food and service fantastic. Setting very cosy and quite intimate. Staff could not have been helpful or attentive. Will be back before we leave our holiday barn

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taking visitors from Australia”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant produced good meals a year or so ago.
Now it is different.
We should have been warned when the large blackboard notice said `1p starters'.
It is difficult to believe that anyone trained as a cook could send out what we received:
Some mixture that was meant to be smoked mackerel pate, which was inedible, on a plate with 3 biscuits from a packet and a leaf or two.
Deep fried to death spring rolls from a packet.
Duck confit that was actually duck leg dried in a hot oven on a mess of noodles.
Reasonable vegetarian tart but with a pile of chopped vegetables smothered in vinegar.
The liver and bacon was pronounced OK and was eaten.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Wray also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing