We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Membership of Tastecard questionable.......”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Tramshed - CLOSED

Old Tramshed
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As the name suggests, this former old tram shed was built in 1904 in the village of Saltaire, which itself was founded in 1853 by Sir Titus Salt and takes its name from Sir Titus himself and the River Aire.Built by Sir Titus, Salts Mill was the centrepiece of. Saltaire around which he built the entire village, naming the streets after his children and family.Sir Titus however, would not allow a public house within the confines of the village fearing his workers would spend all their wages on ale and be too hung over to come to work. The last tram left the Saltaire depot in 1939 though it was still used during the 1950s for trolleybuses, later becoming a warehouse.Today, beautifully restored, The Old Tramshed is still an important landmark as well as a focal point for locals and visitors alike, and very much a part of the local community.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Membership of Tastecard questionable.......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited the Tramshed Several times and cannot complain about the food, always excellent quality, lovely ambience and setting, always a good night.

However, there is a noticeable difference in portions and service level when you book and say you have "The Taste card". This defeats the purpose of supporting the taste card. I and friends of mine who are other taste card holders have experienced negativity towards making group bookings - i.e. 4 people with 2 taste cards. This goes against the principles of the taste card.

Very disappointed about the attitude towards taste card holders and I have not experienced this from other restaurants. In my opinion The Tramshed correct participation of the taste card membership and benefits are questionable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SLGraham1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    75
    26
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to the Old Tramshed on Sunday lunchtime. Staff were friendly, restaurant was fine but the food was really disappointing. Very greasy and very poor quality, Such a shame as we'd traveled a long way to celebrate a family birthday. Will not go back and wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very accommodating and thoroughly enjoyed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having heard mixed reviews about the Tramshed I decided to effulgence myself. I was greeted on arrival by a smile and the service was prompt. There was a mixture of custom as there was football and rugby on at either end of the bar and some soothing music in the background. Our food order was quite complex and we mixed and matched a number of the options, it was therefore incredibly pleasing to find the friendly staff (and chef) so accommodating!!!!! The food was of good quality and was consistent throuought the order.

In summary a great place to eat that can accommodate all the family in many ways, I therefore recommend the old Tramshed to all!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swalesy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Six of us went to celebrate a birthday, the food, service and atmosphere was very good, special mention for our waitress Sky, she made the evening.

My only word of caution is that once again we went on a Friday, we've been on a Saturday and the live band/DJ was very, very loud.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but wont rush back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited today for lunch using our tastecard, so good value for us.
Not been for a while since a very dissapointing experience with their carvery. Won't hurry back.
Starters were ok , we had mozzarella sticks and ribs. Ribs were a nightmare, nearly cold and they were presented in a large rack, and no steak knife was offered to cut them. Was hard to flag down a waitress to ask for one. Partner had to rip them apart with hands which made a messy meal and meant trips to the loo to wash our hands as finger bowl of water provided not adequate enough. He is a chef and would not send food presented in such difficult and unpractical way.
Mains were again ok, but nothing special. I had a burger and partner a steak sandwich. Very large meals and good value for money but we left most of it as portion sizes were too big. Burger was bland and chips greasy.
Had to get drinks changed as the coke tasted bizzarely sweet and unpleasant.
Would have given feedback when meals cleared and perhaps shared a desert and coffee, but 10 mins after finishing our mains we made our way to the bar to pay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gemelina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Tramshed also viewed

Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing