We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rushed. Won't go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aagrah - Shipley

Aagrah - Shipley
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Aagrah experience is designed to overwhelm you with a complete sensory journey, encompassing the rich cultural ambiance and truly remarkable culinary sensation of authentic Kashmiri cuisine... Time and time again... Balancing time-honoured dishes with culinary innovation, our hand-picked, award winning team of chefs relentlessly aim to provide healthy and nutritious dishes prepared to nothing less than total satisfaction, in the most comfortable of atmospheres, to our esteemed clientele. Aagrah ~ satisfaction, comfort and affordability...
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rushed. Won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went on Friday night, a group of three. Shown to table, so far so good. Ordered popadoms, half way through these the mains arrived, so we pushed the popadoms to one side. Would have liked time to enjoy these as we weren't ordering starters. Waitress forgot to bring a drink we ordered. Then as we finished mains, the bill came and I hadn't even asked for it. 40 minutes and we were done. It wasn't as if anyone was waiting either. It was busy but not full. I don't get why they want you in and out. If I were doing it I'd drag the evening out, surely you take more drinks orders, offer add ons etc. food was nice, but won't go back, don't like being rushed out. Have heard this from so many people, so it's not a one off. You're losing business aagrah. Sort it out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickwestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    178
    95
    48
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited here on a Friday night for the buffet upstairs.
We were not disappointed ! The place was very busy but never ran short of any food on the buffet and it was regularly topped up by staff.
The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Some of the items were very spicy - particularly the samosas - but I am a wussy with an indian and only usually have a korma. Lots of lovely desserts to try which I have never had before.
We were only here for the weekend but would not hesitate to go back.
It is very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NOT GREAT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

called in at lunchtime for the buffet lunch. the place was heaving so I though this is going to be good- alas it was very mediocre. the starters were poor, the mains, although there was plenty of choice I have to say it was very average. I used to eat at the old Shipley restaurant in the early 80s and it was 200% better then. the same people own it but the food quality has gone down hill. its a big company now and the family are minted, a long way from driving buses so I suppose they don't care anymore which is a shame.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyq52_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quality South Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent quality South Asian food with huge choice and variety, prepared and cooked on the spot. Have been manty times and qualityalways high.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yoks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The waiting staff were helpful and appropriately attentive. The menu choice is vast with a huge range of vegetarian options. We will definitely be returning soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aagrah - Shipley also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Aagrah - Shipley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing