We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Tramshed - CLOSED

Old Tramshed
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As the name suggests, this former old tram shed was built in 1904 in the village of Saltaire, which itself was founded in 1853 by Sir Titus Salt and takes its name from Sir Titus himself and the River Aire.Built by Sir Titus, Salts Mill was the centrepiece of. Saltaire around which he built the entire village, naming the streets after his children and family.Sir Titus however, would not allow a public house within the confines of the village fearing his workers would spend all their wages on ale and be too hung over to come to work. The last tram left the Saltaire depot in 1939 though it was still used during the 1950s for trolleybuses, later becoming a warehouse.Today, beautifully restored, The Old Tramshed is still an important landmark as well as a focal point for locals and visitors alike, and very much a part of the local community.
Shepperton, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went with friends and had a very warm welcome and excellent service throughout the evening but the background music was very loud (My husband has a hearing loss) but we were seated in a small room at the side which was better. The food was fine but nothing special. The waiter and waitress were both really excellent and made the evening. My husband ordered paprika potatoes which were late in coming. When they did come they were really not edible. It seemed they had been quickly heated and almost tasted burnt. In fairness to the restaurant we should have said something there and then which we didn't partly because we didn't want another wait for them. Just a small point for people who don't know the area, it was not easy to find a car park - not even sure if there was one but we parked next door. Overall an OK experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank City-Break-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    75
    26
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing service, good food, but with a few issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

When we booked a table, we booked with a tastecard to take advantage of the offers available (50% off food), however we weren't told until after our meal that there were a number of exceptions including sides and deserts, not wanting to make a fuss we simply paid for these, however it would not have been an issue at all had we been informed of these when booking, although it isn't nice to be told an offer doesn't apply AFTER you finish your meal.

The location itself is very nice, a bar/diner with a very nice informal feel to it, excellent when you just want good food without worrying about looking the part.

The service we received was exemplary, with food arriving promptly, correctly and cooked as we had ordered, personally I found the ribs not to be to my taste, but that did not detract from the quality of the food which was excellent. The only issue with the food was that some of the menu items were unavailable, they ran out of T-Bone steaks which wasn't too much of a problem, but more unusually they had run out of vanilla ice cream. Given that this was a quiet night early in the week I found it a little strange.

In summary, If you are using a coupon or discount be careful as they might have undisclosed terms, we had truly excellent service, very good food (barring unavailable items), the standard prices may be a little steep but there are deals aplenty and the venue is great for informal dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xaiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A fabulous old building that was indeed a tram shed and then a bus shed. Huge open aspect inside with a mezzanine floor for table dining. where our party of 8 sat one saturday night.
I'm not sure what the Old Tramshed purports to be. A pub with loud music the norm or a restaurant where conversation between guests is difficult.
The range of dishes on offer was limited to the usual to be seen in any average food serving Pub.
The meals were Ok but uninspiring and as pub grub signifacantly more expensive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoldtramshed099, Public Relations Manager at Old Tramshed, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We consider ourselves to be a bar and restaurant. On a normal occasion we would not have music on at a high volume during food service times, however I will mention this to our general manager and we shall certainly be keeping an eye on the volume of our background music during restaurant opening times. I note that it is nearly a year since your visit. Our menu has been changed twice since then as we introduce new menus seasonally. We consider our menu to be quite extensive when taking into account our specials menus and and also our various lunch options.
We work hard to create inspiring and inventive dishes. There are weekly changing specials menus, sandwich boards and an Italian lunch menu. Please visit out website to see our current menu, events menus and christmas fayre. I think you will find we offer a varied and extensive range of dishes that cater to all tastes and dietary requirements. Furthermore, our chefs are happy to amend any dish where possible to our guests personal tastes as we create each dish to order every time. I do hope you will visit us again and be pleasantly surprised by the offerings here at The Old Tramshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“big bowls.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

went on a groupon voucher and had a very tasty meal. i had a salmon main meal which was lovely, but i found it hard to eat it from the very large bowl- it is sort of hard to manoeuvre your knife and fork in! flat plates would be easier to eat from. less stylish but more practical. good service too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoldtramshed099, Public Relations Manager at Old Tramshed, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to welcome you back shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor Service and very average good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the second time in 2 months we have eaten here and shan't be going back. Service both times was very slow and waiting an hour and 15 mins for food after ordering when you have young children isn't acceptable (they blamed this on a Pre booked party of 30 - not my problem). Two of the meals had to be returned as they were undercooked and not taken away particularly graciously.
It's a shame as it used to be much better and aesthetically its a nice restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank damo0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Tramshed also viewed

Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing